We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as expected”

Hawksworth Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hawksworth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,749 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: Bus Stops are located on Howe Street and on Georgia. We are also located one block west of the City Centre Canada line station.
Description: A celebration of Vancouver’s cultural diversity and natural environment Hawksworth Restaurant showcases ingredient led, contemporary cuisine that demonstrates the highly skilled technique and relentless drive for perfection that has become Chef David Hawksworth’s trademark.Glamorous and elegant, yet relaxed and welcoming with warm and attentive service, Hawksworth Restaurant is located in the heart of the city at Georgia and Howe Streets within the legendary Rosewood Hotel Georgia.Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with in bar dining menus and its own private room, Hawksworth can deliver an array of dining experiences from power breakfasts to after-work drinks, to formal gala events.
victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not as expected”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dined twice..first as a couple then as a foursome.
The first time..the food was good,but overrated..service ok but noisy.
The second time two of us had to send the main back...we did get a refund.but the experience was poor compared to other places in Vancouver

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wineloversvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    211
    129
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey bc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over the Top Tasting Menu”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided on the October Tasting menu - a good choice when you are having trouble picking just one entree. We opted to pair it with the Zero Proof Tasting - non alcoholic beverages. Each selection is a smaller size but every bit as delicious. A stand out was the Sable Fish- cooked to perfection! The Duck was amazing and just when you thought it was over and couldn't get any better the next course surpassed the first.

While the Zero Proof pairing seems like an odd choice - each drink is made fresh and pairs perfectly with the course. I would highly recommend it.

On the down side - the restaurant was busy and the room can be quite noisy. The tables are very close together and when the wait staff were bent over serving the tables next to us - their bums were in our faces - awkward! Ask for a corner table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bizinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hawksworth is consistently good. Plating is the best in Vancouver, and I love the ambiance and the decor of the restaurant.

My main concerns with the food itself, is it always tends towards the bland side. Particularly when I compare it to Diva at the Met, Blue Water Cafe, and Market. The food itself simply isn't as good, even though everything else is. It is not a chef issue, because Bel Cafe is always great.

On his visit it was the soup and the parmesan chicken. The Parmesan chicken was not great. It was like a chicken kiev you could get at a diner. The gnocchi underneath it was excellent as was the sauce, but it just isn't the type of dish you expect when people are charging you $17 just for a starter.

One of the folks I was dining with had the steelhead and that looked like dynamite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad all around...one standout dish”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located in Hotel Georgia, the Hawksworth is a surprisingly good way to spend an afternoon - especially if you can get a table by the window (people watching!)

Our group was seated near the wine cellar and felt cold. We were graciously accommodated when we were asked to move. We ended up by the windows - bonus!

The service was a bit scattered, with 4 or 5 servers helping - sometimes leading to crossed wires. Generally, good though. We especially appreciated the advice of the in-house sommelier with a wine selection as we were not familiar with the wines on the menu.

In terms of our meal, we started with the vanilla leek soup with lobster. The vanilla leek puree was beautiful - sweet and savoury at the same time. The lobster was well prepared. But the shishito peppers seemed overcooked and really did not complement the rest of the dish.

As I was not terribly hungry, I had the hamachi starter as my meal. This was, without a doubt, one of the most beautifully composed dishes that I've ever seen. Everything on the plate looked stunning and worked beautifully with everything else. Hands down the winner of the visit.

My friends both had the Parmesan crusted chicken for their mains. A solid, tasty dish with excellent preparation but, ultimately, nothing worth writing home about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank revolushun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great restaurant, with a great view”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hawksworth is located in the Rosewood Hotel Georgia, and is operated by Chef David Hawksworth. He uses British Columbia's farms and artisanal suppliers to create Eurasian fusion cuisine.

We ordered the Tasting Menu that includes 6 courses including dessert for $92. The wine pairing is $50 more, and you can add cheese for an additional $12. I opted for the wine pairing, my friend did not. We did not indulge in the cheese.

Over two hours we had:

Hamachi tartar w/ soy, avocado, lemon and puffed rice. This dish was paired w/ a sparkling cava from Spain that had apple undertones. This dish was very good. The fish was super fresh and was a nice way to start the meal: 4 Stars.

Kauai prawn w/ tomato horseradish sorbet, sweet roasted corn and romaine lettuce. The sweetness of the prawn contrasted well against the sorbet. In addition, the corn added a nice texture to the dish. The prawn was paired w/ a franc rose from British Columbia: 4 Stars.

Zucchini tortellini w/ homemade ricotta and buttermilk basil reduction w/ chanterelle mushrooms. The tortellini was excellent and the saltiness of the ricotta contrasted nicely w/ the lightness of the zucchini. In addition, the mushrooms were nice and smoky. The tortellini was paired w/ an acustic blanc from Spain: 5 Stars.

Slow cooked steelhead trout w/ crisped skin, pickled eggplant and yellow tomato puree. The fish was super fresh, but lacked in flavor. In addition, the texture of this fish is not for everyone. The fish was paired w/ a chardonnay from Oregon: 3 Stars.

Roasted bison striploin, summer truffle, gnocchi, charred shallot and cauliflower. This dish was the other star of the evening. The bison was cooked a perfect medium rare, the gnocchi had a nice nutty flavor and the cauliflower was fresh & crunchy. The bison was paired w/ a nebblio langhe from Piedmonte, Italy: 5 Stars.

Dessert consisted of a verrine of strawberry, pistachio and vanilla. Although the strawberries were fresh, it reminded me of a jello dessert you make as a kid. Dessert was paired w/ a moscato from Victoria, Australia: 3 Stars.

The service was impeccable. Our waiter Ryan and his team took very good care of us. The managers even got in on the action. Each dish was explained thoroughly, as was each wine. The wine pairings were excellent also. I started w/ lighter wines and finished with heavier ones to match the dishes. The only recs are the spacing between dishes could have been better, and bread should not cost $4 (stoopid!): 4 Stars.

The ambiance is very nice. There is a nice bar area when you walk in. The wood is dark and it contrasted well with the lighter colored decorations on the walls. The dining room is separated in two which helps the acoustics. It is nice to look out the big window at th hustle and bustle of Georgia St in DT Vancouver: 5 Stars.

Hawksworth is a very good restaurant that I highly recommend. If I were to return, I would like to try the 30 oz bone in ribeye for two.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksworth Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hawksworth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing