We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrogant Staff - Not eating there again”

Hawksworth Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hawksworth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: Bus Stops are located on Howe Street and on Georgia. We are also located one block west of the City Centre Canada line station.
Description: A celebration of Vancouver’s cultural diversity and natural environment Hawksworth Restaurant showcases ingredient led, contemporary cuisine that demonstrates the highly skilled technique and relentless drive for perfection that has become Chef David Hawksworth’s trademark.Glamorous and elegant, yet relaxed and welcoming with warm and attentive service, Hawksworth Restaurant is located in the heart of the city at Georgia and Howe Streets within the legendary Rosewood Hotel Georgia.Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with in bar dining menus and its own private room, Hawksworth can deliver an array of dining experiences from power breakfasts to after-work drinks, to formal gala events.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Arrogant Staff - Not eating there again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food here is good, small portions, but good. What bothered me the most was the arrogant staff. During my dining experience, it seemed that everyone we encountered had a tremendous attitude. The hostess thought she was God's gift, the bussers, the waiters...everyone just seemed to have this unwarranted air of superiority. Essentially I felt like we received 'attitude' from most of the staff. Coming from a bunch of 20 - somethings who thought they were so cool, this was particularly frustrating. This meal cost over $800 and to not receive some respect and friendly customer service from the staff was appalling. Hawksworth won’t be seeing my business again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolinefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    205
    124
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vancouvers Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wonderful food and the service is so good you wonder how they can afford so many attentive staff. About $100 a person with wine pairing included, a real treat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons
Level Contributor
209 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lunch stop at Rosewood Georgia Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Valet parking with hotel or easy walk-to in Downtown. Nouvelle cuisine style menu and portions but very tasty. Urban atmosphere without being too trendy. Slow service. Restaurant reception disorganised. Reservations a must or you will be offered to eat in the bar on low tables without same panache but same menu as main restuarant. Good for a quick, tasty business lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djangoGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to Hawksworth for a special occasion and it did not disappoint. Every course was wonderful and of the highest quality. Even the olive oil for the bread was fantastic. Our server, Jozef, was very friendly and knowledgable and made us feel very welcome. I had the Maple Hill Chicken, which had the best crispy skin and most amazing bacon topping that I savoured with every bite. The dessert menu was based on flavours and it was a surprise to see what it was when it came out, which was really fun and definitely a fun way to experience dessert. Well worth the money and the trip downtown.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threeapplestall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Terrific Place to Dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to Hawksworth for my birthday dinner this past December. The night was great! The food was superb! The service was impeccable, without feeling like like the server was hovering around you. We all chose the seasonal tasting menu. The ladies had the goose & the men had the venison.
We all tried each others :) I liked the goose best and LOVED the dish that it was served on top of (Spaetzel?). The only thing that I wouldn't have given a 10:10 was the starter. It was a Tuna Tartar. It was very tasty, but being pregnant I only allowed myself to have a small little bit of it (my own choice and not their fault) but either way, the serving size of this dish was huge. I think more than any one person could/ should eat . Some might disagree with me but I think it was really over proportioned.
Ambiance and feel of the restaurant are top notch. It is a beautiful place to enjoy a great meal. Overall, an absolute 10 out of 10 for me!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassy_og
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksworth Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hawksworth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing