We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast calzone and coffee!”

Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market
Ranked #210 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: giovane cafe + eatery + market is the city’s best casual Italian café + eatery serving daily breakfast, lunch, aperitivo, and weekend brunch. At giovane cafe + eatery + market you must indulge – sip on seriously qualified stumptown coffee, snack on house-made baked goods and pizza, or sample from our premium pastas and italian wine. giovane market celebrates artisanal items, sourcing the best of BC and Italy’s finest.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast calzone and coffee!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place for breakfast with sweet & savoury options. Breakfast calzone was fresh and very tasty. Coffee with well above the bar. They sell their own beans. Will go back for cakes as they all like works of art but too full from brekkie at the mo!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kodama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turner Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Experience -Wine Bar and menu”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a long day in Vancouver and didn't really want a heavy meal. We sat down as the Wine Bar was not playing load music. George was our server and he knew his menu, and the wine to go with it. We put our dinner in his hands. He recommended the wine and the mushroom sauce, chesses and the fresh meat with bread. The dessert was the finishing touches. We were thrilled with our evening of different foods that normally we would have not tried. Thanks again George for you great services and recommendations. We will be going again before we leave on this trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for Quick Lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fast service, healthy fare. Reasonable prices. Would like to see more tables rather than low, but fashionable, low ones that are more suited to the wine bar aspect than a luncheon plate. Yes, I would go there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoliesNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a light lunch and several stops for coffee at Giovane Café in the Fairmont Pacific Rim. The food and coffee were great. Friendly staff and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kilgore_Trout_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We wanted to eat at the lobby bar (we were staying at the hotel) but we were told they were full and were sent over to Giovane which would have been fine but I have a pine nut allergy and when I asked if they could make me a Panini fresh to avoid cross contamination, I was told No. I asked them to confirm that the pesto had pine nuts, they confirmed it as a yes.
So I told them that we were hungry after just arriving at the hotel and asked what can I order to eat then that would be safe ... get this answer; I was told they couldn't accommodate me with anything! My hubby and son ordered their meals which they told me was so so. HMMM. Not a good start. I had to order from the lobby lounge in eat in the café. It took forever for the girl at the cash register to ring it in as she didn't know how. My bill was 54.00 for one sushi roll, one bowl of bland miso soup, two Panini's and one pop. Another 15.00 for 3 coffee's. The chef came by later telling me, he could make sure I get a lunch the next day and that my allergy could be accommodated with advanced notice, he was really nice but this was too late for today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vernonite2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Food & Beverage at Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we sincerely appreciate it. We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please note we have followed up with our team to ensure we are maintaining consistency with our high level of service and the ordering process. I would invite you to contact me directly at mark.steenge@fairmont.com to discuss your experience in further detail. I certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mark Steenge
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing