We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giovani la grande” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market

Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market
Ranked #197 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Italian-inspired giovane café + winebar celebrates la dolce vita from morning until night. By day, guests sip exquisite coffee while tucking into bellissimo breakfasts, signature sugar buns and house-baked pastries, along with authentic paninis and pizzas. At night, the bustling café transforms into an all-Italian winebar, where diners linger over premium pasta, salumi and formaggio plates. the market, giovane’s newly added gourmet food destination, offers a carefully curated offering of luxurious prepared meals, high-end food products and exclusive gifts.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Giovani la grande”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

What a great spot morning or afternoon. Love this place staff is fantastic. Service is better in the afternoon evining. I love the breakfast here soft poached eggs perfectly cooked with bread and tomatoes. Evening wine and light snack yum. Pricy wines but very good selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the food was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

the pastries and coffee was fantastic. a ittle small on the panni. but the flavors were amazing.
tiramsu was delicious. Must go back and try the other desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mipa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Giovane wine bar is one of the cities best kept secrets. It is so refreshing to go out for an amazing culinary experience outside of the predictable Yaletown or Gastown scenes. Not only is Giovane in a wonderful and beautiful location it is also host to some of the best and most true to form Italian you can find locally. Their wine list is second to none and surprisingly not out of reach expensive while still offering something for everyone. The staff is very knowledgeable while still being extremely friendly, kind and approachable. I felt every question we had about the menu was answered accurately and without hesitation. We were at Giovane to celebrate a special occasion and every step was taken to ensure we had an amazing time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aerogirl1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic service in Coal Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped for a glass of wine and we discovered this little gem in the heart of coal harbor. The manager, Jill, is amazing- she has an incredible knowledge of wine and Italian food. This is a perfect place for a drink and a good snack after work.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spalla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“very good food - good service - recommend!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

the food was excellent - we had 3 bruschettas -which were all excellent - as well as cheeses, meats and bread as appetizers, and we split a wheat grain based salad...the wine, especially was fantastic - we both had flights - mine - bold reds, my son's - piamonte (piedmont) based (2 reds and a white) - the matresse d'i (who lived in italy for 10 yrs)
also add homemade breads and very good service and voila!! a great meal
service was very good an prompt, attentive

Helpful?
1 Thank dedon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Giovane Cafe + Eatery + Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing