We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Kids, Disappointing without” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of HR Macmillan Space Centre

HR Macmillan Space Centre
Ranked #149 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Multi-media astronomy shows in the Planetarium Star Theatre are enhanced by 20-minute live demonstrations in the GroundStation Canada Theatre that keep you up-to-date on the latest space news. The Cosmic Courtyard ehibit gallery contains a real piece of moon rock you can actually touch, a J-2 Rocket Engine, artifacts and simulations. On Saturday nights you can visit the Gordon MacMillan Southam Observatory right next door and, if the skies are clear, you can see stars and maybe even a planet through the .5 metre Cassegrain telescope.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for Kids, Disappointing without”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I guess I may have had much higher expectations for the place than what we ended up finding there. There's a lot for entertaining kids here, but if you are looking to see lots of space memorabilia or enough to hold your attention you would be disappointed. Not much to see, and certainly not worth the asking price. Avoid.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank slynkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    38
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Old, boring, waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This Space Center is so outdated, looks like a facility from the seventies. The so called Dome that is supposed to impress the guests with new high-end-tech movies and features is old too. The movie was very dull. My husband and I almost fell asleep, the narration was so boring as well. Our kid thought that Internet offers much better audio-visual and educational opportunities than this Space Centre. The images they projected on the Dome were not new either and we were wondering how come they cannot provide someting with better quality.
The displays are so old-fashioned, nothing really cool.
The admisson fee is hugely overpriced: 18 dollars for adult, 12 dollars for children. The parking is 2 dollars per hours. We spent so much money on this stupid thing and wasted our time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laser Shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a fun night out every once in a while. They have laser shows accompanied by music by your favourite bands

Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale bc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Space Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

They cancelled the laser light show , the space center is lacking too because they have removed the motion simulator, not a whole lot to see anymore.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring Boring Boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only go if you like spending $15 for nothing but a space suit you can get your picture in. We also went to a show that they put on, sat down and got told to move because the attendant wanted it, so we moved but we noticed he NEVER USED THE SEAT!!!!! Too many power mad geeks running the show!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JosKos2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HR Macmillan Space Centre also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to HR Macmillan Space Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing