We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space Center”

HR Macmillan Space Centre
Ranked #145 of 347 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Multi-media astronomy shows in the Planetarium Star Theatre are enhanced by 20-minute live demonstrations in the GroundStation Canada Theatre that keep you up-to-date on the latest space news. The Cosmic Courtyard ehibit gallery contains a real piece of moon rock you can actually touch, a J-2 Rocket Engine, artifacts and simulations. On Saturday nights you can visit the Gordon MacMillan Southam Observatory right next door and, if the skies are clear, you can see stars and maybe even a planet through the .5 metre Cassegrain telescope.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Cloverdale bc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Space Center”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

They cancelled the laser light show , the space center is lacking too because they have removed the motion simulator, not a whole lot to see anymore.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    38
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring Boring Boring”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only go if you like spending $15 for nothing but a space suit you can get your picture in. We also went to a show that they put on, sat down and got told to move because the attendant wanted it, so we moved but we noticed he NEVER USED THE SEAT!!!!! Too many power mad geeks running the show!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JosKos2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
360 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Saw 3 Planetarium Shows Back to Back - No Additional Charge!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Planetarium shows: Harold's Solar System, Constellation Makers and Mansions of the Sun.

Plus received 50% off admission with the Vancouver Attraction Passport, touched a piece of the Moon, saw what an alien might look like and was able to take non-flash photographs!

Excellent, Outstanding and Fantastic. Worth it even if I had to pay full price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place, better with kids.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great place to visit if you're in Vancouver, although during the day you can expect there to be groups of school kids walking around.

There are plenty of activities and information.
I went on my own as I was on a business trip but I think you'd appreciate more that this place has to offer if you have kids.

It's non-profit location, so you definitely get your money's worth.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Davewbrown007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Part Museum. part space centre.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When the space race was in its infancy Vancouver dedicated itself to the art and beauty that is space. The current lazer light shows in the pantentarium theatre are a pale comparison to the "Pink Ffloyd" themed shows that were a staple for decades. The lazer light show is still a wonderful family experience, great for all ages, just not quite what it once was. But after forty years of the same show who can blame a venue for trying something different?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HR Macmillan Space Centre also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to HR Macmillan Space Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing