We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cycle leader (Dan), great knowledge, easy cycle, great fun”

Cycle City Tours and Bike Rentals
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.88*
and up
Vancouver Highlights Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cycle City Tours is passionate about guiding visitors around Vancouver by bicycle. We offer small group tours with beautiful routes, interesting stories, and passionate guides who will show you the sights and hidden gems of the city. We travel at a relaxed pace so riders can take in the sights and smells of their environment, and choose flat routes so anyone with basic riding skills can come! Our two downtown rental shops offer high quality bicycle rentals and friendly advice. Come Ride With Us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great cycle leader (Dan), great knowledge, easy cycle, great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recommended by tripadvisor, we did the tour and Dan was our guide. The tour takes you through all the neighbourhoods in Vancouver, and at the end of it, we both felt very confident finding our way around. This tour is such a great introduction to the city, you cover all the best bits. The bikes are extremely comfortable, the groups are small (7 in ours) and you pick up all sorts of odd bits of information – like the girl in the wetsuit statue, the fact that Vancouver water airport is one of the busiest in the world, and where the term skid row came from. Cannot rate highly enough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    47
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take this tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our bike tour of Vancouver with Dan who was terrific and knowledgeable. This is hands down the best way to see the city in a pleasant and relaxed manner while getting some exercise too. Don't miss this terrific tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mac406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great Bike Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This past summer we went to Vancouver for the first time and I have discovered that the best way to see and learn about a place is to ride a bike and follow the guys who knows a lot! Our tour guide Dan (the red beard Irish guy) was great! He took us on the long tour which lasted about 4 hours and we got to see Vancouver the way you should. Into Stanley park, throught the woods, down to the beach, up to prospect point, across into Granville Island and more. Dan is a smart and friendly guy and I noticed that he was constantly looking out for our safety. There were a few things I would have done differently like avoid riding through the homeless drive or Chinatown. While it gives you a real perspective of the city I prefer to see the nicer parts of town when I am on vacation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CycleVancouver, Owner at Cycle City Tours and Bike Rentals, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Jay,

Thank you for your feedback and for recommending Dan as a great guide. You've given a great description of our Grand Tour.

Our core value of education on social issues means that we explore all sides of the city and discuss relevant social issues in those areas, rather than steering away from them. We discuss some of the unique initiatives being undertaken to support the Downtown Eastside community such as the Sole Food Garden and Insight Clinic so you have a better understanding of the neighbourhood which you are visiting.

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy seeing the "not so pretty" side of the city but we find that most guests appreciate our insight into these areas and this is not something you will find on almost any other guided tour.

Thanks again for supporting a small, locally owned and operated company and for choosing a sustainable method of travel on your visit to our city.

Cheers,
Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun bike tour through Stanley Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great bike tour through Stanley Park. Guide (Dan?) provided a lot of history and background info, which was interesting. Also had good food recommendations for the area. The bike ride was more strenuous than I anticipated, but that was a good thing -- worked up an appetite. Lots of fun and would definitely do it again, maybe the food tour option.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best way to see Vancouver in a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I had only half a day to see Vancouver. After reading other comments on your sight about Cycle City Tours, we decided that this was the way to do it. We were so glad we did. Dan (our tour guide) was excellent & informative and led us at a relaxing pace around the key city sights, including an extensive tour of Stanley Park, stunning views of the waterfront, a well- timed stop at the Granville Island Markets, then onto Chinatown & Gastown. We were even given a snack bar en route. It took the stress out of trying to negotiate ourselves round the city in a car and we would never have covered as much ground as we did. We even had time to go back to Gastown later for a leisurely dinner and do some souvenir shopping on the way back to our B & B. Top marks!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudithWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycle City Tours and Bike Rentals also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cycle City Tours and Bike Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing