We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Vancouver seafood discovery”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oyster Seafood & Rawbar
Ranked #1,755 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Pender Street
Transit: Waterfront Station for both Canada Line and Skytrain Station.
Description: Vancouver’s financial district raw bar and seafood restaurant. We are all about sustainable seafood with local ingredients and the freshest oyster's in town.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Vancouver seafood discovery”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Several strong TripAdvisor reviews led me to this place on a business trip. Superb choice of fresh BC oysters. The earlier you go the better the price during the happy hour specials. But the grilled salmon with a fresh side salad and homemade caesar were a worthy follow-on to the excellent oysters. The wine selection also was better than expected. This is a small but very friendly restaurant, well-suited to a small group or the business person traveling alone. Diverse groups all commented on leaving about how good the seafood had been - especially the oysters and the raw bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had been wanting to try this restaurant since reading the initial reviews but we had not had a chance until this past weekend. What a GREAT place. It is a small intimate restaurant (seating for 20 ish including the bar seating) but the oysters are amazing and fresh and the staff are extremely friendly. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“buck a shuck!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

http://w0nger.blogspot.com/2012/03/oyster-vancouver.html

I am sitting here at Oyster in Vancouver right now, what a quaint little place. A definite posh Vancouver hideaway. They specialize in oysters and have a great happy hour special for a buck a shuck from 4-7 pm everyday. That's a great deal. Here's a great place for an after work date that is intimate and romantic.

The one server/bartender is busy but helpful.

We ordered the motoyaki and Rockefeller cooked oysters and 10 of the buck a shucks.

Both cooked oysters were delicious, leaving us to crave more... Despite the simple pricing here, I can see myself spending hundreds turning into an oyster myself.

The raw oysters are tasty and worthy of the dollar. They came with an assortment of sauces, cocktail sauce, a Japanese ponzu sauce, a garlic vinaigrette type sauce, and the traditional Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce. A yummy combo. I would come back anytime. Reservations recommended as this is a small place. Happy shucking!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank w0nger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour was all reserved, said she!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It may be marvelous seafood, but if you aren't their kind dear, the hostess won't let you through the door. The place was half empty. The happy hour sandwich board sign was out on the sidewalk. It was only 5PM on a Saturday night, but we were told it was all reserved--reserved for Happy Hour?! We were blocked from entering.
Beware anyone over 50, maybe 40. You may not meet requirements! An offensive experience!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“oysters, so fresh and juicy...”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

In this tiny, intimate Vancouver spot, my husband and I had oysters during happy hour three days in a row, with a superb, reasonably priced sauvingnon blanc. The price was right and we were on vacation. The oysters were extremely fresh, with several types to choose from. I highly recommend this spot, but if I lived in Vancouver, I would be tempted to keep it a secret, as it could get too popular!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theos_leftluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Seafood & Rawbar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Oyster Seafood & Rawbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing