We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine
Ranked #184 of 3,751 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Monroe, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went to the Banana Leaf on the recommendation of our Hotel and Tripadvisor reviews. It was fabulous in every way. Service was prompt and attentive. We had the Sampler which is 8 different items. All were very good, some were absolutely out of this world good. The mussels were possibly one of the best flavors we have ever had. The drinks were also very, very good. And the prices were more than fair considering the quality of the food and service. Just make sure you go hungry as the portions are quite large. I am getting hungry just writing about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonDallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    100
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spicey food and big porcions”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Decoration and service was good, both meat and lobster were fresh and well prepared, if you are not comfortable with hot spicey food ask how hot the dish is. Price is reasonable, Since porcions are so big only one dish is enough. We tried brown rice desert and another one with mango, and not enjoyed much.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank heidi298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Malaysian Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy but a very good array of choices from the luncheon menu....or you could also order from the dinner menu. Green papaya salad, mee goreng, satay, chicken curry and fried bananas were all very good. Service was fast and prices were reasonable. I can understand why this restaurant receives the reviews it does. If I lived in Vancouver, I'd be a regular.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm Laksa!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place serves up a super tasty bowl of Laksa! It could just be that I am deprived by virtue of being a Calgarian with access to only one restaurant serving this soup but Banana Leaf knocked it out of the park. Had some delicious mussels to start with as well, and the prices are very reasonable for the quality of food you're getting. Great work Banana Leaf!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was my first time trying Malaysian food, and the Banana Leaf was impressive. They offer a good selection and variety of foods without being overwhelming. I had the spring rolls as an appetizer, and they were just spicy enough. The beef rendang with the coconut rice for the main course had just enough curry and coconut to be very tasting, and a generous preportion to leave me feeling full.
All in all, a great place to try a different eating experience. Good service, good food, reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Banana Leaf Malaysian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing