We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sports bar in Gastown”

131 Water Social House
Ranked #2,530 of 3,728 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gastown
Description: We are dedicated to the art of socializing, a place where guests can get social and share thoughts, experiences and best of all, food. Our menu features classic twists prepared with only the freshest ingredients and designed to offer guests a chance to experience multiple dishes and flavours throughout their time with us, each time and every time. Sharing food is a social ritual for everyone at 131 Water and we welcome groups, big and small, in our newly renovated mezzanine. We know life can get hectic, so why not make it simple and get away from it all - sit down, get social and enjoy.
Work
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sports bar in Gastown”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this little treasure walking through Gastown looking to watch the Seahawks game yesterday. Great Caesar drink specials on Sunday and the Poutine was well done too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timbobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Apps and drinks”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stopped in for a couple apps and drinks. The prices were great 3 apps for $12 or $5 each. The poutine was good :) Drink prices were decent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KikiMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to final night of our honeymoon!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had been told to check out Gastown and were unable to find parking near the specific recommendation of a place to eat. We parked near the steam clock and walked along the street going into souvenir and art shops. It was dark and all the trees were lit up, buildings had a beautiful glow about them. We stopped at 131 and we were seated right away, our food came very quickly and was tasty I had a bleu cheese and steak chopped salad. My husband had fish and chips. They offer typical bar fare but have some extra stuff in addition. The atmosphere is modern and there is also outdoor seating and large windows for views of the street from inside. We had friendly and efficient service. They also served a lot of local beer - we had Okanagan Pear Cider and Stanley Park Amber. It was great to find such a nice place with good service and good food so late at night.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stopped here for a late lunch on our last day in Vancouver. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The special was the BBQ chicken sandwich which was covered in BBQ sauce and not dry at all served with a side salad for about $6 - great deal! We also tried the poutine which according to one food blogger "screams Canada"...it's not something we would normally eat, but since it was our first time in Canada, we just had to try it. That was a bit expensive, but they do give you a lot. Poutine is french fries with bacon bits, cheese curd and gravy. We've never tried Poutine so have nothing to compare this one too, but this was pretty good. It was $9! We could barely finish the bowl of Poutine. The gravy was tasty.

The kitchen service was a bit slow, but our server was on it with water and making sure we had what we needed.

We opted to sit in the back side of the restaurant which looks out to an architects office and the few tables/chairs in their outdoor restaurant seating area. Next time we'll sit in the front even though everyone walking by can see you eating, it's better than having to watch office workers take their smoke breaks.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithCameraHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 131 Water Social House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to 131 Water Social House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing