We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So delicious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meat & Bread

Meat & Bread
370 Cambie Street Vancouver, British Columbia | Hastings, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-566-9003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 3,492 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Soups, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We went twice in two days- the porchetta was that good. Very filling. I found the meatball to be too fennel-y but still ate the whole thing!

It seems to always be packed but they get you in and out super quick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    188
    30
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gillybean604
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just average?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I saw this place on Diners, Drive In's and Dives on TV. The place was packed and lots of people in the line up which to me indicated it'd be a good place. I ordered the Porchetta sandwich and found it to be... average. It's just roast pork on bread. I found the roast pork to be really salty. The side sauce is just mustard. I just felt like it's something I could make easily at home. It was worth trying though and I did eat the whole thing. Was still hungry after.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillybean604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple. Delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This throw back restaurant is simple: get your food, eat your food. With about 5 choices you don't need to take a long time to decide that you're about to enjoy meat and bread!
Had a tasty lemonade with a delicious Corned Beef sandwich. Don't forget to wash it down with a salted chocolate bar!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoubleODave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Couldn't better the speed of service nor quality of the food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were there today and couldn't find fault. We had a late lunch and the queue was just a few. The pork was warm and cut up in front of us from the freshly roasted pork leg going into warm freshly cooked rolls with a smattering of pork crackling on the top. It needed no seasoning apart from the sales verde dribbled on the meat. What more could you ask for? All for $8.00.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnniePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Based on The good reviews, I went to try this "famous" food and I'm sorry to say that I was really disappointed. They suggested the special (pork) and I found it extremely dry we even have to put some of the soup inside to be able to swallow! The soup ok but the meat dry as well. Wouldn't go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pgalindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Bread also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Meat & Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing