We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good strong coffee + atmosphere”

Delany's Coffee House
Ranked #5 of 98 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“good strong coffee + atmosphere”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We needed some caffeine and we found ourselves on Denman. Delany's looked busy so we thought it must be good.

great coffee,well cappuccino actually- strong, not too milky. I am always staggered by the sucess of other coffee shops that seem to have covered the world selling more or less, steamed milk and foam!

Muffins were great. Staff were a bit disinterested, busy I guess. When I enquired about the washroom I was told " key is over there on the counter" in a way that came across as though I should have known that anyway. The washroom needs decorating - and quickly ! broken light, bad paintwork etc etc. clean but not welcoming. a small detail but I do think such things can reflect on how the owner/staff feel about their own environment.

Would return for the coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Artigianos about ready to Explode over Delany's”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After not having been here in a while, we dropped in to the Edgemnot Villiage location today for some special coffees. Sad. I am not sure about the food. The coffee is OK. The service is brutal. 15 minute wait for an Americano. We just about walked off the premises. The staff looked disengaged and it seemed like they could care less about the long line of customers as they kidded amongst themselves. With the Artigianos going up right across the street, it will be interesting to see how Delany’s handles this. Will they just let themselves die or will they get some competent staff and at least make a go of it? Artigianos is far superior coffee and service and is also locally owned. I cannot bare the drama My bets are that the once giant Delany’s will come tumbling down due. Their comfort level and arrogance is embedded into their very being. I am not saying that it is a bad thing if we lose this coffee shop. With Starbucks, Delany’s, and an Artigianos all in the same block, the Village can do with one less coffee house.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverAgain1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Warm neighborhood coffee shop with decent coffee”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice coffee and decent breakfast that's a good value. The seating is pleasant, very neighborhood comfy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice neighbourhood place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Not my favourite coffee place in the West End, but they have delicious muffins and you can't beat the location.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VanCityFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The "other" Delany locations”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Most reviews of this coffee house are for the location in Downtown Vancouver on Denman Street. The "original" Delany's is in Edgemont Village in North Vancouver. It has been the heart of the village for many years now and still is very popular. My husband and I were recently there for a lovely quiet evening chat over tea and hot chocolate. A great place to meet up with a friend, you can sit inside in the cosy atmosphere at the back; or on stools looking out the huge windows overlooking the main street in the village. You can also sit outside outside with views of the mountains and watch the world go by. Nicely updated a few years ago, it is "the" spot to hang out in the village. Great vibe, nice muffins - love their dessert bars! The staff are always friendly. There are other Delany's at Park Royal and Dunderave in West Vancouver, and at Lynn Valley in North Van. Delany's does it well!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReillyWoodTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delany's Coffee House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Delany's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing