We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bulgarian find on Denman.”
Review of Acacia Fillo Bar

Acacia Fillo Bar
Ranked #226 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: West End
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Bulgarian find on Denman.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

First Bulgarian restaurant we have ever tried. Filo pockets stuffed with chicken and lamb were our choices, accompanied by a small side salad and roasted yams and potatoes, nicely spiced. A small restaurant less than 6 tables and a couple of tables outside. Good value and an interesting, different culinary experience. Oh yes, they are licensed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Riverdale114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved the Burek”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was a great find. We walked past and looked into the restaurant and it looked warm and inviting. We went in, unsure of what to order and the waiter recommended we try the Burek. It was really tasty. It was a delicious "meat pie" for lack of better words that was filling and had great flavours. It came with a salad and other sauces, very, very good indeed. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Fillo's”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The fillo's with Salmon + wild mushrooms and Roasted Lamb were great. These were served with grilled yams and a super fresh green salad.

Will go back to try others in the menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalithGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“had bulgarian food?”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Well, I hadn't, but it sounded good and there were a lot of great reviews. We checked it out. Delicious, sweet servers and the spinach-feta filo dough specialty of the house lasted through hours of snowshoeing, so filling to boot!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JSSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Vancouver”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I first ate here 6 months ago during my first visit to Vancouver. On my second visit to this great city this place was my first stop. They have one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten in the world! The poached eggs on English muffins served with yams and maple bacon are delicious. Great home cooking of exceptionional standard, fantastic service and a cute environment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acacia Fillo Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Acacia Fillo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing