We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine out fail even before dine out starts.”

The Edge Social Grille & Lounge
Ranked #195 of 3,994 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: The Edge Social Grille & Lounge is located on the EDGE of the world famous downtown Vancouver's Granville Entertainment District. Step out of our doors and experience the heartbeat of all that is "Entertainment" in Vancouver. We promise to deliver a fun and sophisticated level of service in fine-casual dining. The Edge offers a large, modern yet comfortable atmosphere with both dining and lounge seating as well as offering the largest outdoor licensed patio on Granville Street. People watching at its finest and then take the elevator home!
Reviewed January 8, 2013

So my friends and I call the restaurant to make reservations on the first day that the dine out list is released. We chose this place cause we thought the menu looked extremely good for an $18 menu. The next day they call us and tell us that the dine out menu is wrong and it is actually $28. Total waste of time to look through the menus and to make a reservation on the first day of dine out reservations allowed. The restaurant should have their information updated and corrected on the dine out website. Still part of the $18 list.

The only saving grace is they called us back a day after we made the reservation.

We will not be going to them this dine out.

Thank Gkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia G, General Manager at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear customer,

We apologize for the price mix-up of our menu on the Dine Out website, and the inconvenience it has caused you. At no time did we intend to mislead; it was an unfortunate IT glitch that should not have occurred. Nonetheless, we rectified the mistake on the day of the release, as soon as it was discovered. You will now find that our menu is correctly listed under the $28 list. In order to prevent any further surprises, we took the initiative to call every customer who booked a reservation and notify them of the mistake.

We hope that you will give The Edge Social Grille & Lounge another chance, and we are happy to assist you should you wish to discuss this further.

Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
The Edge Social Grille & Lounge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am not 100% sure how I felt about my first experience at the Edge. The location is good, servers are professional and at the table quickly, interior is pretty modern and I like the spacious comfortable booths. My drink (paralyser) was mixed good. There were some good food items on the menu and I settleled on the chow mein which I wasn't able to finish as it was pretty salty. I was expecting a more traditional style dish not noodles and vegetables that were drenched in Soy Sauce. My dinner campanions steak and potato looked delicious however the arugula salad the person accross from me ordered was actually made with spinach but it wasn't mentioned to her it would be. We were dining in a group of 12 and there was a situation in which food was mixed up with two in my party and a meal was brought to someone after almost everyone had finished eating. A drink was also brought to the table in error and the waiter offered it to the table to be kind and the manager actually made him come back to the table and tell us we had to pay for it. No big deal but extremely poor reflection on his part considering the prices on the menu We also didn't appreciate the 17% gratuity already added in OVER top of the taxes.... when did it go to 17%?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cava33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia G, Manager at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge

We are sorry to hear that your first experience at our restaurant did not quite meet your expectations.
We apologize for some of the service level you’re received during your dinner; it was a very busy night, although it’s no excuse, and we appreciate your constructive criticism as it will help us improve our level of service and product.

Regarding the 17% gratuity, it is automatically applied to all tables of 6 and more as it requires additional work and service than smaller groups. Given the various issues your party experienced, we should have adjusted accordingly, and we apologize for this oversight.

We truly hope that you will give The Edge Social Grille & Lounge another chance as we are normally valued for providing great customer service with an excellent food selection. Please contact us directly should you decide to return, and we will ensure to be a great success.

Sincerely,

Grant Sam
Assistant General Manager
The Edge Social Grille & Lounge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I enjoy the smoke salmon benny I half order with my mum and it did not cost any more then the price it said and a nice quiet place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kerriebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Edge Social Grille & Lounge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for your 5 out of 5 rating. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our waitress was incredibly friendly and the kitchen did a wonderful job of dealing with multiple allergies. Everything was so fresh and the coffee is really great.

Thank Suzedanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Edge Social Grille & Lounge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and enjoyed our friendly staff. We definitely will pass on your feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a great place to have hotel breakfasts or come for drinks and a quick bite at night. Nice decor, confy seats and during summers the patio area is great. Price wise its a bit higher than it should but it's nice to sit down to good dinning without being pressed to give up your table for the next customer.

Thank sebsreichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edge Social Grille & Lounge also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Edge Social Grille & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing