We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner”

Dynasty Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #388 of 3,777 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The service was excellent though the hovering over us got to be a bit much. The cold appetizer platter was delicious. The duck with mushrooms dish was amazing, as was the lobster. Just two dishes i wasn't crazy about: I didn't like the stir fry white fish with gailan - the fish tasted a bit off. The fish and tofu hotpot was so-so but the fish had too many little bones that we gave up eating it.

Overall, a decent Chinese restaurant in Vancouver, but much prefer Fishermans Terrace and Kirin in Richmond for the same level of dining and Koon Lock in Eastside Vancouver for less nice, but awesome food.

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good dim sum to impress or just because”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Living in Vancouver we are blessed with many places to go for dim sum. The challenge is to find good QUALITY food. There is no cart-service here but dishes are brought to your table fresh, hot and steamy. All items we ordered were delicious, especially the shrimp dumplings ("har gow", 4 pieces) which were tasty and dainty unlike the mammoth-sized, steroid-injected ones you so often see nowadays. Expect to pay about $5 per dish + tea charge. Better to make a reservation or arrive before 11:30 and be warned that it is very noisy; however, the decor and view over False Creek is a plus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastChick604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Special Meal”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is the place to get great Chinese food where the presentation and quality gets top awards. I have met the head chef and his skill and dedication really show in the meals that are served. We are regular customers at the Dynasty for any special event and I rank this as my favorite place to eat in Vancouver.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You want good Chinese food, this is it!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

With so many Chinese in and around Vancouver, there had to be some great places to check out Chinese cuisine and this turned out to be one of them!
One good sign evident as soon as we entered the large dining room was it was full of Chinese and Japanese diners - in fact we only saw one other Caucasian guy in there and he had a Chinese partner! The tables were well dressed with white linen and, though there were lots of covers and the place was humming, it did not feel too crowded. The food was delicious and fully met our expectations. The service very attentive. This was a top end restaurant yet excellent value for money. Yummy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Classy Place to do Dim Sum in Vancouver”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dynasty is kind of a upscale Chinese restaurant in Vancouver with a beautiful view of the city skyline. The food is good but quite pricy. A group of highschool friends and I each paid $20 for a dim sum lunch. The place is very clean, service is good with two hours of free underground parking.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2CanadianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dynasty Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing