We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed March 18, 2008

I have nothing but GOOD things to say about this hotel. The prices are outstanding and the rooms, although small and dated, are clean and comfy. The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. They provide you with a claim ticket for your bags if you leave them in their storage room, which made me feel much safer.

The free continental breakfast also offered some hot items which was a nice added touch. Free internet on a computer in the lobby was definitely great to have.

DO NOT worry about the area being "seedy" as some comments say. The hotel has an old charm and a great location next to the Waterfront and 2 Skytrain stations. I will be back in a heartbeat as the price and service cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jason670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2007

For the third year in a row, I chose the Ramada for my week's worth of holidays. Vancouver is such a great city, and this property is close to all of the areas I want to be near. The staff were great throughout (extra pillows, blanket ... no problem), and you'd be hard pressed to beat the rate. There's a restaurant right next door which is very handy, a coffee shop on the other side, convenience store and liquor store a 1/2 block away. No problem referring anyone to this hotel. Merry Christmas everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikewebster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Hotel accommodation in Vancouver generally appears to be quite expensive so we were pleased to find this hotel at a reasonable rate - GBP64 per room per night with continental breakfast included. Having read some previous reviews we were a little concerned but were pleased that these concerns were unfounded.

The hotel was a two star - as such we aligned our expectations accordingly. However, we received a very friendly welcome and this staff attitude was consistant throughout our four night stay.

The room was reasonably compact but provided a sufficient base. There was a bathroom with toileteries, TV, coffee-maker, chest of drawers, etc and room to store our suitcases. There was no outlook with a frosted window looking out onto a wall of the adjoining propery.

As a two star hotel you cannot expect the sort of faciliites available in larger, more expensive hotels. However, a concierge service is available and the hotel kindly looked after our cases whilst we visited Whistler for two days. There is also free internet usage available in the hotel lobby. There is no restaurant or bar although there is a bar providing food next door. We did not try this so cannot comment on its suitability.

Free continental breakfast is available. We liked this as it avoids either paying over-the-odds for an in-house breakfast or having to look outside for someone suitable. The breakfast provided a range of cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit and two hot items - usually two of pancakes, waffles or omelette - plus fruit juice, tea, coffee - it certainly gave you a good start to the day. The room is a bit small but if possible move to the boardroom which is sometimes opened up to accommodate a overspill. the breakfast staff worked very hard to keep the serving area well stocked.

The locatiion is about 600m from Robson Street and also about 10 minutes walk from Canada Place, the cruise ships and also Gastown. There are one or two slightly unsavourary looking characters nearby so make sure you always turn right out of the hotel. There is a bus stop about 100m from the hotel and this takes you to, amongst other places, Stanley Park.

Some comments on Vancouver itself. A very picturesque city. Stanley Park is a must and the likes of English Bar, Canada Place and Gas Town are worth a visit. Robson Street is the main thoroughfare but we found there to be a large number of beggars in this and the surrounding areas. The constant requests were off-putting and slightly intimidating.

We bought a day pass for the buses,skytrain and cross harbour Seabus at a very reasonable $8 for the day. this enabled us to go over to North Vancouver for a few hours perhaps away from typical tourist traps. We took in Lynn Valley Park - this features a suspension bridge similar to Capilano Bridge but is free!

Overall, we were pleased with our choice - it served us well, standards of services exceeded expectations and the money saved by staying in a two star enabled us to go a little more upmarket later in our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Manx_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown, many of the downtown attractions are within walking distance, it's less than a $10 cab fare to Granville Island, public transit at your door and a few of the downtown stops on the hop on/hop off are just a few minutes walk away.

The hotel is clean, the bed was very comfortable, the pillows were lacking though...the towels were soft, the staff friendly and helpful...I got a good rate on expedia, however the hotel advised me when I checked in that they will beat/match online prices, so I suggest calling and seeing if you can get a better rate than online before you book!

Breakfast was included with the room but it left a little to be desired, however if you just want something quick like cereal or a toasted bagel it's fine.

Considering how expensive downtown Vancouver hotels can be, this place is a gem, if you don't need all the frills and just a clean room with a comfy bed at the end of a long day!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank shannipantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

I was a bit worried about staying at the Ramada in Vancouver after I read some of the reviews. But I was pleasently surprised how clean the rooms were and the staff was also very friendly. Location was not bad either - there is a bus leaving just opposite the road going to the harbour but we also walked a couple of times. In the evenings we walked towards Yale Town for the restaurants. Staff was also really helpful. I think it is good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Went for a good priced hotel out of the 'bar' district (along Granville). Had no problems sleeping at night, and never felt worried while walking back to the hotel late at night. Just know where you are and don't wander off to the wrong area.

When we arrived, the staff was really helpful and we actually got an upgraded room and instead of a queen bed got a king (this didn't turn out that great as it was basically two twin beds pushed to make a big bed). Not a big deal as the room was relatively clean and nice.

Each time we left the hotel to go sightseeing or somewhere, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They would point us in the right direction and make suggestions for things to do.

The day we left, we were even able to check out and store our luggage there so we could spend more time downtown without dragging our stuff around.

Location is pretty good. We were able to walk to most places robson st, canada place, edgewater casino...even to stanley park and english bay. Bus station is really close and that took us to granville island.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Flames89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Ramada Downtown is very well located, close to Gastown, the old part of Vancouver, full of restaurants and stores. It also offers a good relation price / quality and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and offered lots of amenities (bottles of water, body lotion, conditioner …) located in the executive floor (in fact we were upgraded without any additional cost). The most negative thing to point is the breakfast room, too small for the number of rooms and the lack of diversity of food when compared to European standards.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PT_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
909 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
412 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Address: 435 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $123 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing