We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“On the whole, good hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. First off the location is really good if you are arriving from the airport, because it is pretty close to the Waterfront station. The location is also good for the harbour area in general, Canada Place, and Gastown. The Lookout is also close by.
We didn't have a view from our window, but we weren't too fussed.
Staff were polite and helpful.
Breakfast was okay, have had better but have also had much worse. The breakfast room is small and dark though, which is a bit dissapointing.
My husband is a light sleeper and complained there was several noises which kept him awake. The ice machine down the corridor was very loud. The toilet was constantly running also which meant we had to shut the bathroom door to be able to sleep. And the walls were a bit thin.
However, I slept really well. The bed was big and comfortable and the shower was really good, which to me are the most important things. I would say 3.5 stars, but as I'm feeling generous I will round up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am so glad you enjoyed yoru stay with us! In the future, should you have any problems with your room such as noise from an ice machine or a running toilet, please contact the front desk and we will have our Maintenance Department fix the issue right away. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    689
    321
    99
    58
See reviews for
279
519
148
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Although this premise only attracts 2 stars on most hotel booking sites, it is well worth more. The location of Canada Place (Cruise Terminal) is only 10 minutes walk away or 2 minutes by taxi ($7). The Skytrain/Seabus are both within walking distance as is the tourist area of Gastown with it's steam operated clock. Plenty of nightlife within a 10 minute walk.
Rooms were adequate, however my only complaint would be the basement breakfast room, which was far too small for the size of the hotel, resulting in queues for a table each morning, and the coffee machine which was usually out of order.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor as there's only one elevator, which is constantly busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I could not agree more when you say that we are better than our 2.5 star rating. The only reason our property has a 2.5 star rating as opposed to a 4 star rating is because we are a limited service property..meaning we do not have a pool or fitness centre, we do not have suites and we do not have a restaurant or bar in the hotel (although there is a terrific restaurant/bar right nextdoor to us called Yagger's). In relation to our breakfast room...it can certainly get busy at times when the hotel is full and we do try and encourage guests to bring food to their rooms if they choose. The coffee machine being out of order is a serious concern and I can assure any future guests that the new machine we have put in will not run out of coffee as coffee is FAR to important to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The price for this hotel was excellent! We found a great deal which was a plus. They have complimentary breakfast each morning. They had a good selection of foods, bagels, cereal, muffins, eggs and pancakes. Tea, coffee and juices were also available. The staff were very friendly. Free wifi was included.

The hotel is just a few blocks away from the Waterfront station for the Canada Line, which can take you straight to the airport. It only took about 25 minutes because it stops at every station on the way. So that was good for us to go around on.

The only concern we had was the bed, as it was just two mattresses pushed together. So it was pain because we would fall into the middle, but other than that the hotel was great.

We didn't know the area very well and it was a bit sketchy at night we didn't like walking around near the hotel. We did feel safe inside the hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. As this review states we are a terrific property for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver. Our room rates are great (especially if you book directly with the hotel) and our service levels are amazing (5 star service). I do apologize about the issue with the bed and will certainly be looking into this personally. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This Ramada is conveniently located on a bus route and a couple blocks away from the Waterfront station from which you can catch the Skytrain and the Seabus. The facilities are severely limited as far as hotels go (no gym or pool etc), nothing besides the usual things found in a hotel room. That said, the room was clean (if a bit small), the bed was big and comfortable, and there was a basic continental breakfast included in the price. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a hotel in Vancouver but don't want to break the bank, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! This is a great review that touches on the things that make us the perfect choice for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver. We are very close to everything and anything and our amazing staff are sure to make you feel at home. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! For all future guests, please remember to contact us directly in order to get the BEST rate out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here with some friends and I must say the location us brilliant, the staff at the desk were such wonderful people, GIll and miheala. Very nice, welcoming and recommended a few good restaurants and bars. The Irish bar next door is definitely recommended, foods great, good atmosphere and music. The beds were very comfy and overall a good place in the year if Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
740 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#78 of 90 in Vancouver
1,698 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Address: 435 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing