We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value; Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value; Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

This was another instance in which a grand old hotel has been re-modeled and re-branded to become a very affordable, convenient place to stay.
Our room was good, although a little oddly shaped. The TV was in a chiffarobe in an alcove of the room. The room was generally very clean - except for the rug. The rug was a trifle grimy, and in this case, buckled so that we had to be careful not to trip over it. Our window faced the main street and let huge amounts of sun pour in. It was easy to be blinded and overheated here unless you were very diligent and inventive about closing the curtains. The view was great though. We could look out and watch the picturesque proceedings at an eccentric hair salon in an old building across the street.
The included continental breakfast was offered in a small basement room that was usually crowded to overflowing. A small, harmless fire involving the toaster there necessitated our having to evacuate the building one Sunday morning. I usually preferred to eat at the "Smile" Cafe across the street.
Also, the staff was very friendly - however they failed to issue us our wake-up call one morning. No harm done. Our alarm clock came through.
These small negatives aside - the overall value of the place was great. The Hotel is on a bus route that will take you directly to Stanly Park. The harbor and other parts of downtown are all within walking distance.
There's free access to a computer in an alcove in the lobby, so if you don't have a Wi-Fi- ready computer with you, you can still check the Internet at almost any time.
It's otherwise almost impossible to find such a good place in the $100-a-night range in the heart of downtown Vancouver. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid east-west-facing rooms where the sun pours in and brings the room temperatur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    682
    317
    97
    58
See reviews for
273
513
147
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

There are a couple of Ramada hotels in Vancouver. This one is in West Pender Street.

In some 3 months of travelling across the US and Canada, this has been our favourite hotel so far. We liked it so much we stayed almost three weeks – broken by a driving trip to Banff and return.

Overall: Really comfortable stay in a nicely decorated room complete with refrigerator and microwave. Great value and reasonably quiet.

Best room tip: Rooms ending in x07 above the third floor are in the very corner of the hotel, and you’ll get two windows (that can open). We stayed in 607 and had no noisy footsteps above us, with a view of the snow dusted nearby mountains and the harbour. This was the first hotel in several months we didn't need earplugs to sleep.

Minor annoyances: We returned from Banff around 11:30pm and had to park the vehicle ourselves, but were still charged the full overnight rate for valet parking ($25 per night). Valet parking finishes at 11pm. Free internet was reasonable but patchy (can’t make skype calls), but will do the job if you need it for the occasional email check.

We also stayed in room #403 for a couple of days, which was a much smaller room for the same price (one chair, no refridgerator, no microwave, and the only window opens onto an alley and building).

Ramada had a ‘stay 3 nights and get 20% off’ deal, so we got two queen sized beds and breakfast for around $78 per night booked direct on their website.

Breakfast was a great selection and included a hot dish of egg (patty) and small breakfast sausage, pancakes sometimes, hot waffles and the usual assortment of cereal, bagels, toast, juice, tea/coffee and muffins. Is served in the basement and there’s usually enough seating for everyone. Breakfast runs until 9:30am and later on weekends.

Our 607 room also had two chairs and a desk. Bedding and pillows were comfy. An adjustable heater/air-con in the room worked well (and quietly). Large selection of cable channels on the flat screen.

Washing machines and driers are available in the basement for a small fee. A free daily local newspaper was provided each day. Drink/snack machine & ice machine also available on a couple of floors.

This hotel is in walking distance to lots of things. It’s a two block uphill walk (small incline) from the light rail station (Skytrain) – catchable from Vancouver Airport into the waterfront terminal for around $7.50 per person.

Close by is the fashion shopping precint in Robson Street (around 4 blocks); Gastown restaurants & souvenirs (look for the steam powered clock); the Vancouver lookout tower (go back up in the evening on your earlier ticket, for gorgeous sunset views); Vancouver Public Library (free, strong internet for 2 hours); Vancouver Art Gallery; the Vancouver Convention Centre (six blocks), a couple of 24/7 convenience stores (good for a cheap heat-up-in-the-microwave-in-your-room meal); a large post office; a couple of sports bars serving good meals; Rogers Arena (8 blocks – catch a game of ice hockey) and BC Place Stadium (catch a game of gridiron – 7 blocks). There are also several coffee shops (Starbucks, Waves, Tim Hortons) within two blocks. Thrifty and Budget car rentals also nearby.

The hotel is next door to a (homeless?) lodge and you’ll get plenty of requests for money and/or cigarettes if you’re waiting outside the front of the hotel, but people mostly seem harmless. We also found Gastown particularly bad for requests for money.

Also next door is a sports bar that offers 10% discount for hotel guests. Innovative menu but can be a bit noisy and 'blokey', and rooms facing onto West Pender street are likely to get a bit of street noise on the weekend from sports bar patrons.

Staff here were amongst the most genuine and helpful we’ve encountered in three months of travel across Canada. Whilst this doesn’t impact on the comfort of your stay, their friendliness made for a nice change.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in x07 above the third floor are in the very corner of the hotel, and you’ll get two wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel and friendly staff were beyond our expectations. Clean quiet rooms, plus a breakfast buffet that delivered far more than most, all for a reasonable price. The location is convenient to local public transit as well as the Pacific Central Station, so it's an idea location for those arriving by train. I will definitely stay her again on my next visit to Vancouver!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel. These were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfansfca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was here for business with a few colleagues. The location was awesome, we walked to our conference in downtown Vancouver.

The rooms were tiny, but we expected this because it is in a historic building. The beds were extremely comfortable.

Free Wifi was nice. Continental Breakfast was free and EXCELLENT.

Above all the price was very good at $90 a night.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theryguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in early Nov.2011. The key is simply great value. Pros.... Great price,great location for this walking city,easy to walk to any of the action on Robson or nearby downtown,Super clean recently renovated room,Flat screen with cable worked well. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, If you prefer to spend your travel $ on exploring and eating and not on sitting in your room looking at your "view" this is one of the best choices in this wonderful city I know so well. Cons.... In an area generally considering "undesirable" ( but slowly gentrifying and close to high end areas), Street scene a little "funky" ( a few homeless beggars close by) However I never once felt in danger night or day.Inside hotel security seemed excellent. Its an old building that has been renoavated so its a bit creaky walking the long corridors. Perfect for younger world travelers or retired geezers traveling for fun. Had trouble getting my ipod touch to pick up wifi in the room but it worked well in the excellent coffee shop next door full of friendly international adventure travelers and the locals who seem to be student types mostly. All the best Bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We just completed a five-night stay at this gem of a hotel. I must acknowledge, even after reading so many positive reviews prior to our booking, that I expected less. First, and foremost, the staff are phenomenal; from the phone call minutes after checking in to see if everything in the room met with approval to the pleasant banter on each coming and going, the atmosphere was professional and friendly. The room was super clean. The location is fantastic for downtown shopping and for exploring the historic neighbourhood. It is also very accessible to transit--both the Waterfront Station and various bus routes. When we return to Vancouver, this is definitely to be our hotel of choice. This really is one time when the 'too good to be true' is in actuality better than expected. Thank you, Ramada Limited Downtown, for a superlative experience!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Visit0r2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
We love getting reviews like this! It proves that our focus on Guest Service is appreciated by our guests. Our property is a great choice for anyone visiting Downtown Vancouver, whether it be to go shopping, dining, catching a cruise, going to a sporting event or concert, the Ramada Limited Downtown Vancouver is a perfect choice. Also, if you call us directly to make your reservation, you will be given the BEST rate (you will not find a better rate online guaranteed!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My son and I arrived at the hotel a little after 10a.m to ask if we could store our luggage as we were on foot. The hotel staff were very helpful and offered us our room to settle in. I also asked if we could have a cot delivered to our room as I had a last minute guest arriving. The staff were great, and delivered the cot within a very short time. All of our interactions with the hotel staff was very positive and enjoyable. The hotel is old but quaint, and extremely clean. Breakfast is your typical continental, but does have hot options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Address: 435 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing