We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay but be aware of the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We thought that this hotel was quite charming thanks to the character building it's located in. Although the hotel is very old, it's very well maintained inside (not so much on the outside). When we checked in, a very friendly receptionist greeted us and gave us some pointers on what to do in the city, which really made our day (and our stay). We were quite lucky to get a room with a view and some natural light, as I heard that many of this hotel's rooms have very dark rooms... The breakfast included a couple of hot items each morning and things like muffins, bagels, cereals and even porridge. The hotel had an ice machine, although it was located on the 5th floor instead of ground floor, which was slightly odd. We really had to be patient with the hotel's lift. It takes ages to move from one floor to another, so you can't really got anywhere in a hurry. But if you are not too posh to walk, take the stairs and you will get to wherever you are going much faster :-). Now the only real downside of this hotel is the area it's located in. We thought it was very seedy and full of homeless people and junkies. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! As stated in other reviews, Vancovuer is a very large city and with that comes issues like homelessness etc. This is an issue in all areas of Vancouver, not just ours. That being said, Vancouver is VERY safe and you can feel comfortable walking around the downtown core at any hour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

Reviews are accurate, hotel is close to bus transit and cabs can be called by pressing a button on room phone or asking at lobby desk. Employees are universally pleasant even in face of adversity (elevator was not working and there are 6 floors yikes). Thankfully we arrived early enough to get a 2nd floor room, windows opened (nice) to an airshaft meh. Very comfy bed. Carpet needs replacing. Nice clean bathroom.

Breakfast is sausage, eggs and the usual rest. Fridge and micro is available for $15 day by request but not a lot of room for it (we skipped it).
Jagger's is the gastropub next door, don't be put off by the external, inside it is very pleasant, well-run (unrowdy) and it has a fantastic menu to suit beer-drinkers or gourmets.
Duck confit sandwiches, ribs, salmon sandwich, very above the average at reasonable prices.
Very nice after a long day exploring Vancouver where you can walk your legs off. After the first day we used cabs from Point A to Point B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. As stated, this guest stayed over a small period where our elevator was out of service due to an unexpected repair. This lack of elevator did not phase our great staff who were more than happy to help with luggage and finding rooms that worked for each guest. Many guests elected to stay on the lower floors due to the elevator being down. The lowere florrs of the hotel would not have any views, as we are surrounded by other buildings. As stated in other review responses....if there is something you need/want to make your stay more enjoyable (like a bigger room or a room with a view) please let us know and we will be happy to accomodate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with husband and son. As mentioned by others, room and beds were small, but clean and adequate, as we didn't spend much time in there apart from to sleep.
The area didn't feel any more unsafe than the rest of downtown Vancouver, which had lots of beggars and hustlers. However, the hotel felt completely safe, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Canada Place and the waterfront were only 5 minutes' stroll away, so this was in an excellent position.
The breakfast was fine, with a good variety of food. it wasn't a particularly relaxing experience, however, due to the very small dining room, which resulted in queues for food and for tables.
Compared to the prices for other city centre hotels, this was good value, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BornInThe60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for taking some time to review our little hotel. Our property will work for almost everyone coming to Vancouver. You cannot beat the value you will recieve by staying with us. Guest have many hotels to choose from in Downtown Vancouver. We try and separate ourselves from the rest by offering great guest service and making all of our guests feel welcome!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel was great! The breakfast was also good which was served on the basement/ground floor. The location was great as it was a few minutes walk from the metro PLUS a short walk from the shopping district!! It was also close to the harbour and also to the famous clock towere in the Gas Town neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diving_Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Location Location Location! You cannot ask for anything better! The train from the Vancouver International Airport (YVR) is a only 2.5 blocks away and many of our guests use this option for travelling to/from YVR. It is only $8.50 to take the train from YVR and only $3.75 to go out to YVR! There is so much shopping within a couple of blocks of our hotel that you are bound to find exactly what you are looking for!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed here for 16 nights in April/May 2011. Staff were very friendly, room was great (could have been a better view, though, for such a long stay). It's also a great location, nearby skytrain and Canada line stations as well as ferry terminal across to North Van. The buffet breakfast became tiresome after the first week but is perfectly adequate. I'd definitely consider this hotel again when I visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bystander53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for reviewing the hotel! 16 nights is a long stay in any hotel. I am glad our staff were able to make you feel comfortable. As stated in the review, it is hard to beat the value you recieve when staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great little hotel. The rooms are small but the position is great. They were clean. They staff were very helpful. Continental Breakfast was supplied. Would definately stay there again..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyvan-2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for a great little review! Centrally located, great staff, clean rooms and good value! We appreciate the business and hope you will come visit us again! For anyone thinking of coming to Vancouver, call us directly and you will get the best rate, you will not find a better rate on any other website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I chose this hotel for its convenience after our Alaskan Cruise. Was checked into a small twin single beds on the quiet side of hotel. Thought the beds were a little small for our comfort as we were spoilt all the way on Cosmos Tour to the Canadian Rockies. On this tour, no meals were provided (only on optional tours) but all the hotels were really comfortable and has big single beds which they called double singles. Sometime we were put in suites too.

We asked the hotel manager, Mr Eng if we could have the bigger room which have double singles. He readily agreed, no questions asked and no extra charge. Obviously we were glad. The hotel has a self laudrymate which is usefull. I used it except for some clever chap who could not wait for his turn and came and took out my laundry. I waited around for the drying, again he was there before me and took out my washings. I saw his load which consist of ladies wear and undergarment!!!. I was thinkiing what kind of a man would do his partner's washings. In the east, it is considered 'not so lucky' to do women's undergarment. No wonder he turned out to be like that.

Also inclusive was the morning breakfast which is in the basement of the hotel and was sufficient for us. Quite a bit of people around in the morning but the turnover was quick so we do not feel the smallnes of the room but rather the cosiness of it. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when I spoke dialect with them.

Best of all the hotel offer free internet services to their client. Other big hotels will charge but not this. This helped as I could be in touch with my son in London and my daughter back home.

I would definitely want to stay in this hotel again. Thank you Mr Eng and his staff. Kudos to you all. Keep well and take care.

Room Tip: All goodness goes around and comes around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2324, Manager at Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

This is an excellent review and really shows that all of our staff are here to help and make you feel comfortable during your stay. As this guest states in the review, if you are unhappy with anything regarding your stay, please let us know right away and we will do whatever we can to make it right! We do have a washer and dryer available for guests to do their own laundry and if you are concerned about the issues this reviewer encountered we are happy to lock the laundry room while your clothes are in the washer/dryer. Come visit us, I am sure you will love the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown

Address: 435 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $118 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Hotel Limited Downtown
Ramada Vancouver
Vancouver Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing