We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Stayed there for a week and enjoyed - the location is really nice with easy access to bus, train, shuttle, etc.; and the frontdesk staff are always very helpful, especially Ms Corinna.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lc_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. It's people like you that put a big smile on our faces and help motivate us to keep providing stellar customer service!

We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Nicci Best
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    446
    469
    250
    217
See reviews for
349
508
245
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This is my 4th stay and my last. Customer service at the front desk lacks. the rooms reaked of pot, they were run down, the food in the attached pub was really bad, I could go on and on. It a great location being that it is downtown, but in the end you get what you pay for. Also there has always been a problem with homeless people and drugs in this area but it just seems to get worse every year.

If you are just looking for a place tio crash and don't mind wearing ear plugs at night then it will work for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagetoutofhereBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We decided to stay at the Ramada downtown due to the location and wanting to have a nice weekend. We called ahead to ask what the total price of our trip will be and it was just under $300 for three nights. We have a dog so we asked them to include that price plus taxes. We were told over the phone that for our dog it is $20 total plus having a credit card on file. We were happy with the $300 price and was budgeting our trip accordingly. When we arrive they informed us that it was actually $20 a night for our pet. We explained that they had told us it would be $20 total and the girl simply replied "well it's not." We then settled with that and then when she went to charge us she stated that there is also a $15 pernight plus parking tax plus hst on top of the final price for parking and that they have a valet parking system and it is in a secure lot. We explained that we had not been advised of this and how we had been told a certain price. Again we were told "well it's what policy is, I can't do anything." By this time we were made as we had already paid over $80 of what they had stated. I realize this may not seem like much but this was a big holiday for us and that is a lot of money.

We paid upfront when we checked in so that we knew how much money we had left over. When we checked out they slapped us with ANOTHER $70 bill stating we hadn't paid for the parking. I told her we had paid for it when we checked in and she just said "no you didn't." After sitting there with the receipts she finally let it go but made a point of saying how much of a favor she was giving us.

The room was very plain and either very cold or very warm. The only really good thing about it was the breakfast which was served by the pub next door.

I might have considered coming back again had the service not been terrible and it seemed like people knew what they were talking about.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was really impressed with my stay at the Ramada Inn & Suites in downtown Vancouver (Davie and Granville) from Dec 28th to Jan 2nd -- the hotel was small, but it was comfortable and very well managed. Staff were very friendly, and handled the holiday chaos with a high level of professionalism. This was a great location to foray out into metro Vancouver.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Nicci Best
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2010

This Ramada is conveniently located and offered a family suite in downtown Vancouver - perfect for a family of five. The shortfall for us was when our belongings were stolen. There was no sign of forced entry - odd. We felt certain that we had pulled the door shut behind us.

When we returned after a day of sight-seeing, my 10 year-old pulled a pair of men's running shoes out of his bag. We then realized that all of our bags were dishevelled and of course, my husband's shoes were gone. We immediately notified the front desk. They were horrified and rushed to our room looking confused and speechless... Long story short... the kids were afraid and felt violated but the hotel DID NOT give us a new room. They said that they were booked up, but I am wondering why they could not switch our room with another family that had not yet arrived? We would have been satisfied with two double beds and a cot.

The next morning, the maid came by and questioned whether this was our room. She then told us that she had let someone else in the day before and rushed off to tell her supervisor. When she returned, she had completely changed her story and wondered how someone had gotten into a locked room. We notified the front desk and the police.

In the end, the Ramada paid for only half of our stay. They never did give us a different room nor a coupon for another stay! They gave us two day's worth of free breakfast coupons for a not-so-good restaurant next door... but it seems that all of the guests were getting these coupons!

The police file is still open and we have received no correspondence from this major chain. Making us happy would have been very easy. I feel that because we didn't yell or make a big scene, our situation was not viewed as a major concern. BUT, I am glad to spread the word here and now and perhaps other families will think twice before booking at the Ramada on Granville in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwilanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Ramada Inn was within my budget and in downton close by to everything. The staff (esp Dorsa) was very helpful in guiding to visit different places in and around vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Good Day! We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. Any feedback from our guests is always taken into consideration and praise is greatly appreciated!

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay! Have a great holiday season!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Front desk agent , Ms Vivian is very friendly and helplful. Walking distance to downtown shopping centre, A bus stop infront of the hotel and bus number 50 can reach Graville Island. Yaletown train station is very near to the hotel. We enjoyed the stayed in this hotel with good location, price reasonable and WiFi. ML Singapore 4 Dec 2010.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. It's people like you that put a big smile on our faces and help motivate us to keep providing stellar customer service!

We are lucky to have Granville Island just minutes away from us as well as public transportation. We are also close to English Bay beach area and Yaletown, both hot spots of Downtown Vancouver!

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay! Have a great holiday season!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing