We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #76 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Central”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

If you consider staying in this establishment I would suggest that you request a room on the 5th or 6th floor as there is a nightclub attached to the building and it could be noisey in you were any lower, especially on Friday and Saturday nights.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I was in a suite on the 6th floor and it had 2 x 42" LCD TV's! and it was very comfortable.
The hotel is central to anywhere in downtown Vancouver and I walked my feet off! No need for buses or trams.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donalddbhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one.

We appreciate the time taken in writing this review. It definitely put a big smile on all of our faces here at work! It's people like you that keep us motivated in providing great customer service. After our recent renovations, our rooms have been a huge hit! From the mentioned new LCD flat screen TVs, to new bedding, carpets and amenities in the rooms, we like to provide our guests with the best during their stay with us.

I look forward in seeing you again soon, so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay.

Sean Lalji
Front Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    443
    464
    246
    208
See reviews for
341
500
242
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston, uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The best feature of this hotel is the location. You can walk to Granville Island in 10 minutes and to City Centre / Gastown / Waterfront in 20. A word of warning, do not try to walk over the bridge to Granville, get directions and use the ferry.
Also buy a $9 per day travel pass, it covers bus, tram, skytrain and some ferries. There are frequent services from just outside the hotel.
The decor of the hotel is a bit tired and rundown. The rooms are variable, some have fridges, some do not.
They are all fairly comfortable, but if you are on the front and low down you do get traffic noise. Worse still on Friday and Saturday nights there is a nightclub nearby which operates until 3am. I am told that sleep in these rooms is almost impossible.
We had breakfast in the hotel, it was adequate rather than good.
The attached Pub is OK but there are smarter and cheaper ones nearby.
Another major plus are the reception staff, they are efficient and helpful.

If you can get this hotel for a reasonable rate and avoud the low floor front rooms, the great location more than makes up for the other shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one.

As we are in the center of the downtown entertainment district of Vancouver, on weekend the area does get quite "lively" and we apologize for any distrubances you have had during your stay. Unfortunately the is something that all the hotels on Granville are facing during the weekends.

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay, and I will make sure you get a room on a higher floor and on the backside of the hotel, not facing Granville St. Call me directly and I will be glad to book you a room!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Located in good location on main thoroughfare (Granville Street). Within walking distance of all major Vancouver sites. Right down the street from the bridge to Granville Island. Because of the location there is lots of activity late into the evening. Can be a bit noisy due to outside activity. Also if you like complete darkness to sleep well (as I do) found this difficult as light from outside (street lights and neon signs) difficult to block. Would definitely request a room that does not face Granville the next time. Also heard noise from hallway. Felt that rooms could have been cleaned better. Found hair from previous guests in bathroom and carpeting in need of vacuum. Staff were very helpful though. Although hotel has no fitness center guests are provided with free passes to Steve Nash Fitness Center located around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms.

We understand some of our guests prefer a more quieter and darker room because of much needed sleep and we can accommodate you on that. We have rooms not facing Granville St., and instead facing the inside of the hotel which is darker and quieter.

I am also glad you go to enjoy one of our added amenities in getting free passes to the Steve Nash Fitness World which is right around the corner from us. Great facility with a great location!

Please let me know the next time you come visit us and I'll make sure we can get a more accommodating room for your stay.

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We just came back from a 2 week trip to Vancouver. The Ramada Inn Downtown was our first stop and we were overally very pleased with the hotel.

Positives
Quite cheap
Free Internet.
Great location, close to shops and other attractions
Big room with a nice bathroom, good toiletries and shower.
Big comfortable bed.
Nice staff and easy check-in.

Negatives
Noise in the night from the local nightclub on Friday and Saturday. Could feel the vibrations! We weren't even near the club either!
Although the location is very good, there are a few sex shops and beggars close to the front of the hotel- although I think you'd find this in any big city to be honest, and it didn't bother us.

Overall, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smicer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms! We offer very fast high-speed Wifi throughout the hotel and have new bedding, carpets and TVs in all of our rooms!

We appreciate the time taken in writing this review. We are sorry you got to hear a lot of noise from the downtown crowd during your stay, but that is the one con someone might face when staying at a downtown property, especially in such a prime location as ours. Granville Street is also going thru some major changes and renos, opening new stores and living spaces. Although the street might seem a bit "seedy", it is very safe, just in the middle of going thru construction.

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay. Call me directly and I will be glad to book you a room!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brüssel, Belgien
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great location in downtown Vancouver, close to all the bars and (gay) nightlife on Davie Street. Gayfriendly hotel. Pcirces were correct, service ok, the room was ok with a good bed, but not exceptional. All in all ok for that price range. It was a great location for nightlife and going out, also close to Yaletown (and close to the Metro line to the airport). would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us and experience the new renovation we recently went through.

Our location is just one of the great points of our property. We are gay-friendly and are just off of Davie St. which is quite a popular area in downtown. We have many different clubs and stores around us as well as English Bay beach area.

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Arrive in Vancouver by Bus from Seattle and planned to stay for five nights. Not having a clue as to where one hotel was in relation to the downtown area and having the need to be nearby to the Hyatt (for a convention) but without having to pay the prices of the Hyatt and being a stickler for cleanliness and a dark, quiet room while I sleep, I felt really lucky to find a room at the Ramada on Granville Street in Vancouver.
We were placed in a middle room which took care of the darkness but, above all, they initially said they had only double rooms but after my husband had a hard time fitting on the bed lengthwise (he is almost 6-1/2 feet tall), we requested and Mihaela and Sean went above and beyond to search and find us a king-size room for the remaining four nights we were at the Hotel.
We were amazed at the rate and the location compared to other hotels in the area. It is located smack in the center of Vancouver's entertainment district. It is close to restaurants, shops, nail and hair salons, food stores, etc. Everything you need is within walking distance and the bus system has service just as you step out of the hotel.
We are pleased to HIGHLY recommend this hotel and the special services of Mihaela and Sean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljbeinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one.

We appreciate the time taken in writing this review. It definitely put a big smile on all of our faces here at work! It's people like you that keep us motivated in providing great customer service.

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay. Call me directly and I will be glad to book you a room! It will be my personal pleasure to accommodate you both with us again!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is in a fantastic location, not too far from the train station and an easy walk from Yaletown (a really busy and popular restaurant/bar area). It was easily accessible and would be easy to get to Granville Island and back from there.

It is, indeed, a bit run-down. The hallways are the worst part -- musty-smelling and really ugly carpet -- but inside, the rooms are actually quite nice. The beds were very comfortable. The people working at the front desk were very nice, and happy to help, although they didn't seem terribly knowledgeable; there were several people correcting each other when I asked for information on local busses, and they were unable to help another customer who asked about fishing tours.

There were several downsides to the hotel, however. We requested a crib for our three-month-old and were brought a foldaway playpen (like a Pack'N'Play), which was fine, but we had to supply our own sheets for it.

We had made some special requests (like paying extra to have a very late check-in) which were only sort of accommodated, but I still felt like the staff were doing their best to help us. I think they were hampered by being a bit understaffed at the front desk, and not having good communication between each other and with the management.

The suite was fine, too, and we were very glad to have the dishes and the microwave. The TVs were quite nice, and the bathrooms were bright and nice.

Cleanlines was fine, no major problems, but there were definitely hairs on the windowsill and in the tub when we arrived.

Overall, it was absolutely fine for what we needed, and since we got a very good price for downtown Vancouver, I'm not going to complain. I would indeed recommend it to friends but only if they got a good price on it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackBeanSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanLalji, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Good Day! Thank you for your positive review for our hotel. We are pleased you got to stay with us especially after renovating all of our rooms. We are happy that you enjoyed our great location and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one.

I am glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms with our new flat screen LCD tvs, new bedding and carpets and extra amenities. Our building is a bit older and we are continuously making improvements as well as renovating any areas that need to be upgraded. Your feedback is very much appreciated!

Please come back and stay with us soon so that we can continue providing you with excellent customer service and a comfortable stay. We can always guarantee a clean & nice room, excellent service and a great price!

Sean Lalji
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing