We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Walkable to Stanley Park/Shopping area to the west and Chinatown to the east.

An older building but well maintained. Not much of other amenities.

Would stay again if all you need is a simple pleasant place to sleep at low cost.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuxandraRadulescu, General Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and would recommend it to anyone looking for good value, excellent staff and a great location. I will be returning again.

Room Tip: Rooms faciong the street may be noisy on weekends, particilarly during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuxandraRadulescu, General Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for the kind words and your continuing business. We look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We were recently married in Vancouver, BC - and had the privilege of staying at this hotel. Special kudos to Derrick Robinson - who made sure that our event was amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuxandraRadulescu, General Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Hello,

It has been our priviledge to be part of your special day! Wishing you a life of hapiness together.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and we hope to see you back in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Not much to say on this over than it was a great experience and certainly what you expect from a hotel of this level.

The rooms were great, got a free upgrade to a king size bed at no charge and they had all the amenities I needed. Restaurant attached was wonderful for breakfast. Didn't try it for any other meals.

Overall, wonderful and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeManager2, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Vancouver.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Nicci Best
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I booked through hotwire numerous times and have NEVER EVER had an issue, it even states on the hotiwre site "All rooms booked on Hotwire will accommodate the appropriate number of guests in each room, based on the total number of guests you provided and the number of rooms you requested" I booked a room - 2 adults 2 children and they were going to give me a 1 queen bed! I got quite upset, then they told me well we will have to charge you for an extra bed to upgrade you, after getting visibly upset they gave in, but the manager went and printed off some little paragraph from hotwire trying to tell me they are not held to any guarantees! So they had every right to give me whatever type of bed they had even if it was 4 people, even told me oh ya we have had 4 men having to stay in one bed. Then she went to say we use hotwire to get people to try out our hotel, i should of responded telling her well you try and fit 4 people into one queen bed they WON"T be coming back! duh! She then also told me well you should only use hotwire if its just one person not more than two. I told her i have never ever had an issue with any hotel ever and have booked with hotwire for a few years now. So just a warning, check out better bidding to narrow down where your hotel is going to be and stay far away from this one.
As well, smelled like horrible cleaner, especially in the hallways, rooms very small, carpets seemed dirty. Very noisy as well, couldn't sleep with the music playing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrispie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeManager2, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

HI there Ma'am,

I was the Manager that you spoke with.

How Hotwire works is just as they say in their commercial, you are getting the unsold rooms in the hotel. As stated in their terms of use section the room type that you reserve is not guaranteed but the hotel will do it's best to honour your needs upon arrival. On sold out nights such as the night of your stay, when your reservation is received as one queen bed and the hotel has guaranteed reservations for all rooms with 2 beds, unfortunately the guaranteed reservations receive priority. As the hotel is randomly provided to the guest in the bid section of Hotwire, Hotwire is used by many hotels to attract new guests. Hotwire is a great booking agent however to guarantee your needs we suggest booking directly with the hotel, any hotel.

Our housekeeping team is focusing on the cleanliness of the building. They have been working hard to control the odors mentioned by many reviewers by perfoming deep cleaning and maintenance throughout the building. We apologize if our cleaning products smell too strongly.

Sincerely,

Nicci Best
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is very good value for money, located in the entertainment district in downtown Vancouver. On arrival, the front manager, Nikki, was super vibrant, positive, smilry, helpful and energetic. This set the tone for my four days at the hotel.
The rooms are reasonable and I had requested a quiet room (having read other reviews) and didnt have any noise issues. For the price, my room was to a good standard, containing two double beds.
Others have commented about safety. I do not think this was a concern at all. The area is bustling with lots of bars and clubs nearby (some good, some rubbish!) but the issue of homeless people is a general issue in Vancouver. It is something you get used to, and does not present a threat, but clearly not well managed by the government. On the whole, thank you!

Room Tip: If you are not partying, ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyYazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeManager2, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear Mr. D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was such a pleasure to meet you and I'm happy to have been a positive part of your visit to Vancouver.

Please stay with us again should you return.

Sincerely,

Nicci Best
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights and although the rooms are slightly smaller than what I am used to, the bedding was extremely comfortable, it had a spacious bathroom with a good shower, and the free wifi worked really well for the entire time. No need to log in or use any password as you just click on the hotels wifi and it loads.

This is an older hotel which has been refurbished right in the heart of all the buzz and life of central Vancouver. An easy walk to anything, with a good supermarket (Safeway) not far away on Davie Street. The room also had a flat screen 32 inch tv with a good selection of channels.

The hotel is very handy to public transport and a bus stop right outside the hotel. We had a rental car for part of the stay with onsite parking available at $15 per night. The parking metres in the area run from 9am until 10pm and only cost $2 per hour with plenty of free parking spaces after 7.00pm.

For the price paid, I would very much recommend this hotel for people who would rather spend their money on enjoying their holiday, rather than on costly hotel rooms which are only required as a base to sleep.

I found the staff very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning was to a very good standard.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeManager2, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments.

We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Nicci Best
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $87 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing