We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 7, 2006

The room was very clean and the size decent but it was way too expensive for what we received. The air conditioner didn't work well at all, we were quite hot and this was in April. I can't imagine what it would have been like in July. The rooms were a decent size but the beds were very uncomfortable. The better features are it's location (just two blocks from Robson and really close the the seawall), the free shuttle to downtown locations and the free continental breakfast. I feel I can get a comparable room for much cheaper than we paid here (189/night for 4 people). We probably could have paid a few more dollars and gotten a really nice room at a luxury hotel down the street!

Thank Michimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2006

The hotel location was really great. I enjoyed walking around downtown.
Although the hotel itself is pretty small and not new, but the room is neat, the bathroom is crean.
Since I don't see many US hotels use comforters, I was so happy to sleep using a comforter. It was so warm and comfortable.
And they also provide an umbrella in the closet. It was rainning sometimes, so the umbrella was very useful.
The vallet parking is pretty expensive, $15 per day.
And the front desk person charged us more than it was supposed to be.
We soon noticed his mistake, and he corrected it though.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanako M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We were very pleased with our stay at this Day's Inn. Location is great for touring. We rented a car for part of our stay and used mass transit for the other part only having to walk a block for connections. The hotel is walking distance to a variety of eating places and we will definitely stay here again. Our continental breakfast included fresh pastries that melted in your mouth and every morning the staff asked us how we were and went out of their way to be friendly.

We stayed for seven nights and the housekeeping staff treated us like old friends and the front desk staff was exceptionally helpful when we asked for directions or information on where to eat. The decor is well done and houskeeping very clean. If you are looking for a water or mountain view, you need to stay somewhere besides downtown. There are very few hotels in the downtown area that offer views of much more than buildings. You won't find a better location or value for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

After 12 exhausting hours of travel from the east coast of the U.S., our party of two couples in their 70's arrived at the Days Inn to be blatantly turned away, despite making reservations 3 months in advance and having reconfirmed the 4 night-reservation twice before arrival. The Mgr conveniently left early that day and put the uncomfortable burden of telling us there were no rooms available upon a young assistant, who did offer us accommodation at a sister hotel in the far-westside of Vancouver. Despite our dismay, there was no give and we ended up having to stay far away from our carefully chosen downtown location; this caused much wasted and tiring time reaching sightseeing sites. Don't take a risk - go somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2005
7  Thank loparm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2005

We chose this hotel on our first Canada holiday because of its situation, which is right in Downtown on a busy street. Rather old hotel. Room was rather small and notwithstanding the fact that I had reserved a room with more than one window and with a view, we got one with one small window only and no view at all. However the bed was Kingsize. Noisy airco. Staff helpfull but not over friendly. Frustrating was the breakfast special we had booked. We expected to get a free breakfast but "breakfast special" means that you can eat for $ 7,50 and above that you have to pay. Considering the prices, you won't get a lot for $ 7,50, so breakfast is not free at all. I made a comments about this "marketing-trick" but reaction of the staff was poor. Won't go again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The hotel is in a good location, within a couple of hundred yards of the Canada Centre. A number 19 trolley bus takes you directly to Stanley park. Most of the downtown attractions and eateries are within easy walking distance. The hotel is popular – it was full during our stay.

The rooms are very small, no room to swing a cat. Ours had one double bed. Our window overlooked a concrete wall some 6 feet away, and virtually no natural light entered the room. The air conditioner was too noisy to use, however the room wasn’t too warm. The hotel has only one small lift, which also doubles a as a service lift for the porter, so it was very heavily used. Cleanliness was excellent.

The little man on reception wasn’t over friendly, but all the other staff were helpful.

I think the rates are expensive for what you get. We paid $160 CDN per night for our room, weekend in August 2005.

We had breakfast in the restaurant one day, which served nice food, although expensive. They don’t do a buffet.

7  Thank gazzeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2004

There is nothing to this hotel besides its location. Very small rooms (think a queen bed and just a little room to walk around it). Mine was also very noisy, on a corner, door by door with another room... woke up everytime the neighbors opened/closed their door. Oh, and the window -- a tiny one facing a grey grey wall, so I needed to turn the light on even on the day it was sunny outside. I was on a conference, and people staying in the surrounding hotels were paying more (+$70 per night) but the rooms were huge (compared to mine at least), nice windows, swimming pools etc...
Will never stay here again.

3  Thank ElenaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
942 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $89 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing