We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and convenience in a friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
seattle, washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location and convenience in a friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location. My husband was attending a conference at the new Convention Center next to Canada Place. The conference rate at their chosen hotel was double the cost of Days Inn, and the walk was very short and easy. We first stayed on the top floor at the front of the building, in a room that was very clean but also very tired. The sink was so ancient that the pop-up plug had died of metal fatigue years before, so the drain's open maw threatened to swallow the cap of my toothpaste tube, or a piece of jewelry. I kept the rubber plug provided perched over the hole. At some point in the past, the water supply to the shower had leaked and caused water damage to the floor of the bedroom, causing there to be a "soft" depression underneath the carpet that gave me the shivers whenever I stepped into it. The staff had parked the refrigerator right next to it, so this happened more than you would guess. And lastly, the room was small and awkward. Only one side of the bed had room for a lamp and night table. The top floor is also where the laundry is located, and there was a rattling of the doors that reminded me of the spin cycle on my High Efficiency washing machine at home. Hotels do a lot of laundry, so it was almost constant during the day. Than a loud talker moved into the room next door, and I asked the front desk when that guest might be checking out. The clerk immediately offered me another room, gave me a key so I could look at it before deciding, and made it all so easy! The new room was on an airshaft, which meant I could open the window and not hear bar stragglers calling to each other in the wee hours of the morning. The heat and a/c units are very efficient, but noisy, so I liked this outcome. There were no "construction defects" in the new room on the seventh floor. The front desk offers exchange rate between dollars Canadian and dollars US, without a commission or fee, which was great. Although most every shop has been willing to take US currency, most have charged for it. As for location, easy walk to a Pharmasave where they have milk, juice, soda, and snacks. A couple blocks further takes you to an IGA Marketplace.The attached restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch strikes me as very mediocre and expensive. But the pub next door is excellent. We stayed for a week, and ended up eating most of our meals there. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Amtrak station and if you arrange it ahead of time, you can get a ride to other downtown locations of your choice. And lastly, the bus to Stanley Park and the Aquarium could not be more convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you, very much for staying with us while your husband attended the conference at the new Vancouver Convention Centre.
Our room rates are moderately priced than the convention hotels, and the best part is that we are only a very short and easy walk.
I really appreciate your valued comments, and will advise the maintenance department to look into the issues you have brought to our attention. Although some of our rooms may be small, we have lot to offer including a convenient location, safe environment..
I am very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and very helpful, and that makes the guest feel more comfortable staying with us.

Our hotel is in the right location to stay to go sightseeing, shopping or restaurants, and any other places.

Once again thank you, very much for the review, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    430
    313
    127
    61
See reviews for
208
348
131
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

a nice clean hotel with great friendly staff. Room was a little small. this hotel is very close to the cruise ship terminal and is with in walking distance to almost anything you would want to do. unfortunately they do not offer an airport shuttle but do have a shuttle that will take you around the city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time out your busy schedule to write a very positive review about our hotel on your recent stay with us.
I do agree 100% with you that our rooms are small, as the hotel was built in 1914 and in that period small rooms made.
Over the years we have done many renovations, and one thing we could not do was increase the size of the rooms, but keep the European feel of the hotel and rooms.
Our location is our great asset , close by the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal, Vancouver Convention Centre , many restaurants and shopping near by.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent position. Bedroom and bathroom adequate but pricy. Quite acceptable for one or two nights. No view - only on to brick wall. Easy walking everywhere. Close to hop on hop off and trolley buses. Numerous restaurants around. Good food court around the corner downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review about our hotel, and we are very pleased with the acommodations that was provided.
Yes the famous brick wall, unfortunatley when the hotel was built 1914 it had beautiful view of the city and the water, and over the last decade talls buildings have been around us, and thus we have no view at all.
I must say that we have great location, with all the restaurants, shopping and all the places for sight seeing close by.
Thank you, once again we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent location and service by the hotel staff - would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank DenverUSVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay us.
We really apprecaite the positive comment, and you were quite please with your stay.

Thank you, once again and we hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was the perfect place for our family. The room size was just right and all the great amenities were perfect. The staff were all wonderful and helped us with directions, recommended restaurants and were always friendly and smiling, this hotel is well managed and has a lot to be proud of. Great location, too. Right between Gastown and Stanley Park. Awesome!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleEyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a very positive a review, about our hotel.

I am very pleased that you found our rooms very comfortable , and the staff very friendly, and they were there to help you with all your need.

Our hotel's best asset is its location, and we are convenient for so many activities from Canada Place to sighting seeing to Gastown.

Once again thank you, for a very good review about our hotel, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
835 reviews
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
519 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing