We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in early Sept. The hotel is central, clean and has decent sized rooms and reasonably priced... indeed they upgraded us to a very large room on top (8th floor) - no view but that was ok. The room was spotless , beds comfy, came with fridge and coffee maker.
Bathroom was well appointed. Being on top floor the water pressure/temp was not the best.
Oh, our air-conditioner didn't work but as you could open windows and get fresh air ( lovely) we didn't bother to even mention it to hotel. The location was great for touring Stanley Park, Canada Place, Gastown and we could easily find within short walk some great restaurants .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you, very much for your recent stay with us, and we are very pleased that you found our accommodation very clean and spotless, and comfortable.

We wish you had called the front desk, regarding your air-condition, and we would have advised you that the a/c will only work if the windows are closed the reason being to save the energy, and that is why it did not work.

Our asset is our location, being close to Canada Place, Gastown, and the Stanley Park.

Thank you, again for your review about our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    430
    313
    127
    61
See reviews for
208
348
131
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We picked this hotel pre-cruise for its proximity to Canada Place,Gastown and downtown shuttle.It was comfortable,clean.But let me warn you,the Bathrooms are more roomy than the rooms:))The Breakfast was included and what a breakfast!!!The elevator was tiny and always busy.
overall a good value for money....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyforbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we very pleased that you found our hotel to be quite pleasant, and you had a good stay with us.

Our hotel's best asset is its location, and we are convenient for so many activities from Canada Place to sighting seeing to Gastown.

Yes I do agree with you that our elevator is small as the hotel was built in 1918, and only 1 elevator was installed, and that is why it is always busy, and I wish we could install 1 more elevator but unfortunately, we do not have the space to do so.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This Days Inn is located in the busy part of Downtown Vancouver. You may not realize where it is on W. Pender Street as it just looks like a normal business building amongst other business buildings. As someone from the States, it was a little confusing on how to actually stop and check-in. Turns out the designated curb area in front of the property is a passenger loading zone so you can stop there and check-in (even with busy traffic). Parking for the property is certainly not convenient as the lot is a few blocks away so make sure that you've cleared out any baggage while you are at the loading zone first otherwise you'll have to wheel it with you back from the parking lot.

The Days Inn itself is definitely outdated and there is only one elevator so it can be very busy in the mornings during checkout time. The rooms could stand to use some updating but overall it is in okay condition. The bathrooms are fairly clean as well. We had a queen sized bed and a sleeper sofa which accomodated our family of 3 adults and 2 smaller children (8 and 5 years old). The two rooms were nice to have as there were two televisions in each room so we could each watch different programming while we were winding down our days. There is a lot of noises from loud birds in the mornings.

There is a restaurant in the basement of the Days Inn which serves breakfast and lunch. Some packages from the hotel may include breakfast coverage so check to see if your reservations do include that.

The hotel is convenient to places within the Downtown area such as the Canada Place waterfront area, Gastown, and the main Downtown area. You can certainly walk around there. If you are looking at visiting things such as the Capilano suspension bridge or Grouse Mountain, consider walking the two blocks to Canada Place and taking advantage of the free shuttles to those areas by buying your tickets from one of the vendors. It will save you the hassle of having to drive through Vancouver.

Overall, it's a basic place to stay with some inconvenient off-property parking but convenient to walking to things that could get you around town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you, for your recent stay, and taking the time of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel, and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We appreciate your concern about the parking lot being away few blocks away from the hotel, as all our guest do not know this that the hotel was built in 1918 and in those day there was no need for underground parking. and that is the reason we donot have onsite parking, or the space to build a parking lot.

The same goes for the elevator, the owners in 1918 had installed 1 elevator, and we wish they installed 2 or more elevators, who would have known that this hotel would be a busy place next to the cruise ship terminal, and in the heart of the financial district.

As we are located in downtown, we are sorry that we cannot control the Vancouver's Sea Gulls.

Thank you, for sharing your recent experience with us, and hotel's best assets is its location, and convenient for so many activites from conferences to cruises to sightseeing.

I am glad your family, and you enjoyed our hotel, and our guest rooms.
Thanks again for writing a review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location was perfect, as I was arriving from a cruise and wanting to see as much of the city as possible in two days. The manager (Ish), Shuttle driver (Bill) and front desk staff (especially Violet) were incredibly helpful, friendly and kind (which was greatly appreciated since I was traveling alone). I enjoyed the historic, quaint property and respect how they have done the absolute best they can with the space. The cold, filtered water on floors 4 and 6 was delicious and there are bottles of water in the frig when you arrive. The TV screen with an updated status of all of the airport departures. I didn't feel the room was too small and I loved the ventilation, bedding and bed...so comfortable. They called a cab for me and it arrived shortly after 4 am! I received two wake-up calls to help me and shuttle driver, Bill, was kind enough to take me back to the port so I could pick up my last suitcase. Ish went above and beyond to help me enjoy the city in only two days; he was professional, yet funny and charming. I loved my time there and would definitely stay there again due to the value, outstanding service and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from ice or elevator; it worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradylizann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review that you wrote of our hotel! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had pleasant encounters with all of our staff. We could not have described a perfect stay at our hotel better than you have - that is indeed our intent for all of our guests and I am so pleased that we met your expectations. Although we do have limitations being a historic property, we have done the best that we can to create an environment for our guests that is clean, comfortable and offers tremendous value. Our simple but appreciated gestures like free downtown shuttle and free bottled and filtered water are just some of the ways that we try to bring enhanced value to all of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and our charming staff look forward to welcoming you back to our charming property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

never again will I stay in a days inn! so ok the location was great and the price for reasonable.
However, the size of the room was tiny and very outdated. Coupled with the noise of the ice machine and some nesting birds on the window sill outside, it was dreadful nights sleep!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is a European style boutique hotel located within one of Vancouver's historic heritage buildings. The size of our guest rooms reflect this. While our hotel will not appeal to all travellers, we do our best to ensure that each and every guest stay is satisfying by offering additional value added touches like complimentary bottled water, complimentary wireless internet, and a free downtown shuttle combined with our unbeatable location. It is our hope that our location, great service and other amenities will compensate for the size of our rooms. It is important to note that not all of our guest rooms are small and if you bring this issue to the attention of the front desk, we will always do our best to block you into a room that suits your needs whether that means finding a larger room or a room away from the ice machine. Unfortunately, however, we are located downtown and we cannot control Vancouver's sea gulls. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

ny
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent a night in Vancouver after our Alaskan cruise. This hotel was very close to where the ship docked and was convenient to Gastown. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. It suited our needs just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibfinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our convenient location and comfortable guest rooms. While our rooms are on the smaller side, our great service, great location and value added touches like free wireless internet, free bottled water and a free downtown shuttle service more than make up for any inconvenience caused by the size of our guest rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you on a future trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at the Days Inn Vancouver while attending a research conference this past April and overall I was disappointed in what I was getting for as much as I had to pay. At nearly $300 per night split between 3 people, we got a shoebox of a room. Sure, wi-fi was included, but it was seriously a joke trying to sleep even TWO people in there WITHOUT the roll-away bed we requested. It's in a decent location, but even so it was just as expensive as the other hotels nearby. Also, the breakfast in the hotel was absurdly overpriced. I also had to complain because the bedding wasn't changed on my bed for two days until I said something. I got stuck with this option because the person booking our trip missed the reservations for the other available hotels. If you are willing to walk a couple extra blocks, just stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraylene86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is in a heritage building and was designed as a European boutique style hotel. The size of our guest rooms reflects this. While we certainly appreciate the discomfort this may cause some guests, we find that most of our guests are satisfied with our rooms for the short duration of their stay especially combined with our location that is unbeatable. While we do our best to block guests into a room that will satisfy their expectations, this can be a challenge when the hotel is operating at high occupancy and we have limited flexibility. But rest assured that when these issues are brought to the attention of our staff, we do the best that we can to relocate our guests to a room that is a comfortable size for their stay. In regards to housekeeping, I am very sorry for the oversight on the part of our housekeeping staff. This is certainly not a standard in our hotel and I will speak with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that this oversight does not happen in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
833 reviews
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#40 of 92 in Vancouver
515 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing