We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We had a very bad experience staying there. Problems with the check-in, very unhelpful staff, a very bad smell all over, the airco was like 30 yrs old and didn't cool, the bathroom and the room itself were very small, and last but not least: you can hear EVERYTHING that happens in the rooms nextdoor!! Really a terrible experience, by far the worst in our 16-day stay in Canada...

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — The noise in the room from the rooms nextdoor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianCousine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2008
All guests are required to have valid ID and valid credit card in order to check into the Hotel. These two have to match. Hotel staff is not able to check in guests who have somebody elses credit card. In order to use somebody elses credit card, we need authorization form filled up, allowing us to use this credit card. Unfortunately we are not able to do this over the phone. Everything needs to be pre-arranged and we need that in writing. We are trying to protect ourselves as much as we are trying to protect the owner of the credit card. There are lot's of credit card scams happening and you can never be too careful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    160
    166
    86
    99
See reviews for
90
192
96
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Wonderful time at this Hotel in Downtown Vancouver , the staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help, definately stay again. The Manager is very helpful and also works on reception whenever needed, EXCELLENT !!!

  • Liked — Staff and Very Clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EdMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel in Downtown Vancouver twice in May, we had a wonderful time, the staff are excellent and the level of cleanliness is outstanding, the beds were very clean and lovely white sheets and pillow, the towels of which there were plenty were soft and clean, will definately stay again. The Manager is extremely helpful and is always there to make sure all is well,

  • Liked — The friendlyness of all staff, the Value for money but most of all the cleanliness,
  • Disliked — Some of the other guests that refused to follow rules, but the Manager Quickly put it right
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EvelynAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2008

My husband and I travelled by train from Toronto to Vancouver and stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. We had a wonderful stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and we quickly became friendly with the cleaning staff. We could not have asked for a more friendly bunch of people. You are only about 2 blocks from the high-end shops and streets. For the good value we got, we certainly didn't mind walking for 3 minutes. A washer and dryer were also available for travellers which was absolutely wonderful.

The other hotels that were right in the same area (within half a block) were priced at sometimes double and more for what we got at this hotel. I was actually surprised when I saw that they were right on the same block and twice as much money.

We definitely will go back and are planning our next trip for 2009. The room was so nice that we are going to ask for the same one again.

Bravo to the hotel and cleaning staff for making our vacation so nice and relaxing.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bundyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel with our two teenage daughters for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and newly remodeled. I would recommend this hotel for those who want to stay downtown on a budget.

Neighborhood was a bit noisy at night because of night club district close by, but we felt safe.

  • Liked — Room clean and nice beds
  • Disliked — location a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank godomica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This hotel's location is both good & bad. The good is it really is in Vancouver's city center, so everything in the city is close at hand. The bad is that this part of Granville St. is seedy, with a lot of sketchy people wandering around. Hotel parking is limited and not supervised. The price seemed fair for a downtown hotel.

The hotel staff were not particularly friendly when I made our reservation, nor when we checked in. We had reserved a dog-friendly room. At check-in I was asked to sign the usual paperwork for having a pet. The paper stated that I would provide a kennel for my dog. I told the desk that I did not have a kennel and was not told of this requirement when I made the reservation. They did not have a kennel either, and they did not make a big deal of the requirement.

Our dog-friendly room was on the first floor above a restaurant/nightclub and a construction site in the middle of Granville St. The room itself was adequate, but if we had not had industrial-grade earplugs it would have been a nightmare.

  • Liked — Centrally located.
  • Disliked — Being right above a restaurant/nighclub and major construction site.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RavTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Williams Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Two words.....BED BUGS!!!! My sister and I stayed one night at this hotel while on an overnight business trip to Vancouver. We were disappointed in the overall appearance of the hotel and the front desk staff were not helpful. The morning after, I discovered small red bumps on my arms, back, and buttox. During the day they continued to swell and the next day, they were the size of a loonie with pussy centers. I go off to the doctor, who sends me to a dermatologist, who diagnoses the painful, itchy swelling as an allergic reaction to BED BUG BITES. Disgusting.. I have a call into the hotel manager who has not yet called me back and front end staff were not helpful on the phone. So save yourself time off work, expensive medications, and body pain and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellots1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojovan, general manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2008
After the guest left she phoned us and told us what happened, we called pest control company right away, but we did not find any activity or any previous activity of bed bugs in this room. Not sure where she actually stayed before or after, but she definetely did not get that here. I also have a report from the company that checked my room, please let me know where do you want me to send it to, and I will.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
1,726 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
96 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in busy entertainment district, surrounded by bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Standard rooms do not have fridges or microwaves. No parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing