We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I've stayed here a few times while visiting Vancouver, and have no complaints at all...a reasonably priced hotel in downtown van...don't expect 5-star, 'cause that's not what they offer. Decent rooms/beds, in room wi-fi (a wee bit slow), very good house-keeping.

Numerous restaurants within walking distance, so whatever your taste, you'll find it!

You are downtown, so do expect "downtown noise:" the front rooms have a better view, but are noisier, back rooms vice versa - it's your call.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    158
    159
    85
    94
See reviews for
86
187
93
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
292 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were awake until after 3:30 a.m. because of street noise. The previous reviewer clearly didn't have my experience, because I realize it's a busy area but it was louder than a club. Outside our window a few stories down at 3:30 a.m. there was a party bus parked for over half an hour blasting rap music louder than in a lot of clubs I've been in. It was completely unbelievable. I was awakened even through earplugs, having the a/c on high and the bathroom fan on - all of which were necessary to block out street noise. Even with all those things, you could still hear people yelling and screaming and partying all night, not to mention the loud music. My parents had an interior room and slept better than we did though they had loud neighbors. If you plan on partying late and need to be in this area, it's the place for you. Otherwise, I'd stay elsewhere if you want to get to sleep before 4 a.m. on a weekend. Location was convenient with lots of restaurants and shops. Bed was comfy and the shower, t.v., and wifi were all fine.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the street unless you're sure to be out after 4am or can sleep through a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Galway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently and were very pleased with the location which is in the heart of the city. The room rate was excellent for the location.
The hotel is basic so if you are looking for a little bit of extra luxury then this is not for you. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for somewhere clean, reasonably priced and centrally located.
The only complaint I would have would have been the shower which was pretty useless.
The room itself was basic but very clean.....our room was quite dark but it didn't bother us.
I would recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid street noise....the girl on the front desk did advise us of this. Granville Street has lots of bars and clubs so it is quite noisy, so we took a room at the back of the hotel and had no late night noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Im writing this review because seriously some ppl. Are unreal !!!
I was send to Vancouver for training  I stayed at the Howard Johnson  for 10 days and believe it or not I had no complains whatsoever !!!
But what I really wanna say it's ppl. Get real !!!  And stop bordering  people I had to wait for 10 min listening to This lady one day she booked online and she didn't read the extra charges of the hotel ???? Parking it's extra ?? The lady at fd showed her their online info. Clear ??? No of couse not she wanted to bla bla bla about it, why? Your own fault lady !!! Other day another lady complaining and wanted a free room because the noise of the street??? Don't you realize you are In downtown, you want it quite ? Go to surrey or to west Vancouver you will find quite !!!! Stop making some other ppl life miserable, if you life already is..... well deal with it !! But don't blame nobody !!! 
Here it's the reality :
Hotel has a great location, but yeah you are in the entertainment district ,  you can ask for a room on the inside of the hotel (...... I did)
The hotel it's clean ...... more that I expected to be !!! 
The staff of the hotel it's really accessible and they are really helpful.
And the price ...... Couldn't find any other better price !!! In downtown
Your picky and have big expectations !!!  Go to sutton place hotel, but don't expect to pay $59.00 for a room ......get real !!! 
This is a nice , clean, and budget hotel !!  I recommend it !!! 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracymontreal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is a great location for visiting Vancouver but it can be noisy with thumping music coming from some unidentifiable place and inter-room noise was significant on occasions. When the disco wasn't on and my neighbours were quiet then the bed was fantastically comfortable. Staff were understanding....but no discount for the noise!They told me next time to ring them but its hard to get up and do that when you just hope it will stops.There was a smell of cheap air freshner in the corridor but not so in the room. I'd go back if I had to stay in that area again but with earplugs ready.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room -it may help
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdayPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We got this last minute the day before and it was very cheap so I guess you get what you pay for. Very basic room with a somewhat uncomfortable bed but for the price no complaints. The area is pretty lively at night so avoid if that sort of thing bothers you. It's very close to all the places you might want to see in Downtown so we didn't spend too much time in the Hotel except to sleep.
The staff were helpful and friendly. I'd recommend it if you need a budget hotel for a night or two in the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddomeggeddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Christchurch
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel while in transit to Victoria. The hotel felt worn and tired, the room was cold and poorly equipped. I was woken in the night to what sounded like a mouse scratching or eating something (the noise stopped when I would switch on the light). The front desk staff were perfunctory in the their approach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerchantAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Vancouver
Vancouver Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing