We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Oru Cuisine - CLOSED

Oru Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard Street
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were invited to Oru for dinner with a group of friends. It was our first ever visit to this very cosy and modern looking restaurant. All of us enjoyed every choice of meals selected. The wine and drinks were excellent. I would recommend to try the spicy corn chowder, poached coconut lobster, sable fish and risotto. We will definitely go back. Compliments to the chef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    92
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try it for sure”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is on the expensive side for some but the food and atmosphere is great. If you have a few friends with you, expect the bar bill to be on the high side.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GundaG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great gluten free options”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was really impressed that the regular menu had all the dishes that were gluten free and vegan already marked so there was no guessing about what I could eat. There are actually only a few dishes that have gluten in them so there was a lot of choices. The serving portions are not huge but I found that it was enough for me. There are not many restaurants I can go to and choose between multiple appetizers, main, and dessert options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Ambience. Location at pearl harbour was magnificent. Food was diverse. And each course was brought out with good timing. Good for group or dates!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarisseramos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and trendy ambience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Oru is a great alternative to Coast or Black & Blue. Sleek elegant location overlooking the Vancouver Convention Center, the water and Canada Place. Great menu with a good selection on seafood and meat. The seafood tower had fresh mussels, clams, oysters, lobster, crab and sashimi and was delicious! They also have a vegan, lo carb, macrobiotic, diabetic menu which is awesome. We had filet mignon Oscar and lobster and short rib main course which was excellent. The only negative was the price of the cocktails and wine. The wines were marked up a ridiculous amount, starting at around 80.00 for a bottle you could find at the liquor store for 20-25 dollars. They have a great selection of Okanagan wines. We enjoyed lemon tart and ginger cheesecake for desert. Overall a great restaurant for a special dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oru Cuisine also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing