We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oru Cuisine - CLOSED

Oru Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard Street
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I went there with my family yesterday for Vancouver dine out 2013. At first it was hard to find the entrance to the restaurant but when we get in, it was a beautiful place to eat. The hotel was gorgeous. The food was pretty good, except for the cheese dessert that I don't really like. However, the hostess was nice enough to let me change it to lemon tart instead. I had the duck& rabbit for appetizer, risotto for entree, and lemon tart for dessert. I also tried my parents beef and lobster. Didn't really like the lobster though. I would come back for special occasion for sure. Very nice environment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowwiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    92
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A perfect place to get away from it all but still be in your hometown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Living in Vancouver, there are many restaurants but this hotel restaurant is not what it appears to be....for locals, few would venture to this 'tourist' spot but stepping into Oru, you do not feel like you are in Vancouver, the room is big, but comfy and the views are gorgeous. Service was attentive and menu vast with multicultural options which for lunch on a busy weekday, is nice. Everyone from the doorman to welcome you into the hotel, to the washroom attendant were so warm and friendly....would definitely be coming back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMH6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were excited to try Oru. Since it opened a few years ago, the restaurant has had a make over and it looks great. Its a modern yet warm atmosphere. Love the color scheme and ambiance. We ordered crab salad, the sushi sashimi platter & filet mignon oscar. Well, the crab salad was over battered and a bit heavy. I couldn't really taste the delicate crab meat. The sushi was very average. The filet mignon arrived cold. It was actually very tasty, but a little difficult to eat because it was actually cold! With so many amazing restaurants in Vancouver, us Vancouverites are a bit spoiled and look for perfection in our food. Oru was not perfect. It wasn't amazing or great; it was in a word...good. However, I must add after we told our waitress about the steak, she did take a $85 bottle of wine off our bill. If the quality of food improves, Im sure Oru will be a huge success.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star quality and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate at Oru on Jan 18 - my second time at this downtown Vancouver gem. Each time, my entire dinner party was impressed with the flawless 5-star service and culinary experience - Appealing wine list, and deliciously prepared creative dishes of generous proportions. Go on, treat yourself. You will be thankful you did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwivelBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Creative Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Love this place. The decor is very spacious and airy, with high ceilings and window. The menu is predominantly seafood, and the selection is vast and varied. Each of the seafood selections chosen by members of our group were devoured. The steaks are cooked to perfection. Best of all, the menu contains a lemon dessert, constructed of at least four different elements, each with different textures (merengue and gels), which in combination are sheer perfection. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oru Cuisine also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing