We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth visiting”

Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.04*
and up
Private Tour: Gardens of Vancouver
Ranked #36 of 349 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An oasis of tranquility in an otherwise bustling Chinatown, Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden is the first ever Chinese garden built outside of China and is a model of a Ming Dynasty scholar's home. It is a non-profit organization connecting cultures & communities through festivals, live music, art exhibits, theatre, education & wellness programs.In 2011, the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Chinese Garden was named one of the "Top Ten City Gardens" in the world by National Geographic in their publication "Secret Journeys of a Lifetime".
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth visiting”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Tours every half hour or so tell the story of the garden and interpret for visitors some of the symbolism in the design and materials. Tour definitely worth it as one would miss a lot of interesting things otherwise. Yes, the garden is small as others note, but the attention to detail is also great and not to be passed quickly. I first visited the Sun Yat-Sen garden about 20 years ago and it is nice to see how it has evolved, plants matured, and harmony achieved.
While there is a free public garden on half of the site, visitors there miss the most interesting and best decorated areas, not to mention the tours.
When there, ask for recommendations for lunch in Chinatown. There are several popular Chinese restaurants within a block or two.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    381
    190
    73
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
196 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“small but beautiful garden”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The De. Sun Yat-Sen Garden in Vancouver consists of two parts: one is accessible for free and located on Carall Street around a small pond. The design is beautiful with many carefully designed details and nice views, especially in autumn.

The other part, just right of the "free" entrance lies around the same pond, just on the other side and includes several buildings: a main courtyard with several corridors, a water pavilion
and small rooms.
There is also a small selections of bonsai trees and a lot of Tai Hu rocks, fantastically shaped rock formations.

The entrance fee for this part is extremely high for the small area, we pages the reduces "family" fee for 25Can$.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JunM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We paid into the courtyard side and then found out that there was a free public side, however I'm glad we did both. The courtyard has some nice, brief information on the house and gardens, and the thought and design process that went into their planning. The public side is really just a small public park, although it did seem to be the side where all the pond fish were hanging out!

Helpful?
Thank Marketeer83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Judge Dee - an hour and a half I can never get back. :-)”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was so disappointed. I scare pretty easily but it was a literally a walk in the park, when the person at the last act said the exit is to the right I thought they were kidding. How is that scary? Not one person jumped out, sometimes you couldn't see the act because there were too many people. Oh man, should have done the dunbar house like last year, now that was scary!!!!

1 hour in line and 24 bucks for 2 people. Ugh!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanchinesegarden, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed and will share your feedback with our partner, Seven Tyrants Theatre Society, who produced the show.
We would love for you to give us another try as we hold events all year round.

Many thanks you for your feedback.
Mirjana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very overrated! Would have been better off to visit the free/public side. It was small, not well kept and a waste of my 10$.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annieo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing