We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judge Dee - an hour and a half I can never get back. :-)”

Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.72*
and up
Private Tour: Gardens of Vancouver
More Info
$246.81*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City and Gardens Tour
More Info
$72.95*
and up
A Wok Around Chinatown: Culinary and Cultural Walking Tour
Ranked #37 of 351 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: **The Garden pond is undergoing restoration until the early summer of 2017** An oasis of tranquility in an otherwise bustling Chinatown, Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden is the first ever Chinese garden built outside of China and is a model of a Ming Dynasty scholar's home. It is a non-profit organization connecting cultures & communities through festivals, live music, art exhibits, theatre, education & wellness programs.In 2011, the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Chinese Garden was named one of the "Top Ten City Gardens" in the world by National Geographic in their publication "Secret Journeys of a Lifetime".
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Judge Dee - an hour and a half I can never get back. :-)”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was so disappointed. I scare pretty easily but it was a literally a walk in the park, when the person at the last act said the exit is to the right I thought they were kidding. How is that scary? Not one person jumped out, sometimes you couldn't see the act because there were too many people. Oh man, should have done the dunbar house like last year, now that was scary!!!!

1 hour in line and 24 bucks for 2 people. Ugh!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanchinesegarden, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed and will share your feedback with our partner, Seven Tyrants Theatre Society, who produced the show.
We would love for you to give us another try as we hold events all year round.

Many thanks you for your feedback.
Mirjana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    400
    203
    81
    45
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very overrated! Would have been better off to visit the free/public side. It was small, not well kept and a waste of my 10$.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annieo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth visiting but only if you time it for the tour”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The tour was fascinating. Learned all about ying and yang symbolism and Chinese culture in the making and use of the gardens. But without the tour the gardens would be too small to really warrant the admission price. Guide was excellent and we enjoyed the hot Chinese tea at the end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittenandTinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was oversold as the place to see in China Town. The Gardens were very Nice, but not super as we were told they were supposed to be. Perhaps I was expecting more of a place like Tiger Balm Gardens in Hong Kong, but this is a very nice little park around a cute lagoon. Very large big carp live in the lagoon and they are great to see. The grounds are not as lush and green as I expected, more rundown and in need of good grounds keeping in my opinion. In fact this entire Chinatown is not very clean and in need of general sprucing up.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Nice Lesson in Chinese Culture”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Guys are not supposed to enjoy this type of activity right? Wrong. At least for this guy who was invited to tag along with my lovely lady who has a green thumb and an impressive knowledge of things that grow from the earth. We rode bikes from the hotel through the busy streets into Vancouver's China Town. When we arrived we opted for the guided tour. One of the staff urged us to park our bikes inside the office for safekeeping. A very thoughtful touch! While the gardens were beautiful the tour added a great deal to understanding the underlying rhyme and reason of the entire complex. Every part of the gardens, and all of the accompanying structures was placed just so to artfully express Chinese culture. Our docent was pleasant, patient and full of knowledge that he shared with grace and humor. Maybe because I possess no skill at nurturing plants I have a better appreciation of those gentle souls who have those skills in abundance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing