We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many fire alarms and condoms in the mini bar :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too many fire alarms and condoms in the mini bar :(”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Have stayed here 3 times on business and pleasure. Location is good - v. close to Granville Island and short walk to Downtown. There were 2 or 3 fire alarms (full evacuation of the hotel) in a 4 day stay and the mini bar, in addition to the usual drinks + snacks included condoms. I wouldn't stay again with family and dislike the implication as a business traveller. Will try a different Holiday Inn next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAtkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Mr. Atkin, Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that because of the minibar products you will stay elsewhere. The minibar is locked, so that no-one (ie:kids) can go into it without parental control. We stock amenities such as Advil, Zantac, pantyhose and other personal supplies because these are the things people forget and need when travelling. We are at a loss to explain the fire alarms, as there were none in November or December. The building next door had a fire alarm in December, and the hotel did Fire Safety Tests in December, but there were signs posted everywhere and no evacuation or any other action were required. Please feel free to contact me directly with more information.
Thank you, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    401
    242
    73
    54
See reviews for
209
306
87
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Location of the property was great, close to everything, and the price was right! Was upgraded on arrival, and taken great care of by the staff. The staff all seemed kind, and as if they enjoyed their jobs. The room was verfy comfortable, bed was super comfortable, made for great sleep. Can't beat what Holiday Inn is doing to their brand, great value, free internet, comfortable, well maintained, if not renovated rooms. Room service food was delivered quickly and hot, and the staff was kind. Food was good too. I travel a lot, and at the end of the day, want a hot shower, comfortable bed and good room service, and Holiday Inn Vancouver provides just that. Not to mention the well equipped fitness room, and comp parking. I always stay here, and will be back again in March 2011.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DofSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
"Mahalo" for the kind words. A great number of our staff have been with us for many years, so we really feel like a family here. A lot of our guests appreciate that warmth and genuine feeling they get when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in March.
Aloha - Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Comfortable large rooms . We had a business room on a higher level. Plenty of space - clean and comfortable. Wireless internet free but in the rooms not good service - had to go out into the hall and downstairs to see the AFL grand final - take 2!! Underage teenager so couldn't go to the sports bars - a true Collingwood supporter!! Great shopping streets near by. Hop on Hop Off bus a great way to see sights. Granville Island and Stanley PArk were great and could have spent more time if we had it. Breakfast not included but easy access to great places downtown. Restaurant OK at the Hotel. No complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for your posting. Once again, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great downtown location. We are in the process of replacing our internet system to ensure full access/feed capacity for all our guests, and in the future, feel free to watch the game from our lobby couch area that is not licensed and fully accessible to minors. Go Collingwood!

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

i stayed here with my mom and aunt for a short weekend. The location was located close to the ferry to grandville island and just 10 min away from the shopping centers downtown. The pool was deep which was nice but we had to call for towels. The sauna never got really hot either. The onsite restaurant was very good, but not wonderful. For breakfast i recommend going to the twisted fork around the corner but get there when it opens or you will have to wait.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opium05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. I was pleased to hear our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed the pool. We will look into ensuring the saunas are heating up well. Our breakfast buffet and a la carte menu are usually very well received, but I do know breakfast is a very personal preference. The Twisted Fork is a great restaurant and only steps away.

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed at the downtown Holiday Inn on Howe street while down on business. I found the hotel clean & the staff very friendly and helpful. Also the location of this property is perfect for anything happening downtown.
Strongly would recomend this hotel for anybody staying in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAckhoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
We are very pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our great downtown location.

Cheers,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2010

neede a clean room close to downtown Vancouver and the HI was a perfect spot. would stay again when needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Your loyalty and kind words are so appreciated! We're ready to welcome you back to your Vancouver 'home" anytime.

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I find the Holiday Inn Downtown Vancouver has a great central location for all my business needs when I visit Vancouver. The hotel is always spotless and even though you can tell the building has been there for a while, it amazes me how the hotel always looks so fresh current. The staff are very professional and that really helps when you are on business and time is of the essence. We had a meeting at the hotel in one of their meeting rooms and I was very impressed with the way it had been set up for us and the service and refreshments were top notch. I can't say enough about how great my business travel experience is with this hotel, and that is definitely not the norm in some of the other downtown Vancouver hotels that I have visited for certain.
The management of that hotel should be very proud of the job they are doing and I strongly suggest this property for anyone needing accommodation in the downtown core! Great Job again, Holiday Inn Downtown Vancouver!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnuts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
694 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,755 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
1,728 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, IHG, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing