We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convienient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #56 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed October 18, 2006

we found this hotel to be convienient.
we felt safe and the rooms were ok.
the views were not great but it is a city centre.
pool and gym were good.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spark48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2006

A negative point is that the Holiday Inn reservation told me that their executive rooms come along with access to their executive lounge. Still, there is no exec lounge in the entire hotel! Rooms are a bit old, but still clean and comfortable. The double beds are a bit small (I don't understand at all why hotels don't just offer at least Queen size beds). Hotel staff was in my case superfriendly, all of them! The hotel location is undoubtedly good, despite the fact that indeed 1.5 blocks away there is a nightclub (so what??). All in all it was a pleasant stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flying_Dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn through a hotwire booking for around $75 per night - and for this rate I would recommend it to anyone.

The room was comfortable, the free internet (not wireless) and daily papers were nice touches. With a swimming pool, fitness room and onsite restaurant this place covered most bases.

We were about 4 rooms away from the lift and could still hear it going up and down all night, so I would check that the room you are being put in isnt any closer as it might annoy you.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank passive649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

I bid on this hotel on Priceline, they listed it as an upscale 3* hotel. I got it for a very good price so I am not really complaining but if I had stayed longer than one night or paid more I would have been really unhappy. This was my first experience with Priceline and won't risk it again not only becuase of the room but becuase there is no gaurantee of # beds or non smoking. Also they make it clear when you check in that you got it through priceline and you will be getting the bottom of the barrel room. As for the hotel: I found the front staff to be exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. This is a very old hotel and everything is small - the lobby, parking stalls, elevators and bathrooms were all miniature! The bathroom in our room looked as if it had been added on to a 2nd bedroom and maintenance was badly needed. The fan sounded like a jet engine taking off, the mildew on the ceiling and around the door frame was bad. The sink was in the closet outside of the bathroom. There were two light bulbs out. The walls were paper thin and we woke up every time someone came and went from their rooms. We were outside a busy street and the traffic echoed through the room keeping me up and I am a heavy sleeper. We got a non smoking room but it was at the end of a long hallway off smoking rooms. The smell was so strong it could knock you over when the elevator door opens. The beds were clean and fairly comfortable and considering how tiny everything else was the room wasn't a bad size. The location would be fine for a business traveller but I wouldn't recommend this to a family or anyone without a car. I would describe the street behind the hotel as seedy, it had several XXX rated buildings and I wouldn't have eaten in any of those establishments. Did not feel safe going out at night. Howe street would be fine but there was mostly office buildings and a long walk to any of the tourist spots. Stanley Park was nice, be prepared to pay for parking if you do any more than drive through $2 per hr or $6 day. There are some really slummy areas in Vancouver so be careful where you choose your hotel. I really enjoyed Granville Island.

1  Thank Cindylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We spent four nights at the Holiday Inn Vancouver Downtown in July 2006. We were looking for a moderately priced hotel that was clean, comfortable, centrally located, with secure parking. We got what we wanted, and we would stay there again.

The only challenge we experienced was parking in the entrance area when we arrived and wanted to check in. We arrived in the late afternoon, when several other guests also were arriving. Things were a bit crowded in front of the hotel, but we managed to park in the semi-circular driveway. The reception staff promptly gave my husband a card to operate the automatic gate for the underground parking garage, and the challenge was short-lived.

After that, our stay at the Holiday Inn was comfortable. The reception area was pleasant and well supplied with tourist brochures and computer screens that explained Vancouver's tourist attractions. However, we did not avail ourselves of that information, as we were repeat visitors to Vancouver.

The hotel is located half a block from Davie Street, on which there are a lot of reasonably priced restaurants. In the other direction it's three blocks from Robson Street, on which there are many shops and restaurants, some moderately priced and some upscale. .

We are middle aged, and we had no difficulty in walking to the English Bay Promenade and to Stanley Park and back again.

We felt comfortable walking in the vicinity of the hotel both in daylight hours and after dark.

The room had two queen-sized beds. It had a television set, a coffee maker, iron and hair dryer. It was air conditioned. Although we did not use it, we noticed that it had an Internet connection.

The bathroom had a tub / shower, and it was clean and well appointed.

Our room was next to an elevator, and we feared that we might be disturbed by elevator noise. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We did not hear the elevator at all.

The curtains were well lined so that they did not let in the morning sunlight. However, there was a little triangular wedge near the top where the curtains did not quite meet. I knew from previous experience that the light coming through that little triangular wedge probably would be enough to waken me early in the morning. I always travel with a clothespin or safety pin for that very reason. However, I found that, if I closed the curtains asymetrically, they closed fully. That is, I did not pull them towards each other in the middle. Rather, I pulled one of the drapes more than half way, and that did the trick.

Every morning we found a complimentary copy of the Globe and Mail newspaper outside of our door.

The hotel had an onsite restaurant, which we did not use. It had an indoor swimming pool and an exercise room, which we also did not use.

We rarely interacted with the reception staff but, when we did, they were friendly and efficient. They checked us in and out promptly, and were quick to order a cab for us when we asked for one.

The hotel is not on the waterfront. Our room faced other highrise buildings and, as such, did not have an especially scenic view. That did not bother us. As I mentioned before, we were repeat visitors to Vancouver, and we were looking for a hotel that was clean, comfortable and moderately priced. We actually got more than we were expecting. However, the lack of a view may bother some first time visitors.

Speaking for ourselves, we would be willing to stay at Holiday Inn Vancouver Downtown again.

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank Judy_in_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mendenhall, MS
14
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Very Rude Desk Clerk, nice Information Desk. Closet Gift Shop and workout room, small but cute pool. Blood on pillows, bums were having sex outside the window, one block from strip clubs, no towels in the room, a/c was absolutely horrible, had to ask for a fan. Dining staff rude. Several blocks to 7 block shopping mall and a bus ride away from Granville Island and Stanley Park, love both attractions. Parking is secured by a 8 ft fence with razor wire, tells how safe the area is.

Have to admit the pizza from room service was wonderful. Night time staff much nicer than daytime staff.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

I stayed here for the first three nights of a 14 day tour.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I was especially impressed by the provision of international sockets meaning that we didn't need to use our adapters.

The restaurant was always busy, but we were found a table at all times without having to wait too long. The staff were excellent and found time for a smile and a friendly word even when they were rushed off their feet.

I would have preferred a slightly more central location. My mother is 78 and though she enjoys a walk, she found getting around on foot hard work. Absolutely fine for the young and fit though!

7  Thank AlisonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
722 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,786 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $108 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing