We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel. I chose to stay here for the weekend solely based off of the fact that their pool was open 24 hours a day. When my group and I arrived to the location, we were told that the pool was not going to be open for 24 hours a day (which went against their advertisement) and we were promised free parking for the days we spent there in consolation for not being able to use the pool. When it came to check out we asked for our free parking and the person checking us out dismissed it completely and didn't even bother explaining.
I will be sure to not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Howerbia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Good day Howerbia09,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate that our decision to close the pool early was an inconvenience, but it was a health and safety decision that we had to honour. Speaking of honour, I am disappointed to hear that we offered complimentary parking and then did not deliver.

I welcome you to contact me directly so that we can resolve this privately.
Thank you,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    381
    231
    70
    53
See reviews for
193
288
83
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Great location, nice rooms and good service. The bar and food in the lobby is good also. Only negative is no fridge in the room. The wifi works well and the pool is worth a visit too. Would definately stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello again rainsie,

Funny running into you on this forum :)
As mentioned on our other site, I wanted to thank you for your great feedback and welcome you to keep spreading the word!

See you next time,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Newly renovated rooms enhance the outstanding service here! Friendly staff are always ready to give a hand and even remember your name!
Large desks are convenient for work, fitness facility and pool available, as is room service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi there RNyhan,

I am thrilled to read about your positive feedback for our property! Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
997 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a great/handy location... walkable to downtown restaurants and bars and plenty of places to get a good massage locally if you need one (there is a place right across the street that we used that was particularly good (West Coast Forest Spa).

The staff were supremely helpful... the bed was comfy and (for a city) the rooms were not too noisy.

Overall, very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello floridabrits,

I enjoyed reading about your great experience with us! It sounds like between our team, and our location you were able to enjoy Vancouver the way it is meant to feel!
I hope we can welcome you back when you come return up North to us next time.

Be well,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time last weekend and again found it to be a very comfortable, clean, and economical hotel that doesn't feel like a budget or no frills place. Our room was cozy and clean, with great beds. We were on the fourth floor, directly across from the elevator (which I DON'T recommend!) so it got a bit loud later in the evening, but nothing too serious. Just avoid if you want a quieter room.
The location is great, just a few blocks from the Art Gallery, Robson St. And all the great shops, restaurants and theatres that Vancouver has to offer. We were in town for a show and were walking distance from the Theatre.
My only disappointment with the hotel was the pool. I booked with them specifically because they had a pool and my 9 year old granddaughter loves to swim. When we checked in we were told the pool was closed for maintenance. They did have another pool available to us, but it was a fifteen minute walk away on a very cold day, so we didn't bother. I appreciate that they did the best they could, and pools need maintenance, but it was a disappointment. On our previous visit a few years ago, we had lots of fun swimming in the pool, so I know it's a good one. Small, but good. All in all, I would recommend this hotel as a good option for families, singles, couples, or anyone who wants an economical place to enjoy Vancouver.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello dsnewtime,

Thank you for sharing your great story with us! I am glad to hear that our location was able to touch on all the venues you wanted to visit!

If you would be so kind as to apologize to your daughter on behalf of myself and the whole Holiday Inn Family. I know first hand the value of a pool for children to play in and I am sorry that the pool was not available. Rest assured, annual maintenance is done for the foreseeable future, so I hope we can make it up to her next time!

Thank you again,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago and wanted to stay here again because it's a great location and to our surprise they have made some great changes to the hotel since then. All very modern looking now with the same great comforts you expect. I love the bed and pillows, so comfy. The front desk staff were very helpful and had some great recommendations for dinner, try out the fish shack if you can (yum), and the concierge was so helpful with finding some things to see while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good day S K,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent visit. It is great to know that the renovations made an impression and that you enjoyed yourself. I will be pleased to pass along to the staff your kind words about their service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver

Best regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I booked a night at this hotel through Hotwire.com and stayed a night. It was okay. A month later I got a charge of $241.14 on my Visa from the hotel. I told them I paid for the room. The accountant said they charged for room damage. I left the hotel in good condition and no damage was done. I was never notified of any problem. Someone just decided to charge my card without authorization. Severely, unethical business practices. Better Business Bureau contacted and other avenues being considered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 444love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Good day,

At your convenience please contact our General Manager, Kris Szylowski at kris@hivancouverdowntown.com. He has tried contacting you to discuss the nature of the charges. When you inquired on Friday regarding the charges we advised we would look into the specifics of them and get back to you. Kris will be happy to discuss this matter with you.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing