We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Re-done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #55 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago and wanted to stay here again because it's a great location and to our surprise they have made some great changes to the hotel since then. All very modern looking now with the same great comforts you expect. I love the bed and pillows, so comfy. The front desk staff were very helpful and had some great recommendations for dinner, try out the fish shack if you can (yum), and the concierge was so helpful with finding some things to see while we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Good day S K,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent visit. It is great to know that the renovations made an impression and that you enjoyed yourself. I will be pleased to pass along to the staff your kind words about their service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver

Best regards,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I booked a night at this hotel through Hotwire.com and stayed a night. It was okay. A month later I got a charge of $241.14 on my Visa from the hotel. I told them I paid for the room. The accountant said they charged for room damage. I left the hotel in good condition and no damage was done. I was never notified of any problem. Someone just decided to charge my card without authorization. Severely, unethical business practices. Better Business Bureau contacted and other avenues being considered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 444love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Good day,

At your convenience please contact our General Manager, Kris Szylowski at kris@hivancouverdowntown.com. He has tried contacting you to discuss the nature of the charges. When you inquired on Friday regarding the charges we advised we would look into the specifics of them and get back to you. Kris will be happy to discuss this matter with you.

Sincerely,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel in Downtown Vancouver, really good base for walking around downtown. Both Canada Place and Granville Island is only a gentle 20 minute walk away.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff could not be faulted. We only had one evening meal and this also was excellent and good value. Swimming Pool needed to be warmer.
Only one bad comment was the noise outside of the room, guest coming and going did not have any respect for sleeping guests at all as two nights we were woken up at 3.00 am with people talking and slamming bedroom doors, the Hotel should have a policy like Premier Inns.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on Howe for one night on Christmas Day between excursions out of the city. The hotel was kind quiet and we picked up a very good deal on lastminute.com via their "Secret hotels" where you book a hotel at a good discount without really knowing what property you're booking (although sometimes it's possible to find out...)

Because of the holiday the hotel was running a minimal service some there wasn't quite a full service being offered, however this didn't bother us as we just wanted a place to sleep.

We had a twin king bed room, which was spacious despite having two passive beds in the room. It had a long desk running the length of the twin king beds, 42" flatpanel TV (with sockets where you can plug in your own equipment, plenty of storage, luggage rack, and a mini lobby in front of the entrance to the ensuite bathroom where there was a coffee maker, and other facilities. The Wifi in the hotel worked well, and was quick, although we had to ask for the password - reception didn't offer it at checkin.

We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities, we could have used the pool, but the friends we were catching up with us had other plans for us, and we basically just used it as a place to dump our bags and sleep. However we had a very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.

As a typical business class hotel there isn't much to say. It was modern and well maintained, and didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. We stayed in a king suite for 2 nights. Underground parking was fully secure and well lit. The pool was a little small but quite deep at 9 feet. No hot tub. We had the breakfast buffet at the lobby lounge and it was delicious and cheap ( $13 each). Walking distance to Grandville Island, Robson Street and most other downtown attractions. 3 blocks from the Sky-train.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed overnight to catch the connecting shuttle bus to Vancouver the next morning - which departs from outside the front door. The room was a good size and whilst a little on the cooler side, it was fine for the night. The gym had a variety of machines and equipment in newer condition and was great for a workout. Included breakfast was a choice of 3-4 cold items from the fridges or a hot breakfast which consisted of fried potatoes, toast, sausages, eggs and bacon.

Overall it was above average stay and good for our connecting bus.

Room Tip: As usual, try to get a higher room to avoid late night trampings from partygoers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not on my expectations! Since its Holiday Inn, I expect more. Rooms are good but the cleanliness is very poor. I'm aware the hotel is an animal friendly but make sure before checking inn new guests there is no hair all over the carpet. Seems they forgot to vacuum the floor. They might also check bath tub & washroom sink from hair.
But in terms of the staff they are friendly and accomodating, especially their restaurant on the lobby.

Room Tip: Better to have room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear MJ M,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly.

On the other hand, I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness and truly sorry for the room condition fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
720 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $112 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing