We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night during a Rocky Mountaineer Vacation. Nice, clean room (#714) with king size bed and complimentary slippers. Small bathroom. Lot of noise from the elevator and kids. Seedy looking street behind the hotel, but a selection of restaurants in the neighborhood on the front side. We had a delicious meal at the Kettle of Fish about 3-4 blocks away. Interestingly there was a lot of ambulance activity in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2008

This hotel was in an ideal location for seeing all the local attractions. Easy access to Sky-train, buses sea-taxis and walking to various destinations. The hotel rooms were large, with King size beds and the usual facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly, overall a very good Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stef1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and was reasonable impressed with it as a city hotel. Lobby area was bright and clean and the location of the hotel is fairly central to both Granville Island and also Canada Place. Room was large if abit dark. My only complaint was that it smelt abit damp and there was a strong smell of chlorine from the pool which was a few floors below. The breakfast were really great with plenty of choice. I particulary enjoyed trying somethuing different each morning. Never used the restuarant in the evening or the pool. The hotel has everything you need for a comfortable city break.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Holiday Inn Downtown Vancouver is a centrally located hotel within walking distance of many sites to see. The problem is the hotel is old and needs to be refurbished. Additionally, the air-conditioning does not work adequately in the summer and our room (Room 507) was extremely hot. The hotel staff was not helpful at all and just kept telling us to "open the window", maybe in the winter that suggestion would have worked, but in June it was of no assistance at all. The front desk staff appear to be college kids who do not have guests interest at heart.

The hotel appears to have no security as we heard fighting in the hall ways from what appeared to be a domestic dispute at 3 and 4 in the morning. Loud screeming and banging of the walls do not allow guests to adequately sleep. This happened on two of the three nights we stayed at the hotel.

The one bright spot is the restaurant which serves an excellent dinner. The restaurant staff is pleasant as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hafnerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

This Holiday Inn is fairly standard Holiday Inn fare, which means no strong plusses, but no particular minuses either. However, it also means you can go there in the complete confidence that you will have a clean room and a comfortable bed for the night. The room we were allocated was an upgrade, and very large – about double the norm, with a three piece suite and a conference table with six chairs. The bed was very large and comfortable. Effective air conditioning is provided, with the added bonus of being able to open the window if you prefer. Although clearly marked as a non smoking room, it seemed that the previous occupant had smoked in the room as there was some of that horrible residual smell. The bathroom was surprisingly cramped with the shorter than average bathtub governing the overall size. Overall, the room was OK, but was starting to look a bit on the tired side. Although situated on a busy street, we did not find traffic noise to be a problem with the window closed and the air-con on. (We were also on the 7th floor which no doubt helped).

We only ever had breakfast in the hotel; these were excellent with a good choice of both cooked and the ‘healthy’ option. I particularly liked the eggs being cooked to order and I thought reasonable value for money at around CDN$12-15 (depending on whether you had ‘cooked’ or the ‘healthy’ option). Service was excellent, even providing you with paper cups to take away any tea or coffee.

One observation was the size of the two lifts – they were very small. This caused a lot of difficulty when people were leaving with luggage, given that only about 4 people with luggage could squeeze in at a time. I noted people getting in the lift on the ‘up’ cycle in sheer frustration!

I found staff, whether waiting, reception, bar and the person on the Information Desk to be attentive, helpful and provided good service.

We had a look at the indoor swimming pool – rather a tortuous route to get to it! I would describe it more as a leisure pool – you couldn’t really swim in it on account of its size and odd shape, but everything seemed clean and in order.

This hotel is well located, with most downtown places being walkable. It also has the advantage of being right on the route of the Airport Bus. There are several restaurants nearby and one of them is rated quite highly in Tripadvisor’s Restaurants listing – Bin 941 Tapas Parlour on Davie Street (at most 5 mins walk from hotel). It was excellent – a great atmosphere and good value for money food. I was surprised that it was so busy at 6.30pm on a Wednesday – a good sign I suppose; we had to wait 20 mins for a table, but were able to have a drink while we waited. It was worth the wait.

In summary, I would be perfectly happy to stay here again; the hotel was clean, comfortable, well located with a good standard of service at a reasonable price. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Stayed at Holiday Inn for 3 nights while in Vancouver visiting my mom in hospital. My sister had already been in hotel for a week and was very happy with everything. Was pleasantly surprised by the great restaurant in hotel (didn't need to go anywhere else) as the food was reasonably priced and very good. The rooms were pretty typical hotel rooms, but very clean. My sister stayed on the executive level for the first few nights and really enjoyed the room. We had to move as they were booked for the weekend that I stayed there. Room was fine, but for a non-smoking room it really smelled like smoke. We were unable to open our window as we figured out the main outside smoking deck was just below and wow, was there ever a lot of smoke that came into the room! The staff was great - would definitely stay there again- just not in any of the rooms near the smoking deck!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Stayed here for one night only on arrival in Vancouver, before we headed down to Seattle on The Quick Shuttle (which collects & returns from outside this hotel). The room was clean, the breakfast was pretty good with plenty of choices and the evening meal was ok. We had lunch in the bar before leaving the hotel and the staff were happy to let us share a meal, as the portions were quite generous. Waiting and bar staff extremely helpful and friendly. Well located for visitor attractions, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sproutandthebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Broadway
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $110 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing