We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely City, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #54 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely City, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. We booked the hotel late and probably didn't get value for money. But we couldn't give up the fantastic location. Nice, pleasant walks down to Granville Island and Stanley Park (if you're keen for an extended walk).

In terms of the hotel, it is a bit of a weird set up. We had our room past the "whale pool". It is a tad awkward trying to get the room. The room itself was quite nice. It was kept tidy and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were friendly and accommodated us with a different room when we were originally allocated a room with only 1 bed. I would certainly consider staying here when I visit Vancouver again, particularly if I travel with friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjs010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Good day tjs010,

We are rather lucky to live in this beautiful City. So glad you took the time to provide us your feedback from your recent trip. Hopefully the rest of your travels were enjoyable and that you had a safe trip back to Australia.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    374
    225
    66
    53
See reviews for
191
280
81
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The HI Downtown is a great place to call home when working in the city. My business travels took me to the fashion district - the HI allowed me to explore all sides of the city. Make sure to check out Granville on Saturday night and take a long walk down to Davie for some cultural fun. When you get tired of walking....walk some more down to Yaletown for a great restaurants and a connection to the train system for further travels. If you can wait until 9AM the Templeton has one awesome breakfast.

Room Tip: Always go for the Executive floors with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joegetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Good day joegetz,

Thank you for the fun review from your recent stay. There is a great deal of night life just steps away from the Hotel. Also a great point about Yaletown, they have great restaurants and it's a nice area to people watch. We are really pleased you enjoyed yourself and found it a good place to work from.

We look forward to your next visit from North Carolina.

Best regards

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I spent 6 nights in this hotel during a business week in Vancouver. This hotel is ideally located in core downtown Vancouver, a couple of blocks away from shopping and dining areas.
This renovated hotel offers a good quality of service, a nice welcome at the reception and a quick assistance when needed. The room was a bit small, having 2 double beds. For 4 people it would have been pretty tight but for one person, it was spacious. The room was nicely decorated, with modern paintings, furniture, nice lighting and a flat screen TV. The bathroom, clean was also a bit small.The air conditioning was a bit noisy, that would require to turn it off before sleeping.
The parking lot was pretty expensive since it doesn't belong to the hotel and it is managed by Impark Company.
This stay was globally satisfying and I will certainly be back in the future.

Room Tip: Room 513 is pretty quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day Igal A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to make use of the convenient location. We will have the air conditioning unit looked at to ensure it is running smoothly.
Hope we see you again.

Best regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not only was this hotel overly expensive, but our room was small and cramped as well as dirty. The parking garage was dark and very hard to maneuver a vehicle in. The second day we found bug bites and there were bugs in our bed. I called the front desk and asked to have my bedding stripped and new bedding put in and it took 3 hours before they did that for us. I had to call them 3 more times before the person came with our new sheets. Our key cards never worked and we had to get someone to let us in our room everytime we returned. The final price for the room was well over what we were quoted after all the fees and taxes incurred by this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day nicole g,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I can assure you we take any comment about bugs very seriously and have had the room inspected and have found no evidence of activity in the room. I would be happy to review your bill with you and can be reached at tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall this hotel was expensive for just a 5 night stay. But location wise perfect for ease of access to downtown.

Rooms were clean and newly renovated to a high standard. We stayed in a 2 roomed suite 2nd room was sparsely furnished : twin bed with trundle sleeper underneath and lamp in corner nothing else in room.

Hotel layout is also slightly confusing as lobby elevators did not lead to our part of hotel we had to use different set of elevators on 2nd floor to reach our room.

Parking is also extra change daily and our keycard for parking lot rarely worked.
keycard was also hit and miss for access to our room.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate.

While it was an expensive stay I would probably use hotel again purely for location if staying in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day AndrayaD,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the convenient location of the property. I am sorry the confusing layout. We have added additional wayfinding signage and plan on adding on some more to better assist some of the additional corridor areas.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are next visiting Vancouver.

Warm regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't take any room at first floor. there is no easy access.. The parking was very dirty for the two days I was there , birds made my car so dirty and the hotel charged me excessively to use the parking as a guest!!! .charges and fees was very unreasonable. Overall it cost me $200 per night for queen size bed. The restaurant food was awful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMasterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear TripMasterr,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. It was a good location and a nice walk to English Bay Beach down Davie Street. We stayed in an executive king with a sofa bed. It was newly appointed with a sleek look. There were some nice touches. The headboard had articulated spot reading lights on both sides. The WC & tub were separate from the sink allowing two to get ready at the same time. The balcony was tiny but it was commensurate to the price point. The real problem that we encountered was the WiFi connection. It was unstable and problematic the entire 5 days. At the front desk Wei provided invaluable service and went above & beyond what you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms but judging from the other reviews it really is worth it to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristoferRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day KristoferRobin,

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the Holiday Inn. We will pass along your kind words to Wei. He is a great asset to our team and will be pleased that you noted him.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#44 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing