We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“would not stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not only was this hotel overly expensive, but our room was small and cramped as well as dirty. The parking garage was dark and very hard to maneuver a vehicle in. The second day we found bug bites and there were bugs in our bed. I called the front desk and asked to have my bedding stripped and new bedding put in and it took 3 hours before they did that for us. I had to call them 3 more times before the person came with our new sheets. Our key cards never worked and we had to get someone to let us in our room everytime we returned. The final price for the room was well over what we were quoted after all the fees and taxes incurred by this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day nicole g,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I can assure you we take any comment about bugs very seriously and have had the room inspected and have found no evidence of activity in the room. I would be happy to review your bill with you and can be reached at tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    379
    227
    68
    53
See reviews for
192
283
83
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall this hotel was expensive for just a 5 night stay. But location wise perfect for ease of access to downtown.

Rooms were clean and newly renovated to a high standard. We stayed in a 2 roomed suite 2nd room was sparsely furnished : twin bed with trundle sleeper underneath and lamp in corner nothing else in room.

Hotel layout is also slightly confusing as lobby elevators did not lead to our part of hotel we had to use different set of elevators on 2nd floor to reach our room.

Parking is also extra change daily and our keycard for parking lot rarely worked.
keycard was also hit and miss for access to our room.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate.

While it was an expensive stay I would probably use hotel again purely for location if staying in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day AndrayaD,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the convenient location of the property. I am sorry the confusing layout. We have added additional wayfinding signage and plan on adding on some more to better assist some of the additional corridor areas.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are next visiting Vancouver.

Warm regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't take any room at first floor. there is no easy access.. The parking was very dirty for the two days I was there , birds made my car so dirty and the hotel charged me excessively to use the parking as a guest!!! .charges and fees was very unreasonable. Overall it cost me $200 per night for queen size bed. The restaurant food was awful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMasterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear TripMasterr,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. It was a good location and a nice walk to English Bay Beach down Davie Street. We stayed in an executive king with a sofa bed. It was newly appointed with a sleek look. There were some nice touches. The headboard had articulated spot reading lights on both sides. The WC & tub were separate from the sink allowing two to get ready at the same time. The balcony was tiny but it was commensurate to the price point. The real problem that we encountered was the WiFi connection. It was unstable and problematic the entire 5 days. At the front desk Wei provided invaluable service and went above & beyond what you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms but judging from the other reviews it really is worth it to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristoferRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good day KristoferRobin,

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the Holiday Inn. We will pass along your kind words to Wei. He is a great asset to our team and will be pleased that you noted him.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were happy with this location. The Hop on Hop Off bus stop was across the street from the hotel which was very convenient and gave us a good overview of the city and what things we could walk to.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant.

The cost was competitive for the location and what they had to offer.

We will stay here again when we come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Holiday Inn and Suites
1110 Howe street, Vancouver, British Columbia, V6z IT2.  Tel 604 684 2151


This place is clean. 
 Getting action to prevent exited adolescents banging doors all night was a complete failure. The manager did ring back when we were out for the evening, the red flashing light I indicated a message - but I was supposed to know to dial 5 to get the message. It said to press the flashing button. I did - nothing happened. This 5  may well be standard procedure in all phones - I just don't know. Late at night having had a drink - maybe I was not too concise in button pushing. Same result come morning though.
There is a free Internet. I love the concept and have complained at many hotels at having to pay for internet.  Put the cost on the rooms. Somebody pays - nothing is free and most hotel guests need internet connection. BUT even in India, the service was  faster then at this Holiday Inn - So, if you NEED Internet - skip this place. I gave up trying to send on mail or facebook and am typing this on "notes" for future use. I also dislike being knocked off line, asked to sigh in again and having to see every five to ten minutes, corporate appeals to book again. Well yes - I will when hell freezes over.
Maybe the whole Canadian system is slow? I just don't know.
Men only section -  do you remember  toilets that  cooled your dingle dangle  because they were very shallow at the front - I mean the porcelain bowl - ?  In my case - maybe not so shallow ( weak joke) but I struck cold. I had forgotten about this possibility. Maybe it's a Canadian thing -  These must very old toilets - or maybe it's standard design in Canada - I just don't know.
 Hand wash  basins are height positioned from the old days. Far too low.
The heat control in the bath / shower was reversed. Staying at different hotels, I always make sure I'm clear before freezing or scalding myself.
All in all -  small problems that start to wear on you. Nothing terrible - just silly little things.
Internet - very, very slow. Every five ten minutes, sign in again. It's 4.40 in the morning. Maybe I can send this report without again being cut off.
Noise from door banging very late at night or early morning - I slept through it - my wife didn't. Afternoon door banging as well - I had complained earlier in the day. No action from staff. I thought of intervening myself but felt it best not to. A semi naked man demanding that "you shut the heck up" might have had alternative results. These were teenage girls rushing from one room to another, I might have given them Holiday inn and suites
1110 Howe street, Vancouver, British Columbia, V6z IT2.  Tel 604 684 2151
Holiday inn and suites
1110 Howe street, Vancouver, British Columbia, V6z IT2.  Tel 604 684 2151

This place is clean. 
 Getting action to prevent exited adolescents banging doors all night was a complete failure. The manager did ring back when we were out for the evening, the red flashing light I indicated a message - but I was supposed to know to dial 5 to get the message. It said to press the flashing button. I did - nothing happened. This  may well be standard procedure in all phones - I just don't know.
There is a free Internet. I love the concept and have complained at many hotels at having to pay for internet.  Put the cost on the rooms. Nothing is free - somebody pay and most hotel guests need internet connection. BUT even in India, the service was  faster then at this Holiday Inn - So if you NEED Internet - skip this place., I gave up trying to send on mail or facebook and am typing this on "notes" for future use. I also dislike being knocked off line, asked to sigh in again and having to see every five to ten minutes, corporate appeals to book again. Well yes - I will when hell freezes over.
Maybe the whole Canadian system is slow? I just don't know.
Men only section!  Do you remember  toilets that  cooled your dingle dangle  because they were very shallow at the front?  In my case - maybe not so shallow ( weak joke) but I struck cold. I had forgotten about this possibility. Maybe it's a Canadian thing -  These must very old toilets - or maybe it's standard design in Canada - I just don't know.
 Hand wash  basins are height positioned from the old days. Far too low.
The heat control in the bath / shower was reversed. Staying at different hotels, I always make sure I'm clear before freezing or scalding myself but it took a little while.
All in all -  small problems that start to wear on you.
Internet - very, very slow. Every five ten minutes, sign in again.
Noise from door banging very late at night or early morning - I slept through it - my wife didn't. Afternoon door banging as well - I had complained earlier in the day. No action from staff. I thought of intervening myself but felt it best not to. A semi naked man demanding that "you shut the heck up" might have had alternative results. Silly teenage girls might have had psychosis for many years if an old bearded white haired man had screamed at them.

There was a  hold up in the elevator.  Woman in wheelchair waiting. Luggage cart waiting. Elevator stopping but full. Decided to use the stairs. At the bottom it says "alarm will sound if opened" so back up to the THIRD floor as requested?
I have a false knee. This is becoming tiresome. Leave through door. No alarm.
About time this hotel or chain instigate some quality control that has somebody like me - a moderately  regular hotel user - staying in rooms and then checking and using all the other facilities - not as a manager but as a guest and that might discourage reports such this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffthebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Good day Geoffthebeer,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a thorough review of the property. I apologize that the internet in your room was causing so many issues for you. There seems to some details overall in this room that need better tending to. If you do not mind at your convenience emailing me, tanner@hivancouverdowntown.com, with some details, room number if you have it, so we have these matters remedied. On the positive side we are currently working on our signage throughout the property which will better help our guests navigates the sometimes long corridors and elevator areas.

Again thank you for your feedback as we appreciate the opportunity to improve.

Yours in hospitality,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illniois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is almost... clean enough, close enough, perfect enough.

The lobby is great, the location is pretty good (just a few seedy people late that make you not want to walk right by the hotel), and the rooms appear to be really nice upon first look. But they just seem to be not as clean and little worn. We were only there one night so it was fine for us, and even longer it would be fine, it just was missing that one thing.

The concierge we encountered (a woman) was okay, but the front desk was FABULOUS. I booked one room instead of two on accident, and they were very friendly and helpful in accommodating us. The hotel gets a higher score just because of that!!!

The major downside is the elevators. Not much they can do, but they are insanely small. Our family of four with luggage (2 pieces) barely fit. If we had 4 pieces, we wouldn't have. And an employee walked by and hit the down button as he was walking by/away. So we get in, go down, and come back up just to stop again and apologize to everyone that we were the same people. Why he did that, I have NO idea!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrmkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing