We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Location:
Convenient for Downtown (5 - 10 mins) and Yaletown (5 mins - check out the Blue Water restaurant for an excellent meal), close to the Sky Train Terminal and about a 30 minute walk from Stanley Park. The hotel is right next to the BC Stadium, so really easy if you're going to see a BC Lions game.

Rooms:
Spacious and airy room and good bathroom with bath and overhead shower. The nightlight in the bathroom was a nice touch. It was great to have a fridge tea/coffee making facilities and a microwave.
The room was very clean when we arrived and on the second day of our stay; however on our third day it wasn't cleaned or made up, which was a shame as we'd been out for a long day and just wanted to relax when we got in.


Breakfast:
It's great that this is complimentary and although the breakfast room was busy we always managed to find a table. The selection of cereals and hot food wasn't huge, but we always managed to find something we liked. The one criticism is that for a hotel that in other areas wanted to convey how environmentally friendly it is, it uses polystyrene plates and cups.

Service
Mixed impressions here - at check in the receptionist was friendly and helpful, but for the rest of the time we didn't get the service we were expecting after reading previous reviews.
Nothing serious, just unfriendly, unhelpful staff and a mistake by reception with regard to the taxi to the airport (which they didn't really apologise for). Hopefully the people who served us were just having off-days (it sounds like it since the other reviews have been so glowing).

Overall
A good value hotel in a convenient location, slightly let down by the service received. I would stay here again, but if it was a special occasion I would probably go for one of the more upmarket hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MrsSpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 1,978 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed here one night prior to our Alaskan cruise. we took limojet gold from the airport to the hotel and that was great!

The Room: We booked a corner, two bed on the top floor and that was superb with fantastic views. The only problem we had was the toilet clogged but nothing big there. Beds were the best hotel beds we slept on ever. Very Very Clean!

The Hotel/Breakfast/Facilities
The hotel is nice with a cool lobby. the rooftop hot tub/spa we never used, but our kids used the ping pong and fooseball and that kept them entertained. The Elevator on the cruise day (saturday) took at least 5 minutes to get to our floor because of the demand to leave the hotel. The elevator requires key card to use which is good 4 security. The staff is great and very nice and can recommendend great places to eat. Breakfast is better than expected and is good being that it is free.

The Cruise shuttle.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the cruise pier and that is great. They take reservations for the shuttle starting at 7 am the day of. IF YOU WANT TO TAKE THE SHUTTLE, BE AT THE FRONT DESK, WAITING IN LINE NO LATER THAN 6:50 OR THE TIMES AVALIABLE ARE AFTER 2. The hotel only has one van, and they should buy more, but still one free one is good. We got stuck with the shuttle time at 2:30 p.m when we wanted earlier. we arrived at the pier 2:45 and there was NO LINES at all. TAKE MY ADVICE, BOOK A SHUTTLE AFTER 2 pm FOR BETTER PIER EXPERIENCE. BUY THEN SHIP CABINS WERE READY.

The van driver's name is George and he is the coolest.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jazz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Sorry to disagree with all the glowing reviews, but we had one serious reservation about the Hampton Inn Downtown -- its location. As we drove to the hotel, we noticed dozens of homeless congregating on the streets adjacent to the hotel. The fact that the parking lot had double electronic gates to protect guests strenghtened our feeling that the area was not safe or pleasant, and made us uncomfortable. Also, the view was disappointing -- buildings and rooftops. The elevators are indeed slow, and there is a crush at the breakfast buffet. On the positive side, the room itself was fine, the beds were comfortable (though the pillows were not), and the breakfast was a real bonus. The staff was lovely and helpful. In summary, the hotel was OK, but not what I expected based on TA reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank 2teenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband, myself and our two teenage sons stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for three nights during a pre-Alaska-cruise visit to Vancouver. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel staff (who were very friendly and helpful), our room (which was immaculate and spacious) and the location (across the street from BC Place, and within easy walking distance of the Seabus terminal, the Robson St. shopping district, Yaletown and Gastown). As noted by other reviewers, the hotel offers free high speed internet, as well as bikes for exploring the area via its extensive and scenic bike paths. (Normally the "rental" period is two hours, but because no one was waiting for our bikes, we were able to keep them the entire afternoon, and thoroughly enjoyed cruising Stanley Park's seawall.) Booking the free shuttle to the cruise ship terminal on Saturday was not a problem; the hotel even allowed a late checkout so that we wouldn't arrive at Ballantyne too early in the day. My one minor complaint would be the quality of the hot breakfast items, which left something to be desired, but other options (cereals, oatmeal, pastries, fresh fruits, yogurt, etc.) were plentiful, so it wasn't really a problem. During our stay, I must have repeated "I LOVE this hotel!" on at least a twice-daily basis to my family. You can't go wrong with the Hampton Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank MarshaMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed here for 2 days prior to our cruise and then another 2 days after the cruise. The staff welcomed us back like we were old friends, we received a card and chocolates, delivered to our room as a thank you from the hotel. It was a wonderful surprise.
The bed was very comfortable, room was very clean and the staff were wonderful, ready to help in any way they could.
I have only one thing on the negative side to say and that is that the room did not have a kettle, we had to ask the front desk for one, unfortunately they did not have one available so we used the microwave to make a cup of tea. Not a big deal if you are a coffee drinker but annoying if you only drink tea.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank Path_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

After a week's cruise in Alaska, this hotel was the icing on the cake! The front desk staff was helpful in every way...from directing us to good restaurants and areas in the city to making sure our every need was met. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the beds were wonderful. We liked having a small refrigerator, microwave, and sink in the "kitchen" part of the room, and appreciated the daily complimentary bottles of water. Although we rented a car for the 3 days we were there, the hotel is withing walking distance to many areas of downtown Vancouver. We felt safe (though we saw several panhandlers and vagrants many places in the area), and the hotel is very secure (both in their parking garage and in getting to our floor in the hotel). The continental breakfast was above average, and although there was only one computer with internet access (for a nominal charge), it was easy to use. We have already recommended this hotel to a family member who will be visiting Vancouver soon. It was great!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChattanoogaMcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I decided to stay here after seeing the other reviews and I was extremely happy with the stay. My family and I traveled around BC in the last week of June 2007. Though we stayed in more expensive places during our trip, all of us enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn.

The place was neat and well maintained. The location was good, and the internet connection speed was good as well. The free breakfast provided came with lots of options.

To top it all, the front desk personnel were always help providing great service.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank injungun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $163 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing