We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good for Stadium Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good for Stadium Events”
Reviewed December 19, 2006

I took my husband to the Avs/Canucks game for a birthday weekend in Vancouver. This hotel couldn't have been located better - the walk to and from GM Place took 5 minutes. Additionally, we did a little shopping on Robson Street, which was only a few blocks away. The location was great - it was downtown, but it was really quick to get out of downtown too. It's true the hotel is not immediately surrounded by lots of pretty buildings, but it was hard to beat the view once you got up to your room.

I booked a Jacuzzi suite which was clean and beautiful. We had a corner room, so we had views of two directions as both outside walls were nothing but windows. The king bed had nice linens, though we found it a bit hard for our tastes (we like really soft beds, though). Housekeeping left us alone to sleep in and just relax in our larger-than-average room. We enjoyed the jacuzzi, which was roomy enough for tall (6'5") folks, though the jets were really loud (not uncommon). There is a lack of breakfast places nearby, so we ate a late breakfast in the restaurant and were immediately taken care of and served a good meal.

Was it the best hotel room I've stayed in? No. Was it a better-than-average room, for a good value in a downtown location in an increasingly expensive city? Yes. If you are expecting boutique, original design or to bathe in luxury, forget it - this is not Hilton's luxury chain. But it's a better-than-average chain hotel (with free WiFi, no less) and sometimes that's just fine.

Oh, I forgot to mention the free bottled water, replaced daily. I can't recall the last time I stayed in a hotel outside of Mexico (and often one much more luxurious), and wasn't charged some ridiculous rate for water. I realize it's just water, but when you get to your room after dinner or a few drinks, it's nice to have a free bottle there.

  • Liked — Free extras you don't get very often; location to sporting events; underground parking garage; ease of check in, even when arriving late
  • Disliked — Loud jacuzzi jets; slightly-hard beds; continental breakfast shut down too quickly
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a corner room - you'll get an amazing view!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kahbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    637
    93
    12
    9
See reviews for
517
617
74
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

I booked a three night stay at the Hampton Inn in Vancouver at the end of November based on the incredible reviews from Tripadvisor.com. The Hampton Inn is a nice budget hotel. The location is NOT fabulous in my opinion. It is at the very end of Robson Street and not really next to anything other than the Stadium (which is directly across the street.) Really I was depressed when my taxi pulled up to it. On my flight I met a woman who works for the Tourism Department in Vancouver. She was stunned that Tripadvisor had rated Hamton Inn as the # 1 hotel in Vancouver and EMBARASSED!! Certainly you can walk to shops and restaurants from the hotel-but nothing cute or charming is within eyesight. The Opus Hotel (which ranks # 5 by Tripadvisor.com) by comparison is in a cool, unique neighborhood surrounded by great restaurants and shops. However, the Opus Hotel is directly next to a large and noisy construction project. The beds were very comfortable at the Hampton Inn and we had no complaints in that department. The breakfasts were not great nor was the staff very friendly. Vancouver is a beautiful city that is very unique. The Hampton Inn is great if you are on a budget, however has a very motelish feeling to it. This is not a hotel I would reccommend to someone other than for price as it is cheap. It is definitely not upscale or luxurious and frankly neither are the clientele!

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — the location and the depressing feeling
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you know exactly where a hotel is located and rmember you always get what you pay for in the end.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank juju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

This hotel is on a very popular street with restaurants and boutiques. The hotel staff was very helpful helping us to get places using their shuttle or taxis or explaining the sky tram. They made us feel quite at home. The room was very clean and comfortable with down comforters. A bonus was the complementary buffet style breakfast, not just the usual toast and oatmeal. The aquarium is great with families as is Stanley Park. We checked out the huge 500 store mall, but one store started to look like all the others and the only main restaurant was TGI Fridays.

Our biggest regret was being across the street from the hockey stadium and not taking in a game. Lots of opportunities for $40 seats.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

We recently stayed here on holiday with our two young children. The hotel is in a good location, approx 8min walk from all the main attractions and shopping on Robson street. The hotel offers excellent value for money, so good we checked with the reception as we could not believe how cheap it was! The room was cleaned to a really high standard and the beds really comfy, the room was situated on the 14th floor and we had views of the BC place (football/event stadium). There was a football match on that night and music could be heard but this all finished at around 22.00. The breakfast was really very good and included in the price of the room, the choice changed daily.
The jacuzzi on the 16th floor had really good views of the city, the fitness and sauna area was clean and well equipped.
Reception offered a free courtesy bus ride anywhere in downtown, we went to the aquarium, not to be missed!!

  • Liked — Great value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of the courtesy bus service in the morning
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Bfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,England
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

In a great location,right next door to the bc stadium - home of the bc lions football team. Staff were great, our corner room was amazing and facilities superb. We stayed on the 19th August 2006 for 3 nights and I fully recommend this hotel to anyone. The general Manager (Gary Collinge) was really helpful and gave us a upgrade - fantastic. The hotel has a roof-top jacuzzi and games room with table tennis,tv area,and outside viewing area.I would stay here again,and again.


  • Liked — Its location & spacious rooms
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a corner room, Higher up
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DSM533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2006

This hotel is worthy of all of the praise. We had a large group of Who-> Fans book this hotel based on the reviews here. Three of us shared a huge suite, one bedroom-two qn beds with a sitting room & kitchen. The location is esp excellent for events at BC Place & GM Place. Easy walking distance for many of the downtown tourist sites. The rooftop spa and workout room were great. The breakfast was substantial, including eggs. On top of it all the staff were wonderfully helpful with every need. All 12 of us a had a great experience.

  • Liked — The room, The location, The staff, the price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank slc515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites for 3 nights and we have to say that the service was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that all was well with our room. They were sold out of non-smoking rooms but quickly accomodated us to one as soon as it was available. Their breakfast was good and they had good Wi-Fi service available with access codes for us to use.

The room was clean and had a great view of Robson street. The staff recommended the best tours of Vancouver and the tour guide was very friendly and humorous and had an opinion on everything which made for a great 4 hours of sightseeing. They even recommended places that we could take our kids to which would make their visit to Vancouver just as memorable.

Exceptional hotel, fantastic price!

  • Liked — Fantastic Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank akwablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,546 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,767 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,235 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,414 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing