We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The staff were nice and accommodating and we had an overall nice stay. The rooms were on the small size, but the room was pretty reasonable for downtown Vancouver so I think we got what we paid for. The location was great. Anything on the peninsula is within walking distance of anything else. It's an extremely walkable city. The only drawbacks we found were that breakfast was overtaken by children. I don't think we ran into any children in the halls or heard anything loud. In fact, our room was pretty secluded. But when we went to breakfast around 9am we could hardly find a seat. And when we finally did it was constant shrieking and Cheerios being thrown on the floor. I wasn't as bothered by it as my husband, though I do admit it I would have chosen a more peaceful breakfast. The food itself was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatgirljenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    650
    96
    13
    9
See reviews for
534
636
77
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This was our second stay at the Hampton and since we were so happy with the first stay, we had high expectations this time. We arrived a little early, but not too much before the official check in time. We were there with another couple (seperate rooms) and they were told their reserved room wasn't available, but they managed to get another room.....they never said anything to us, but just gave us a room. Turns out both our rooms were RIGHT next to the elevator....like touching. We went down and got different rooms, but one of them was on the 4th floor and definately lacked the view. We managed to scoop the higher floor room with the better view. As usual the bed was VERY comfortable, and they have a large, flat screen TV in the room. Bathroom decent with the curved shower rod and peek-a-boo shower curtain to avoid any of those "Psycho" moments. Pretty decent access to ice machines, but plastic cups in the room. All was going fairly well until breakfast rolled around and a large group of hungover concert goers were faced with a very horribly managed breakfast "buffet". Items were not replenished quickly, and in some cases not at all. It was sad. And this was one of our highlights last time! All in all, it was a decent stay and the location is perfect for concerts.....especially if the concert is at BC Place (this time we went to GM Place).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was my second stay at this hotel, and it will not be my last -- this is a great hotel for attending concerts at BC Place Stadium. It's right across the street from the venue, nothing closer except the Georgian (which is usually booked by the roadies of the band, at least in U2's case). Check-in was a breeze, took all of 30 seconds, and check-out was even faster. Parking was super convenient in the garage, although kind of pricey. We didn't get up early enough to eat breakfast, so I can't attest to the included breakfast -- we ended up walking two blocks or so to McDonalds.

The room itself was wonderful: nicely decorated with clean, white bedspreads and down pillows. Flat screen TV, beautiful bathroom, not bad water pressure. The best part of the room, however, was that two whole walls were glass windows, floor to ceiling, looking over BC Place (we were on the 10th floor). What a view! Admittedly, it wasn't looking onto anything really cool like a pretty city view, but it made keeping an eye on the proceedings of the concert below super easy (so we could decide when to go down to the venue without having to wait in line).

My only complaint would be the lack of a decent sit-down restaurant at the hotel.

All in all a great experience!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

If you need a place to rest your head, then this place is fine. Excellent location if you plan on going to a Canucks game. Other than that, the rooms are very plain, small, and suffocating. The location isn't that great for most sightseeing in Vancouver. And the free breakfast? A completely chaotic experience. You get what you pay for here. And the views are undesirable. The opposite end of Robson St. has a lot more to offer. Skip the restaurant. The food and service is lousy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank socalbeachbum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This was our first time staying at a Hampton Inn & Suites within the Hilton chain, and it was a most pleasant experience supported by many reviews by TripAdvisor members. Nice helpful reception and efficient check-in. Located just off the stadium on the east end of Robson St, it is a short walk to the main shopping area but on the night that we arrived, there was a musical event outside the stadium due to a major football match that day. Thankfully that ended by about 7pm otherwise the noise would be unbearable, and otherwise the rooms were quiet and no traffic noise was noticed.

Self parking is CAD17 per day which is reasonable for downtown.

Rooms (we had two kingsize bedrooms) were spacious, clean and bright with very comfortable beds (two queens in one room, and one King in another), free inroom wireless, flatscreen TV and a nice lap-rest for using the notebook in bed. Airconditioning was very efficient and quiet - there is even a humidity control feature. Toilet/shower bathroom clean and spacious enough as well. Large In-room safe. Free coffee/tea making facilities in the room and free bottles of water each day.

All rooms include hot breakfast which has a good selection of quality cereals, pastry, some fruits but poor quality of hot meals (weird plastic looking fried eggs that don't even look like proper eggs, and poor quality of sausage or meat patties - only one type available each day). Good selection of teas and coffees which are freely available to-go as well.

We were happy with the experience except for that weird fried egg which we all (4 or us adults) agreed was not worth even a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Flew into Vancouver the day before we left on an Alaskan cruise and stayed here the one night. A little pricey but very nice accomodations. Had to pay $17 (can) to park in their garage-not sure if I would have wanted to park the rental on the street.

The continental breakfast was ok with the usual offerings. The internet in the room was very good-didn't try wireless-used an ethernet cable. The room had a small fridge and microwave and a small flat panel TV.

Not sure if I would stay here again-might try to stay in North Vancouver instead-maybe less expensive. I would be renting a car anyway so travelling a few more miles might make sense.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonB859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

very good stay on way in to Canada and up to Whistler. clean, great amenities, and excellent service. in great location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,287 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing