We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The room is spacious and clean, but the furnishing is quite dated, given the room rate. Our reception at the desk was not exactly warm when we arrived on a snowy, quiet day. The location is ideal if you are a hockey fan (as it is right next to the BC Place, the stadium), but not for shoppers even though it is on Robson Street. In fact, the neighborhood struck us as somewhat seedy. The suites do not have a bathroom that opens into the living area, and so if you have more than a couple in the party it is not an ideal situation. There were two computers available in the lobby and you must obtain an access code to use one at 30 minutes at a time. On the days when I stayed there I had to compete each morning with two small small kids who used the computers, in the words of their own parents, to kill time.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    602
    85
    12
    9
See reviews for
486
577
73
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our family has just returned from an overnight stay at the Hampton Inn (part of the Hilton brand) in downtown Vancouver. This is probably the 3rd time we have stayed there and have always had a wonderful experience. This time was different though! Our hotel room was right by the elevator and because of distraction, didn't check that our door was properly closed when we left to watch the Canucks play the Senators. We had used the "hockey parent' strategy of leaving the door open with the latch so that our kids could come and go without us having to get up to answer the door...only we left the hotel!! We headed out at 5 pm and returned around 11 pm to find a message on the phone saying that our room had been left unlocked...and to check the room to see if anything was missing. Everything was still in the room...even the laptop.

Thank goodness a staff member does a sweep of each floor several times in the evening. As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel is very secure...a room card for swiping is needed to access the rooms by elevator. I appreciated that in the past, but now...even more.

The breakfast was great and just what we needed before making the trek back up the Coquihalla highway.

I can't say thank you enough to the staff who made our stay complete. They were friendly and kind...and that was before our unlocked door fiasco! As always, the rooms are very clean and immaculate. It is a great hotel that is really close to GM Place and BC Place. It is within walking distance of the downtown core as well.

PS. We had 1 room with 2 queens and 1 room with a king bed and paid $143 Cdn each. Parking was $16 per day. I am surprised that it is rated only 2 stars.

  • Liked — security!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CDNLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Our room was ready at 2 pm when we arrived. The initial room that was given to us was right beside the elevator. Within minutes of us being there someone was leaning on our door waiting for the elevator. A request to change rooms was promptly dealt with. The staff was very courteous and the free buffet in the morning was very generous. The underground parking is the most secure I have found so far in downtown Vancouver. Room key to get in and security cameras. Also keep a room key if you check out before getting your car, you need to swipe the card in the elevator to get to the parking level. There is a key drop box at the parking level. I will stay here when I ride my motortcycle here next summer.

  • Liked — Secure Parking, Close to GM and BC Place, Breakfast.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank biker367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in Nov 2008. This is a very nice Hampton Inn. Our room was nice and clean and had a microwave and fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered us bigger umbrellas than the ones we had because they saw how soaked we were. The location is great. We only took the car out one time the whole weekend because we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. They also have a guest laundry facility, which is very handy when you are on a long trip.

We are planning to visit Vancouver again in the future and we will definitely be staying at the Hampton Inn.

  • Liked — The room was nice and clean.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tweeternc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Great hotel - right next to the two stadiums dowtown - BC Place and GM Place. We had a nice typical hotel room on the corner with what we were told were bigger windows than the other rooms. Unfortunately to the north of the hotel, there is construction going on, and we could hear it in the morning since we kept the little window open at night - it was really warm on the 11th floor!

The spa and exercise room were nice - I used the bike and elliptical machine, and they both worked great. The spa wasn't very hot, but they usually aren't in a hotel.

The location is fantastic - close to Yaletown, Gastown and the shopping area. We took a water taxi from Yaletown to Granville Island as well - it's very close, but it costs $4 each way.

The breakfast was great - definitely hotel food, but there are so many choices that you are bound to find something good to eat.

The staff was nice and helpful, allowing me to check out late on our last day.

The only problem was the wi-fi internet. It never really worked on either the laptop we brought or our iphones. The plug-in internet worked fine for the laptop, so we used that. If you are addicted to internet on your phone, you will be disappointed.

Another thing is that the hotel can be noisy on the night of a hockey game. Two very drunk guys were causing problems while we were there. When my boyfriend and I left the spa one night, we found one guy passed out in front of the elevators. We called the front desk, but no one could rouse him, so he was taken away in an ambulance!!! So, since it is so close to GM Place, this is a hockey- friendly hotel. People also make a lot of noise on the street outside the hotel after a game.... We actually wanted to go to a game, but tickets were astronomically expensive.....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabefreqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

This Hampton Inn is located slightly off-centre, but is still an easy walk from the tourist sights and business district in Vancouver. Several restaurants and convenience stores are located close-by. The worst inconvenience was that the hotel is not on the circuit of the Airport Bus.

The hotel is modern with very pleasantly furnished and fully-equipped rooms.

The complimentary breakfast had a wide choice, including a daily hot option. The breakfast area, though compact, never seemed overwhelmed. Complimentary internet access was also available.

There is a restaurant attached that provides evening meals. The food was okay, but the service was poor and I wouldn't rate it highly.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
538 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Dates of Stay-25-26 October 2008 (1 night) in Room #407

We arrived just after noon and were allowed to check in early. We could have stayed on a higher floor had we waited a few hours but since the floor plan was the same, we opted for the best available at that time. Staff went above and beyond-always friendly, smiling, and professional (see comment about safe below).

The hotel was directly across the street from BC Place, where the BC Lions CFL team plays, and we were on the side facing it. General Motors Place, where the NHL Vancouver Canucks play, is about 100 metres away. Both teams had home games the night we were there, and there were lots of boisterous fans. There was pre game music and other celebratory noise during and just after the games until about 11 pm, but can’t fault hotel. The fans were well behaved but just loud. If this is an issue, check the game schedules, and stay across town somewhere.

The room had 2 very comfortable beds with duvets, 3 large pillows, and 1 small pillow. I got a great night’s sleep. Also, 2 telephones, internet connection in room for dialup but wifi also-didn’t have computer so not sure how well it works (there are two free internet stations on 2nd floor near breakfast room-just ask for 30 minute passwords at front desk), a television with about 50 channels-US and Canadian but no ESPN or ESPN2 so limited US sports, especially NCAA. There was a free in room safe-it didn’t work so I called front desk and someone came in less than 5 minutes to reprogram. There was a refrigerator and microwave but no minibar to rip you off. (there is a convenience store-7/11 I think, just down Robson for drinks and snacks) There was a kettle for coffee and tea and ample supplies-sure they would give more supplies, if requested-2 complimentary bottles of water also! There was a desk, table with 2 chairs, ample lighting, and clock radio. There was a closet with plenty of space and several hangers.

The top floor of the hotel has an area with table tennis, 4 exercise machines, pool, dry sauna, hot tub as well as bathrooms and water station-not sure if there is shower in the bathrooms since I didn’t go in there. Terrace for sun bathing or touristy views of city-area very clean and well maintained-no litter or anything negative except smoker on terrace. Realize hotel can’t be everywhere all the time, but warning signs may help. $200 fine for smoking in room, but does that include the terrace or standing in room with head out window-2 windows that opened from room-can see cigarette butts on roof just below room-I wondered if people smoke in room next to window or with their head out window and then use the rooftop for their ashtray. If the hotel is totally smoke free, that should mean “totally”, everywhere!!! (hotel should investigate)

Parking area very secure-2 gates to pass through with room key before reaching parking spots. You don’t need key to get out as one previous reviewer mentioned. Parking price reasonable for downtown Vancouver where even meters aren’t free on Sundays and holidays. Elevators require card swipe everytime-even from guest room floors. Felt very safe and secure. Ice machine out of order on my floor but no big issue-hotel had sign and was repairing. I had to go up a few floor for ice.

Typical Hampton Inn breakfast-ham patties and fried egg circles the morning we were there plus coffee, tea, juice, breads, cereals, etc. as well-everyday standards at Hampton
Inns. I would have preferred sausage patties but no big deal-I just picked the wrong morning for those.

If you are meat lover and want a fantastic lunch-head for Samba Brazilian Steakhouse & Churrascaria at 1122 Alberni St (between Robson and Georgia just past Burrard). It’s about a kilometer from the hotel. All you can eat lunch with buffet and servers walking around with different meat skewers for CDN$14, I believe. Lamb is especially good. It’s currently in the Delta Dining guide so I even earned some SkyMiles!

I have no complaints except for the lone smoker or two who breaks the rules. This was a great find for a very reasonable price in the centre of a fantastic city. I hope to return to Vancouver in the next few years and will definitely consider staying at this great hotel again. For the price and location, there is no place better!

  • Liked — Convenience of everything
  • Disliked — the sneaky smokers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,593 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Downtown
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing