We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay most of the time...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay most of the time...”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Arrived at the hotel, and was checked in fairly fast by Front Desk. I arrived to find an awkward, disturbing sight in the jetted tub. Four small pubic hairs remained from the last guests. I bought a frozen ice-cream pie from the Keg for a birthday and put it in the freezer. Unfortunately the hotel had a scheduled power outage from 11:30 AM until 4 PM on December 6th for maintenance, but this was not indicated on the website when booking the room for the hotel. If it was, I would have either selected a different hotel, or selected different dates to avoid the inconvenience. That meant TV and Internet and other non-essentials would not be available, and that made for a melted ice-cream birthday cake. The coffee makers are so small, and a larger one would be nice. The chocolates they give upon arrival are a nice touch but they used Lindt this time, and the ones they used before I actually like better, but I don't know the brand name.

All in all, this place is usually a good hotel to stay in. It provides a free hot breakfast, but it could use an upgrade, and I wish it would stay open longer than 10 AM. It has free Internet and coin laundry costing $1.50 each for washer and dryer. I would say this hotel is a pretty good place to stay, but this last time was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thor_Odinsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Thor_Odinsson,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in December. I am pleased to hear that you continue to stay at our hotel when visiting Vancouver, but am extremely disheartened to learn that your birthday cake melted on your most recent visit. On December 6th, BC Hydro performed a two hour power shutdown to our hotel for annual volt testing, at which time notices were left around the hotel and in each guest room. I apologize that this was not sufficient notice, and will be sure to add future scheduled shutdowns to our Web Site.

Your comment regarding our housekeeping staff is also disappointing to hear. Our housekeeping department is very meticulous and we rarely have cases like yours. On occasion when we do, it is not taken lightly and further training is immediately provided. I would like to speak with you further about this incident and request that you please contact me at your convenience at 604-605-1455 or aliya@hamptoninnvancouver.com.

I look forward to speaking with you!

Sincerely,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    650
    96
    13
    9
See reviews for
534
636
77
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I've stayed hear several times over the past 2 years and the service, cleanliness and downtown hotel value are excellent. The location is fantastic especially if you are going to a sporting event as well as using the hotel as a base for doing business in the greater Vancouver area (in addition to downtown). One tip; the underground parking is a bonus as long as you don't drive a very large vehicle like a Suburban or similar. Underground parking spaces are a little tight. So if your renting a vehicle during your trip, make sure it is mid-sized.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDN-Traveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here several times during the past few years. Very clean and comfortable with excellent service at a good price. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very spacious with a full kitchen. Personnel were friendly and accommodating, especially the women in the breakfast room. Rooftop exercise room has a great view. Convenient to downtown and close to Cambie Bridge.

Room Tip: At present new Hilton Hotel is being built on the west side of the hotel, so during the day that sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornhillite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here during the Grey Cup 2012 festivities and the hotel was clean, warm and friendly. The staff were happy to accommodate our requests for early check-in, late check-out and privacy when requested. Breakfast was on par for Hampton Suites, and a nice savings to our week. I was glad to hear from staff that the plastic cutlery used for breakfast was Eco-friendly and 100% bio-degradable when I inquired as to why they used them from a waste perspective.

The elevators were a bit slow, but only due to the number of guests arriving so probably the same as other hotels during this busy time. Security was great, they ensured only guest access to the hotels with key cards, and front desk staff.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the accommodations were very clean, beds were very comfy and bathroom supplies were never an issue. Having a fridge and microwave, amenities were great as well.

We walked everywhere from Burrard, Granville, shopping, etc as well as very close to two sky trains so easy to get to from airport.

Very happy with this hotel, would stay again.

Room Tip: lower floor if the hotel is crowded if you dont like waiting on elevators - great view on upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maratimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My family and I had a were overhelmed by the kindness, helpfulness and assistance offered by the staff....keep up the GR8 service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks during house repairs, in a suite with king bed, with husband and toddler.

I loved: Clean! They wash all bedding for every guest, vacuum the sofas, clean *under* furniture. Most hotels don't do that. Good-quality furnishings, all fairly new. Very comfy bed. Pretty good hot & cold breakfast buffet (though I got a little tired of it after the first week). Kitchen is good enough to make eggs & toast or pasta & sauce etc, but not a full meal (hot plates and a microwave, but no oven). Location pretty good: 5 min walk from Yaletown, 15 min walk from the heart of Robson street shopping district, 15 mins from Gasstown, all are good for shopping and restaurants. (Also some decent restaurants close by) Right by BC place. Generally very quiet - has double-pane windows and thick curtains, rooms seem very soundproof. Rooms are very bright too.

To be aware of: they are not going for 'atmosphere' or 'character' here; it is in no way romantic! The staff is friendly rather than polished. Located at the boring end of Robson street (still a safe location in the city though). Right across from BC Place so if there is a concert you will hear it! Also not cheap: if you want romance and character, there are other hotels are in the same price range that would deliver better.

Overall, my favorite hotel for a family stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

stayed here couple of nights end of july, nice and clean. a bit crowded in the mornings, overall
good value for vancouver

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,287 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Address: 111 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing