We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that bad as reported” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaughnessy Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaughnessy Village
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Not that bad as reported”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2005

I have just spent 6 nights at the Shaughnessy Village Bed and Breakfast, and I admit that I liked it. Reception staff has always been very polite to me.
They have a strange checkin procedure, you may visit your room first, and thereafter you need to go back down to complete the check-in. As a guest I may expect a 'finished' room, and that all rooms are moreless equal. So why that effort?
My room was expectedly small, but featured a bathroom with a tube, a balcony, a fully furnished kitchen and a wallbed (bed and couch in one).
I don't know why people complain about the size, it's advertised as B&B, and they even state the size of the rooms. As a guest paying daily rates, you are entitled to breakfast vouchers, which can be redeemed at the 12th Avenue restaurant, which is located in the house. You may choose between different types of omlettes and one cup of coffee. It's not much, but it is good to cover the first hunger in the morning.
Shaughnessy also offers a swimming pool, a jacuzzi, a nicely decorated garden and health club, which I didn't use.
Location is basically good, but you have to walk at least three blocks to reach a bus stop (Broadway). Unfortunately there is no good supermarket available.
Considering that the Shaughnessy is a B&B, it impressed me deeply. I only paid $65, but I had all the amenties mentioned, even a bath tube in my private bathroom. That's a lot in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    11
    11
    21
See reviews for
10
6
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2005

Far too expensive, too smelly, too many drunk smelly old men yuk yuk yuk. There are still smoking rooms and the ventilation is so poor that it blows into your room too! Rooms are sooooooo small it's unbearable, not sound proof either. Some rooms have some cooking facilities however there is no cutlery, crockery or pots and pans provided! Nothing at all luxurious about it they should be sued for false advertising!! The decor is very dated and bad to start with, the health club is a few crappy old machines cramped into a little room, as for the Cybercafe it's one old computer in the corner of the restaurant which doesn't always work and costs $2.30 for 15mins!!!!! There are extra costs left right and centre for the laundry, parking, housekeeping etc etc. Most the staff were helpful, it's in a convenient location and it was clean thank goodness. Overall it comes highly unrecommended especially for a lengthy stay (more than one night that is!).

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

I agree with another persons comments that the rooms are so small you have to leave the room just to change your mind. It's 162 square feet of confinement! The monthly rate advertized is so attractive you move in only to find it applies only for a minumum 6 month stay...... then it's more than double. It's cheaper to rent an unfurnished place and buy new furniture!
But it is clean though and the amenities are good.
One or two nights is more than plenty.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2004

My boyfriend and I went to Vancouver for 8 days in May and stayed at Shaugnessy Village, it's in a good area, the hospital is close, close to the businesses on Broadway. The staff is helpful and friendly. They let you see the room they picked out for you and if you don't like you they'll give you another one. Be wary though, the single rooms can be a little small if it's for 2 people especially if you have individual luggage because the rooms are a bit narrow.
Overall good experience, the breakfast vouchers definitely came in handy.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2004

Stayed at the B & B at Shaugnessy Village before and aften an Alaskan Cruise. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are clean, each with a tiny balcony. The standard room is very narrow, like an RV, with a microwave, fridge, a small dinette and fold down double bed. Was fine for one night. After the cruise we stayed for 3 nights in a two room suite. We liked this one much better with the full size bed in a separate bedroom. The clientele seem to be a mix of senior citizens (who live there I think), students, and business travelers. Staff are friendly for the most part. The breakfast voucers are a nice addition. We'd probably stay there again if we couldn't get anything across the bridge right in the downtown area. The B&B is about a $10 (American) cab ride to the cruise terminal, about $20 to the Airport.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2003

S.V. is a good place to stay for one or two nights, but if you are planning to stay for a month or more, it's not really worth it.

If you are under 30, the Strata Complex (Not a hotel, not condominiums, not apartments) management treat you like a criminal. If something goes wrong in the building, and you're under 30, they confront you as if you were the perpetrator.

Also, they advertise luxurious rooms (Like on a cruise ship!). Now, I've never been on a cruise ship, and if the cabins on one are anything like these rooms, I'd rather stay at home. They are like living in a shoebox... You have to go outside to change your mind. This isn't too bad if you're only staying for one or two nights, but if you're there for a long term, it's very cramped.

The restaurant in the lobby is very good, the only beef I have with them is the one piece of toast that they give with the "Voucher Breakfasts." Is it really that much more expensive to put one more slice of bread in the toaster? Oh, and they have no straws for their beverages.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2002

Great view of downtown Vancouver. Comfortable rooms, reasonably priced. Well connected by transit buses to all places in Vancouver.
Well maintained, homely meals.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#19 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#28 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#13 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaughnessy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaughnessy Village

Property: Shaughnessy Village
Address: 1125 West 12th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Shaughnessy Village Hotel Vancouver
Shaughnessy Village Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing