We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downward slide” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaughnessy Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaughnessy Village
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downward slide”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I moved here from out of province and was hoping not to sign a year's lease so this seemed a perfect place. Since I have been here, the laundry facilities have been moved to the parking garage, and don't have hot water, the place is a construction site with constant banging and construction noise, the common areas are now closed and under construction. The rent includes Wi-Fi, but access is spotty at best, so if you rely on it for schoolwork, you have to go to a coffee shop or stay and suffer your computer freezing up with limited or no access at busy times. Essentially, you are paying to live in a room, which has been recently refurbished and is clean and bright, but is also the size of a closet. The website lists a lot of services but the pool is closed (for the season) and neither of the hot tubs are working, there is no gym here (although the website claims there is a fitness room). It is depressing living here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenapeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    11
    11
    21
See reviews for
10
6
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I lived at Shaughnessy Village for 3 months, because of a project I had to work on. It's redecorated and really bright (even when you have a room to the north). The rooms themself were small but big enough for one person. It was very clean and a room service was once a week includet. Everything was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
It's not far away from Downtown and there is also a very good connection for the public transport very near the hotel. About 10 minutes on foot away, was a big mall where you were able to buy groceries and go to a yoga place (wich was awesome). There are also other shops and restaurants within walking distance.
The area is very nice too and you are able to have nice walks around the neighbourhood and the close parks, even the beach is very close and of course Granville Island, wich is also a very nice place.
I really enjoyed it to stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco-marron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

this place caters to those in desperate need. Be it family of people in the hospital or those on the edge of social assistance and mental illness. Its a strange place that caters to low income because of the price. Strange staff at the front desk, been there for years. Feels like its a cult or something, seriously wierd place and not kept clean, cigerettes and pot smoke everywhere. If you can afford to avoid this place, by all means, keep going. Some reno is going on too now and i think they believe they no longer have to clean so what was already bad is even worse.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthemove926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, great price, super location and quite a bit of funky, the good kind! Felt like a comfortable place that I would recommend to the adventurous. A bit older, but still a place with character.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Spudandpotatoheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I inquired at Shaughnessy Village and was told they have apartment rentals. I was under the impression this was a business with short term and long term rentals. What it is is a really run down place with many social problems. I stayed there two months and many things were stolen. I came home one day and there was a business man who was in town for a week and left some things downstairs and they were stolen. He was at the front desk in quite a panic. I also was woken up at 4 am with a fire, a real one because they rent to people from skid row. These people have drug problems and while staying at shaughnessy village, all one could smell was pot, cigarette smoke and other offensive odors. It is supposed to be non-smoking but these people have "habits" and just don't go outside for example if it is raining. They stay up all night doing drugs and fight and start fires. It is not safe. And the people involved in this just changed rooms so there is no consequence like for example being asked to leave. There was also a woman who had the ambulance service there weekly and would get wasted and start screaming in the hallway. It is a super small space, the walls are thin, and it is awful They keep $100 for a maintenance fee although it wasn't painted when I moved in. I know people need a place to live so the government should help these people with proper social services because as it is they rent cheap accommodation and are left to their own devices of mental illness and substance abuse. There are other places that are also a decent price and I would suggest staying there because it just isn't safe for families or single woman. I went to the front desk to report a fist fight and nothing was done. This place is really troubled and the elevators are always broken. And the front desk staff laugh at the mentally ill people, and do not care or help. They are just not qualified to deal with social problems and mental illness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this facility for 5 months spanning 2012-2013 and found the staff and accomodation very acceptable and well managed. Staff were courteous, pleasant and flexible and the room rates were great. Unfortunately they closed their restaurant, which was a very convenient place to go.

You will have 1-3 blocks walk depending on what you need. Bus is very close by. All in all a very nice place to stay with very professional staff.

Room Tip: Rates go up as you do in the choice of room and height in the building. The back of the Village is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had an awesome stay with the Shaughnessy Village. The staff were so friendly & considerate to us in our time of need . My oldest son was in an accident & I wasn't in the right state of mind at times , and the staff here were so friendly & considerate to all of us....made us feel right at home & so welcome....always seeing if we needed anything. They offered us a continental breakfast which included the coffee or juice....fresh fruit....yogurt & different cereals & toast. My hubby & I were very comfortable there that we plan on our next visit will definatley be with them. The place was kept very clean at all times, we also had use of the laundry room , swimming pool & jagcuzzi ?? & a beautiful garden to sit & relax in , they also have underground parking which is secured [ MADE US FEEL SAFE ] We had a beautiful view of Vancouver . Special thanks to Nathalie for her dear words of comfort & consideration & her dear kindness. We also like to thank Rob & Glen & the rest of the staff too. We would definatley recommend the Shaughnessy Village to all our friends & any one who wants a very nice place to stay while in Vancouver. We stayed from April 25th to May 16th.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#19 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#28 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#13 of 50 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaughnessy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaughnessy Village

Property: Shaughnessy Village
Address: 1125 West 12th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Shaughnessy Village Hotel Vancouver
Shaughnessy Village Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing