We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a second home in Beautiful Vancouver, Canada”
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Ranked #9 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like a second home in Beautiful Vancouver, Canada”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We've been staying there off and on about 15 years. It is always comfortable, clean and friendly. The breakfast is perfect. Hosts are always ready to help you enjoy Vancouver.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisoryHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    28
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
87
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We have stayed at Nelson House many times over the last 4 or 5 years and have always be welcomed with such warmth and friendliness.

The house is extremely well located, literally a block away from Davie Street and the gay district, yet is quiet and calm. It's a beautiful building that's been lovingly restored, and feels like a 'heritage home' without feeling stuffy.

The communal areas, the living room and breakfast room are warm and inviting. There are stacks of wonderful books and guides on hand, and the hosts are so eager to chat as they make you breakfast about why you are here and where you are from, and they are also excellent founts of local knowledge, and always help out with advice and guidance on your day's planned activities.

We have always stayed in the Cabin Room, a cosy corner of Canadiana! The cedar walls make the room smell fabulous and the bed is is very comfy.

We would heartily recommend Nelson House B&B to any gay/straight adult visitors to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerwhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We stayed at Nelson House during a rare heatwave in Vancouver.We went with a group of friends to take in the Pride celebrations.We had a lot of fun.The B&B is in a great location.We walked to most places.One can hit all of the bars and restaurants along Davie St. in the gay village without having to drive.This is a great thing as parking is a premium in this area.The B&B itself is quite nice.Our room had a cabin theme and was large.It had its own bathroom,large bed area,large closet,and a bar fridge which came in handy for storing cool drinks.The breakfasts were good and the service was friendly.David is the owner and he is great.Very helpful and pleasant.Matthew was also on hand to do breakfasts and look after the place.Both guys were very nice and helped to make our stay pleasant.There were always people to meet at the table and to talk to.The front porch was also an ideal spot for a drink to either start your day or to end it.
Again,the location cannot be beat.You are close to Davie,Robson,Denman,Stanley Park,and other attractions.
All in all,a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wac36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

You really can't go wrong in choosing to stay at this splendid little B&B. It has plenty of character and is in the most wonderful location; quiet yet in the heart of the city, close to everything. No need for taxis to restaurants, there is all you need at your doorstep. The service really was very good and Matthew has plenty of advice to offer. The ambiance of the breakfast table was what we most enjoyed, guests sharing their experiences and plenty of laughter. The cooked breakfast was pretty good too. Our room (the Hollywood)was large, quiet and very comfortable.We were pleased that we stayed at the Nelson and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

When we arrived at this place, we were supposed to find a little basket with a key somewhere. I couldn't find it, so I rang the bell. A certain Briana answered the door, asking if I had rung the bell. I said I hoped she hadn't been waiting for us until we arrived. No, she, said, I live here. She added breakfast was from nine till half past ten, handed me our key and off she went. We haven't seen her since.
The room was ok, but the bed a bit worn. Breakfast was served by a certain Michael, who never told us when exactly we could have breakfast, like they do in all the b & b's we have had the privilege to stay in until now. The result was that the breakfast table was full with people, we just had to wait in the lounge, not knowing when it was our turn. At the table, a bunch of Swiss people were explaining how wonderful their country is to two American brothers, they were all having a great time, but nobody cared about us.
We had to ask this Matthew or Michael ourselves how and when we were supposed to pay for our stay; when we left in the end, nobody was to be seen, we didn't even know where to leave the key.
You could call all this laidback, I call it a lack of communication. We have been staying in Canada for five weeks. This was the most expensive place of all. It was the only negative experience we've had in Canada.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alfonso61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
As the owner of Nelson House B & B, I did not have the opportunity to meet these particular guests. My name is David and I would be pleased to address Alfonso61’s concerns privately by means of email.

For Trip Advisor’s readers, our efforts at good communication went like this. When booking, all guests are informed in writing of office hours and asked if their travel plans necessitate an alternative check-in. In this case, the answer was Yes and we emailed the guests detailed instructions on how to let themselves into the House in our absence. Unfortunately, it looks like the guests did not bring the written instructions with them or did not understand them and so, when they rang the doorbell, an off-duty employee who lives onsite and happened to be home, answered the door and helped them. At the next opportunity, they were greeted by our Manager, who later served them two breakfasts and eventually settled their bill with them. At no time did the guests voice a complaint.

As for breakfast, it is true that these guests and all other guests are told that they may attend a self-serve buffet breakfast prior to 9 AM and enjoy a hot breakfast dish anytime between 9 and 10:30AM. There is also a notice on every guest-room door to this effect.

On his first morning, Alfonso61 dined within these hours. On his second morning, he arrived when the eight-seat table was already fully occupied by guests from three other countries, laughing and enjoying a lively conversation over their meal. Our Manager/Chef asked Alfonso61 and partner if they would like to take some coffee and self-serve starters into the living-room, until two seats became available. Alfonso61 declined the offer. In due course, their hot dishes were ready and served as soon as they could be seated.

At Alfonso61’s request, they settled their bill a day in advance as they planned to leave very early on their check-out day. That morning, they had the self-serve breakfast buffet (coffee, tea, juice, milk, cereal, fruit and home-baking) and simply left their keys on the table.

In the name of communication, it is clear that 92 per cent of Trip Advisor’s reviews of Nelson House B & B, now in its twentieth year in business, have been complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

It feels like wonderfully stepping back in time, its quaint, cosy and everything I've ever looked for in a B&B. Its close to everything downtown and a delightful area to walk around. It truly is everything good that has gone before in the reviews. I hope to be back time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja5en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Where does one begin? Unassuming and tucked away in a quiet residential street this gem is quite hard to find but well worth the effort. For reference it’s the pale blue place on the corner. Our main host was Mathew, an ebullient character full of stories and anecdotes who will entertain you for hours (literally) at breakfast if you let him – and we did. He’s a damned fine short order chef and very keen to please – you won’t have much room for lunch, that’s for sure!! The place itself is amazing – a collection of eclectic rooms in different styles. We stayed in the Hollywood Room first, complete with furs and sparkly shoes, then The Cabin which has a Canadian Lumberjack theme – bit bizarre but what the hell! There’s a spacious and comfortable lounge with loads of books and reference material. It’s in a good location close to downtown and Grenville Island. O’Douls Wine and Jazz Bar around the corner does great martinis and awesome steaks (have the tenderloin – it’s to die for!). Don’t take Yellow Cabs – the drivers are surly and rude. Black Top Cabs are much friendlier and won’t rip you off. The rooms themselves are pretty good, the only thing missing was a hair dryer. We had a problem with the shower in the Cabin on the second day but generally things were fine and you are guaranteed to meet interesting people here. Not for the faint hearted but anyone with joie de vive will love this place – highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Property: Nelson House B & B
Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing