We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Save
You added Nelson House B & B to your Saves list
977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We didn't have breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The breakfast table was set beautifully, however. We were underwhelmed by the Nelson House. It reminded me of a run-of-the-mill English B&B: It also reminded me of my grandmother's house in decor and upkeep: somewhat shabby; mostly clean but not overly so; OK beds but not hotel quality; worn-out bed linens; overused pillows needing replacement. The host was friendly enough but seemed somewhat disinterested. We can't recommend the place, especially at the price, which we thought was about $50 Canadian too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vze3dnta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
The old adage holds true in this age of anonymous internet opinions: "You can't please ALL the people ALL the time". We keep trying though!! We have no idea who posted this review because no one uttered a word to us in person about beds, linens, pillows, décor, etc, Those are the kinds of things that can be so easily put right if given half a chance. Anyways, thanks for this. I am off to do pillow inspection!
Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
83
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in the very spacious suite with lots of character. The room was lovely and comfy and the breakfasts were great. The location is pefect, short walk to some lovely restaraunts and the beach front one way and a short walk to the shops the other way.The hosts were very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay!
What more could you want!

Room Tip: The suite has a lovely large bathroom with jet tub, small kitchen, balcony and living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind appreciation and positive comments. We will hope to see you again! Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived the hosts made our stay very welcome. The room was on the main floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was more than we could have asked for. (Eggs and sausage one day, French toast the next). The weather was very rainy for a couple days and there are umbrellas to use at the front door.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks so much! We still believe in putting the emphasis on classic B & B virtues - genuine local hospitality and delicious home-cooking & baking. You and other Nelson House guests really do seem to appreciate it. All the best, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I were there for a few days in March. The facilities were clean as a whistle, the ambiance was perfect, the breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts Michael and David couldn't have been nicer.

What more can I say? Oh, yes. I forget to mention, location, location, location! You don't need a car but if you have one, they offer free off street parking. Just about everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jre85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you folks. We loved having you. Please come back for Vancouver's warm summer weather;)

Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 6 nights. We were in the top floor suite. It was great! Michael took great care of us. His breakfasts were AMAZING! And you have to try the lemon poppyseed bread- it's the best I've ever had. He knew a lot about the area and things to do. He kept us updated on the weather. I also met Lisa briefly and she was also very lovely. We loved the family photos on the 2nd floor of the owners and their families. The next time I visit Vancouver I will definitely stay at the Nelson House B & B.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisalyn195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you both again.

Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Found the hosts to be helpful and accommodating. The B&B is on a quiet street, but very close to a number of main streets that have anything you might need. Enjoyed the cabin room, with a soft, cozy bed and Canadiana decor, although the door to the ensuite bathroom isn't as private as a full door might be. On the other hand, the room was so quiet I had no idea there were other guests until breakfast. And the breakfast was delicious - easily the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
"Breakfast" is one half of our name. We are so glad that you enjoyed!
All the best until the next time, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in the Shangri-La suite. Our first impression was that the house had a lot of character, the person that greeted us at the door was very friendly and accommodating. They have parking (a few spots actually) a short distance up the street, we drove a truck and were able to easily park there. We got a tour of the house after checking in and were shown to our suite upstairs at the top. The suite was rather large although the kitchen roof was a little low, that being said, this is a vintage house, which was cool enough in itself to over look something like that. We will say that we really enjoyed the house, it is an old house though and won't be for everyone, but it's something we liked!

When you get there, they tell you you can use the living room downstairs, but the suite itself is furnished enough to were we didn't feel the need to. The house itself is located within walking distance to Robson Street, where there are many shops and restaurants, even a grocery store (Safeway). The majority of our stay was spent relaxing in the suite and out on the patio which is connected to the suite, relaxing was the main goal of this excursion!

As for the morning we woke up and went downstairs for breakfast at 9am, we found 2 other couples had shown up and decided to join them for breakfast. It was a good decision as it was fun to talk with the 2 other couples and the food was great. We would come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Shangri-La suite is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNLsBNBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#23 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,114 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#12 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 62 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Property: Nelson House B & B
Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing