We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts and great location, but rooms need a bit of an update.”
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Ranked #9 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts and great location, but rooms need a bit of an update.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nelson house in July. The location was perfect, close to downtown, we walked everywhere!! They also had parking just up the street which was great, as parking in Vancouver is very expensive.
The hosts were great with offering up information on things to do and the best ways to get there. They were very knowledgeable.
Our room was a decent size, and had it's own sink, but we did have to share a bathroom. The bed was not in the best shape. The center of the bed was a bit sunken in, so we kept rolling into each other in the middle of the night. It was also set up in the corner, so if the person closest to the wall had to get up in the middle of the night to use the washroom, they had to climb over the other person to get out of the bed.
Breakfast was delicious. Always a great choice of fruit, yogurt and cereal. The hot portion was good too.
Overall great location and hospitality, but rooms could use some updates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Deanna,

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We had some great conversations over breakfast. As for the antique brass bed in your room, it is on excellent casters(for the reasons you mentioned) and actually rolls away from the wall one-handed! We always demonstrate this at check-in but I think that we arranged a self check-in for you due to your arrival time.

All the best, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    28
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
87
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for our annual Vancouver vacation as we have for many years, and we continue to be very pleased with this choice. It is a small guest house in the heart of the West End, the perfect location. While it is not the most upscale choice, the rates are very reasonable, particularly with the hot-cooked breakfast every morning. The staff -- Michael and Lisa this year -- are very helpful and enthusiastic, and the best the place has had for a while. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and will be back again.

Room Tip: We love the Hollywood room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a really nice time over there. They give you good tips what you can do in the city and even provide you with beach towels. Breakfast is nice and freshly made. Only within a short walk from downtown and easy to stroll over Davie Street.We liked it and everyone we met there did so, too!

Room Tip: Room 3 is very nice and quiet. Don't take room 4 (Vienna).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks Tom. A bit of a mix-up on the room numbers but then we think that all our rooms are "very nice and quiet". Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just as planned our keys were set aside so we could get in and unpack. The rooms are charming but quite small; okay if you're traveling light, but not so good if you have two largish suitcases and camera equipment etc. There were very few draws to unpack into which meant even more floor space was taken up with a suitcase on a stand. The internet service was terrible; intermittent at best. The weather was warm for Vancouver, which was great, but we had to sleep with the windows open to stay cool enough which meant a fair amount of street noise at night; eventually things did quiet down.

However, it was beautiful in Vancouver and the West End was really exciting because of the Celebration of Light competition, Gay Pride week, and the BC Holiday weekend coming up. The location was perfect for seeing everything Downtown and West End. Nelson House is three or four blocks from major (fun) streets such as Denman, Davie, Robson, and Georgia was 2 blocks further. It was easy to walk to the bike rental places near Denman and Georgia, and from their to ride through Stanely Park - a real highlight of the trip for me.

The other highlight was the huge fireworks show which we watched while eating dinner at RainCity Grill.

Speaking of food, the breakfasts were only fair; we've had much better breakfasts at similar establishments. Michael tried to make interesting items, they just weren't great. We did enjoy meeting our fellow guests at breakfast and sharing plans and experiences.

Many reviewere have raved about David's hospitality, but we never saw him the two night we were at Nelson house. Michael, although a very nice fellow, did not seem very familiar with the City and
Could not make very much in the way of good recommendations.

While we will probably try somewhere else when we're back in Vancouver next week, Nelson House is pleasant, the people were friendly, tried to be helpful, and location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
As an owner/innkeeper for 23 years, I parse every word of every Trip Advisor's review. It seems to me that our reviewer loved our downtown walk-to-it-all location and made the most of our proximity to summer fun. However, realistically in life, there is always something of a trade-off. We cannot guarantee country quiet or control the weather. Vancouver's night temps were in the pleasant mid-sixties during their stay.

I regret not having met these reviewers during their 2 days with us but I do want to thank them for their comments. We are given credit for being friendly and trying to be helpful and that is exactly what we do! I was at the B & B every day but they were obviously out & about. It seems to me that their room is considered spacious by most. It easily accommodates a 5 piece Art Deco bedroom suite from the forties so there should be lots of storage space. The WIFI is something we constantly monitor and refine. It is a top of the line, professionally installed system with the fallback of a high-speed Ethernet connection for those that can use it. We know how important connectivity is to our guests. That's why we provide it free of charge. Our breakfasts remain as advertised - "home-style and healthy".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Margherita, Ohio, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

David's quiet, neighborhood home is within easy walking distance to everything from Stanley Park's towering old growth forest, to the restaurants on Davie, Denman, and Robson streets, the waterfront, the Granville Island ferry... How could anyone not fall in love with this city?! But even if there were none of that, David and his wonderful staff would make the stay worthwhile. Hint: take an early morning walk along the Stanley Park sea wall before coming back to join new friends over one of Michael's hot breakfast creations!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated around its own theme, including many pieces of art from David's own journ...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you, Frank. You are quite right, Vancouver on a sunny day is one of the world's most beautiful cities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in the Nelson B&B for 4 nights in June 2013. This was our first visit to Vancouver from the UK and we were really pleased with our stay from our arrival. We arrived in the afternoon, and our room wasn't quite ready, but was made to feel welcome by Joy? I think. The local information was invaluable about quickly getting our bearings allowing us to explore Vancouver to the full.

We stayed in the Sailor's room with shared bathroom, and this was perfect for our needs. The room was large for our belongings, bathroom clean and never had to wait to use. The bed was very comfortable, especially important when dealing with jet lag.

I especially enjoyed breakfast at Nelson B&B, a good choice of pastries and fruit and granola to start followed by a hot choice. In the 4 mornings we had scrambled eggs and sausage, omelettes, pancakes and french toast. I liked sitting round the large breakfasting kitchen as it allowed chance to chat to other guests and get tips for trips or places to eat. I would have preferred the option to have the hot breakfast earlier, 9-10am, but there was coffee and continental available earlier in the morning. We actually just ended up going out early in the morning then returning for breakfast.

The location of the B&B allows easy access to explore Vancouver, while the residential area provides a quiet night's sleep. I think the benefit of parking is an added bonus if required.

Like I said in the title, the thing that makes this a stand out choice, is the staff and service. The take time to find out what you are looking to do in Vancouver then try to help and advise. I especially appreciated the driving tips up to Whistler.

I would recommend Nelson to friends and family, and would not look for anywhere else to stay in Vancouver if return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was lovely having you as our guests. All of us here love hospitality. I can say we even promote vacation relaxation! Our downtown location helps a great deal. More time to ease into the day. Early check-ins always welcome. Very early buffet breakfast available for the jet-lagged. The hot, home-style meal (9-10.30) is still there for the urban night-owls and meeting new people over coffee. Even check-out at noon is meant to avoid rushing anyone. Enough of that when the vacation is over!
Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great service, lovely breakfast and David is a host who is still truly enthusiastic about what he's doing, as well as having vital years of experience under his belt. An intimate and cosy breakfast room in a charming, older house. The top floor room was spacious (sleeps 3 happily), even if you may have to compromise on using a hand-held shower (I don't mind) for the trade-off of the jacuzzi.
Superb location near Robson and Davie and Denman Streets; everything somewhere in the 10-15 minute walk range. In a great location to create an 8.5km run into Stanley Park around Lake Beaver and back over the sea wall to finish in the Denman coffee shops.
Thanks for a lovely few days, David!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We will hope to see you next time you are up from "down under."

Happy travels, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,514 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,415 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,767 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Property: Nelson House B & B
Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing