We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$135
Vio.com$135
eDreams$135
Etrip$135
Tripadvisor$135
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
777
96
31
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
777
96
31
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak room beach room garden suite mountain room front porch west end stanley park b and b robson street tree lined street breakfast was delicious within walking distance each morning home away from home downtown vancouver granville island few blocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 921 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a lovely room at The Peak, the room was surprisingly impressive, clean and has a mini fridge & kitchen, the bed was comfortable we really had a good night sleep after our long day touring around the beautiful city of Vancouver. The location of the Barclay House is so perfect just a few steps in a wide variety of restaurants to choose from and an arcade of branded stores to shop.
The staff were all so friendly and we were impressed. The breakfast was pleasantly a surprise, it was really good.
This is definitely our "go to" place when we need a good place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GenerG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

An excellent B&B in a wonderful location. We stayed in the Forest Room for our 3 night stay (F-S-S) and were very comfortable and we slept very well. The photographs on the Barclay House website are accurate and important elements (for us) such as internet service and adequate hot water for showering worked very well. An absolute must for us is cleanliness and there were no issues whatsoever in this regard. The room was quiet as well noting however that this is also a function of the other guests staying there at the time. Each morning's breakfast was a different offering and everything was well prepared and very tasty. Dennis' hospitality was exceptional and he went the extra mile on a number of occasions to ensure that our stay in Vancouver and at Barclay House B&B was as pleasurable as possible. Dennis' celebration of the Christmas Season with his Christmas decorations inside and out is quite something also. It was our second stay here and we will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PetiteTraveller221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights and it could not have been a better experience. The heritage house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, the breakfasts were very good and Dennis is an excellent host. The location is very close to Robson Street and you can easily walk to restaurants and bars and yet it is a very quiet location. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

This was our first stop on our Canada/ US honeymoon and it was a perfect place to stay. The staff were so friendly and knew everything about the area. The hotel is brilliantly located - close to all the key landmarks but also in a pretty, quiet residential neighbourhood. The breakfasts were delicious and each day our room was restocked with biscuits and the rooms had lovely personal touches. Brilliant value for money compared to other hotels in Canada and US in terms of the size of the rooms, location, comfort and the little extra touches. Thank you very much Barclay house staff- we’d love to come back and stay in the future! :)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kharrison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 1, 2018

We arrived in early October. We were greeted at the front door. We went to the Peak Room. Upon entering, scuff-marks covered the walls along the stairway leading up to the suite. A very strong smell of dust was present. The carpeted floors were in awful condition, with many, many stains. The throw rugs, particularly the white shag rug looked a dingy grey. The light above the bathroom doorway, in what would be the “kitchenette” area – was broken and not working. No light shone upon the kitchenette countertop. The switch for the table lamp to the left of the single bed that doubled as a couch was not working. Paint was peeling in numerous areas along the baseboards. When the taps were turned on in the claw foot tub, extremely hot water leaked between the actual faucet and the faucet connection, which, if dripped on one’s feet – scalded them. The paint was scuffed off the wall in numerous locations throughout the suite (bathroom, kitchenette, behind TV, along walls at each side of bed and behind the night tables on each side of the bed. The skylights had not been cleaned for some time and what appeared to be mold could be seen along the edges. The inner casing of the skylights were also dirty and hadn’t been wiped in a very long time. The general appearance of the Peak suite appeared dingy, dirty and unkempt. One could wipe a finger in a number of areas and could see dirt clearly on their finger. At 9pm, a mouse ran across the carpet and then back under the kitchenette base cabinets, cabinets which had the kick plate removed for some reason. We then saw the mouse run across the carpet a second time and back under the base cabinets. We looked under with a flashlight and the mouse ran behind the small fridge. We pulled out the small fridge and the mouse raced into the bathroom and under the bathroom electrical heater on the floor. We then had to stuff a towel under the heater in an attempt to keep the mouse/rat out of the rest of the suite. In addition, we had to barricade the bathroom door with another towel just to be sure. All along the door and the molding in the bathroom one could see moisture damage. We then returned to the kitchenette to investigate where the mouse was coming from. Sliding out the small bar fridge exposed an extremely dirty top with mouse feces on it. Behind the bar fridge was absolutely disgusting. An mdf-like panel had been leaning again the back of the bar fridge, exposing a large opening to the attic. Additional mouse/rat feces were on the carpet behind. Another plastic cylindrical “thing” was also on the carpet next to the fallen out panel. The plastic cylindrical “thing” had a green, moldy, fungis-like substance on it as though it had never been removed. As mice and rats can be very dangerous to one’s health (humans can become very sick if they breathe in contaminated dust from mice nests or droppings), we did not disturb any of it other than getting some tissue paper to help secure the panel back against the wall behind the bar fridge in order to avoid further mice/rats coming into the suite from the attic. We then attempted to fall asleep; however, we were woken to the sounds of scratching behind our bed. Upon removing the curtains, there were numerous pieces of feces along the windowsill directly behind our pillows and the headboard. In the bathroom, the ceiling light had numerous dead flies within its covering.

We contacted one of the owners who acted surprised and stated that no one had ever complained about such mice before. However, a few sentences later, he began to discuss that he had noticed mice and surmised that they were coming from the renovation next door. He also mentioned that guests had seen them running along the house next to the garden.

In short, the room in its present state is a health hazard, and, for some individuals, could be a very serious one depending on their immune systems and tolerance for such conditions. We had to place our belongings off the floor and chose to walk around with our shoes on to avoid cross-contamination and also because we did not know where all of these mice had been in the actual suite.

One last note – upon arriving in the suite, in its disgusting state, two chocolate chip cookies (no protective wrapping at all) had been left in a small rattan basket on the bed, the very bed with numerous amounts of feces all along the windowsill and easily within reach of such vermin. Placing guests in such conditions is – unforgivable. We will never return. Please see the pictures attached.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BarclayHouseBB, Manager at Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

It is unfortunate that we were not able to live up with the expectation of this certain couple. The moment they expressed their complaint, We did hard to rectify but were refused to show our sincere apology. To all our clients, just look for other reviews. For their long narrative, we felt they just wanted to have a FREE STAY. Nonetheless, we take their comment seriously by checking on it and if true, surely will correct it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews