We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Wonderful Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for one evening in "The Haidaway" at Barclay House. Our room was wonderful, spacious, and comfortable. The location was also perfect and we appreciated being able to walk to many local restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 770 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a peaceful location. We were allocated a room to the rear of the property in the basement - and it was magnificent. Wonderful host - great service - superb location. Plenty of choice of eateries on Robson, good nearby supermarkets, easy reach of Stanley Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David99am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently stayed in this lovely B&B and would highly recommend. Dennis is a very friendly host who provides an excellent breakfast, very clean and comfortable rooms and in a very pleasant quiet street but so close to restaurants, shops, Stanley park and centre of town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden suite…..very roomy with its own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie54_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Based on the excellent service we received during a 1-night visitlast year, I selected Barclay House for a second 5-day stay in May/14. My host, Dennis provided a warm welcome, excellent meals, and pleasant company for a busy traveller. As a person with some serious food allergies, I often find myself in an awkward spot when meal-time rolls around. Dennis paid close attention to my needs and prepared a sumptuous, healthy, and creative breakfast for me every day. The Peak Room was a new and very pleasant experience. Located on the 3rd floor of the house, I was concerned about heat rising, but the windows and skylights allowed a gentle breeze to cool the air in the evening and brought the scent of blooming spring flowers into the room. The professionalism of the staff and owner, the excellent West End location, and the high quality accommodation makes Barclay House my #1 choice for business and personal travel in Vancouver!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneHappyTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Really liked this little oasis in the middle of a busy city. Great attention to detail. Breakfast was tasty. Highly recommend. Our room was small but we had a little hallway to the bathroom all in our room area. So nice that at least one of these Victorians is being preserved and not replaced by a high rise!

Room Tip: Nice garden and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in September. It was a great place to start our trip. Staff was friendly and the room (garden) was very comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and elegant. The house is located on a great spot right in the centre of Vancouver.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I were looking for an overnight in Vancouver without breaking the bank, but feeling like we were somewhere special. We found it at Barclay House. Centrally located, with an awesome little parking spot included in the cost, and a lovely morning breakfast, pretty rooms, pretty street, and incredibly attendant host. We will make this our Vancouver go-to location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tiarajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,985 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
818 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $87 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing